You are here: Home » 2006 » Yureru

51th Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

Yureru

Fortnight 2006, Feature film, 2h00

Synopsis

Hayakawa Takeru is a brilliant photographer who leads the high life in Tokyo. He reluctantly returns to his hometown for the first anniversary of his mother’s death. When he goes to see his older brother, Minoru, who has taken over the family service station, Takeru meets a childhood friend, Cheiko. She now works for Minoru. All three decided to go on an outing to the nearby canyons, a site of breathtaking beauty. Taking the lead, Takeru crosses a suspension footbridge over a ravine to take some photos. Moments later, Minoru and Cheiko decide to follow him. But as they cross the unstable footbridge, Cheiko falls to her death. After Cheiko’s funeral, Minoru is arrested. With only one witness, Minoru’s defense depends on the testimony of his brother alone. As the trial proceeds, we discover the gulf of jealousy and resentment between the two brothers. Takeru begins to have doubts about what he really saw that day.

Director

Miwa Nishikawa

Born in Hiroshima in 1974, Nishikawa Miwa received a degree in literature at the University of Waseda. She came to cinema while still at school when Kore-Eda Hirokazu urged her to join TV Man Union and work on his film After Life. After working as an assistant director on several independent films, she wrote and directed her first feature, Wild Berries (2003), which received the best screenplay prize at the Mainichi Film Competition. She next made a surrealist docudrama for NHK Hi Vision, with the star of Wild Berries. The film won a special prize in the documentary section of the ATP Awards. She has also written screenplays for the Yume Juya film series (based on the work of Natsume Soseki), which will be released in the autumn of 2006. Yureru is her second feature.

Arai Hirofumi
Ibu Masato
Kagawa Teruyuki
Maki Yoko
Odagiri Joe

Screenplay
Nishikawa Miwa

Image
Takase Hiroshi

Sound
Shiratori Mitsugu

Editing
Miyajima Ryuji

Music
Cauliflowers

Set decoration
Mitsumatsu Keiko

Production : TV Man Union Cosmos Aoyama South 1-53-67 Jingumae Shibuya-Ku 150 0001 Tokyo Japon Tél : +81 03 6418 8700 Fax : +81 03 6418 8740 Engine Films, INC (Japon) Bandai Visual Co, Ltd (Japon) Eisei Gekijo Co, Ltd (Japon) ventes à l’étranger / foreign sales : Celluloid Dreams 2 rue Turgot 75009 Paris France Tél : +33 (0)1 49 70 03 70 Fax : +33 (0)1 49 70 03 71 info@celluloid-dreams.com www.celluloid-dreams.com Presse / Publicist : Magali Montet, Gordon Spragg et Delphine Mayele Tél. : 33 (0)1 49 70 85 65 Fax : +33 (0)1 49 70 03 71 magali@celluloid-dreams.com gordon@celluloid-dreams.com delphine.mayele@celluloid-dreams.com Tél. à Cannes : +33 (0)4 92 98 91 55 Fax : +33 (0)4 92 98 96 48 Mob. : +33 (0)6 71 63 36 16 – +33 (0)6 75 25 97 91 – +33 (0)6 60 89 85 41

Title in Original Version : Sway

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 2006 » Yureru

50e édition du 9 au 19 mai 2018

Yureru

Quinzaine 2006, Long métrage, 2h00

Synopsis

Hayakawa Takeru est un brillant photographe qui mène la belle vie à Tokyo. C’est à contrecoeur qu’il se rend dans sa ville natale pour le premier anniversaire de la mort de sa mère. En rendant visite à son frère aîné Minoru, qui a repris la station service familiale, Takeru retrouve une amie d’enfance, Cheiko, devenue une des employées de Minoru. Tous les trois décident d’aller faire un tour dans les gorges avoisinantes, un site d’une grande beauté. Prenant les devants, Takeru traverse un pont suspendu très haut au dessus du ravin en quête de photos. Quelques instants plus tard, Minoru et Chieko décident de le suivre mais alors qu’ils traversent le pont instable, Chieko tombe dans le ravin. Après l’enterrement de Chieko, Minoru est arrêté. Avec un seul témoin, la défense de Minoru ne dépend que du témoignage de son frère. Alors que le procès avance, on découvre le fossé de jalousie et de ressentiment qui existe entre les deux frères et Takeru commence à douter de ce qu’il a réellement vu ce jour- là.

Réalisateur

Miwa Nishikawa

Née à Hiroshima en 1974, Nishikawa Miwa est diplômée de littérature de l’Université de Waseda. Elle fait ses débuts pendant ses études, et elle est découverte par Kore-eda Hirokazu, qui l’incite à rejoindre TV Man Union et à travailler sur son film After life. Après avoir été assistante-réalisatrice pour plusieurs films indépendents, elle fait ses débuts de scénariste et réalisatrice en 2003 avec Wild Berries, qui reçoit le prix du meilleur scénario à la Mainichi Film Competition. En 2003, elle réalise un documentaire-fiction surréaliste pour NHK Hi Vision mettant en scène la star de Wild Berries. Le film gagne un Prix special dans la section documentaire aux ATP awards. Elle a également travaillé comme scénariste pour la série de films Yume Juya (tiré du travail de Natsume Soseki), qui sortira à l’automne 2006. Yureru est son deuxième long métrage.

Arai Hirofumi
Ibu Masato
Kagawa Teruyuki
Maki Yoko
Odagiri Joe

Scénario
Nishikawa Miwa

Image
Takase Hiroshi

Son
Shiratori Mitsugu

Montage
Miyajima Ryuji

Musique
Cauliflowers

Décors
Mitsumatsu Keiko

Production : TV Man Union Cosmos Aoyama South 1-53-67 Jingumae Shibuya-Ku 150 0001 Tokyo Japon Tél : +81 03 6418 8700 Fax : +81 03 6418 8740 Engine Films, INC (Japon) Bandai Visual Co, Ltd (Japon) Eisei Gekijo Co, Ltd (Japon) ventes à l’étranger / foreign sales : Celluloid Dreams 2 rue Turgot 75009 Paris France Tél : +33 (0)1 49 70 03 70 Fax : +33 (0)1 49 70 03 71 info@celluloid-dreams.com www.celluloid-dreams.com Presse / Publicist : Magali Montet, Gordon Spragg et Delphine Mayele Tél. : 33 (0)1 49 70 85 65 Fax : +33 (0)1 49 70 03 71 magali@celluloid-dreams.com gordon@celluloid-dreams.com delphine.mayele@celluloid-dreams.com Tél. à Cannes : +33 (0)4 92 98 91 55 Fax : +33 (0)4 92 98 96 48 Mob. : +33 (0)6 71 63 36 16 – +33 (0)6 75 25 97 91 – +33 (0)6 60 89 85 41

Titre VO : Sway