You are here: Home » 2004 » The Taste of Tea

51st Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

The Taste of Tea

Fortnight 2004, Feature film, 2h23

Synopsis

The Haruno family lives in a small mountain town near Tokyo. Sachiko, the youngest child, is eight and is trying to get rid of her giant double. Hajime, her high-school age brother, is experiencing first love. Yoshiko, the mother, decides to come out of retirement and make a high-profile comeback in the world of film animation, to the concern of her husband, Nobuo, who practices hypnosis therapy. As for the grandfather, his eccentric behavior is a source of concern for the entire family.

Director

Ishii Katsuhito

Born in 1966, Katsuhito Ishii began directing commercials. His first short film, The Promise of August receives, in 1996, the Grand Prix at Yubari International Film Festival. He made his feature debut in 1999 with Sharkskin Man and Peach Hip Girl, based on a manga and starring regular collaborator Tadanobu Asano. Ishii quickly followed this with another box office hit, Party 7, which featured Masatoshi Nagase, Yoshio Harada and Asano. Between the years 2001-2002, Ishii created a series of short films including a 3D animation series Hal & Bons and a 2D animation series Trava. In 2003, Ishii has collaborated with Production IG for the animation sequence of Quentin Tarantino’s Kill Bill (Vol. 1). The Taste of Tea is his third feature film.

Maya Banno
Tadanobu Asano
Takahiro Sato

Screenplay
Katsuhito Ishii

Image
Kosuke Matsushima

Sound
Koichi Mori

Editing
Katsuhito Ishii

Music
Little Tempo

Set decoration
Yuji Tsuzuki

Production : Grasshoppa ! 35fl, Yebisu garden place tower 4-20-3 Ebisu, Shibuya-Ku Tokyo 150 6035 Japon Tél : +81 3 5448 9731 Fax : +81 3 5448 9732 yosh@grasshoppa.jp presse : Jean Charles Canu tél : +33 (0)4 93 38 54 46

Title in Original Version : Cha no aji

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 2004 » The Taste of Tea

50e édition du 9 au 19 mai 2018

The Taste of Tea

Quinzaine 2004, Long métrage, 2h23

Synopsis

Les Haruno habitent une petite ville de montagne près de Tokyo. Sachiko, la cadette de huit ans, cherche à faire disparaître son double géant. Hajime, son frère, lycéen, vit son premier amour. Yoshiko, la mère, décide de sortir de sa retraite pour faire un retour très remarqué dans le monde du film d’animation, sous le regard inquiet de son mari, Nobuo, qui pratique l’hypnotisme thérapeutique. Quant au grand-père, ses excentricités inquiètent toute la famille.

Réalisateur

Ishii Katsuhito

Né en 1966, Katsuhito Ishii débute en réalisant des publicités. En 1996, il obtient le Grand Prix au Festival International de Yubari pour son court-métrage The Promise of August. Avec son complice Tadanobu Asano, il réalise, en 1999, son premier long-métrage, Sharkskin Man and Peach Hip Girl, adapté d’un manga à succès. L’année suivante il réalise Party 7 avec Asano et Masatoshi Nagase. En 2001 et 2002 il réalise une série de courts-métrages d’animation en 3D, Hal & Bons, et une autre série en 2D, Trava. Avant de collaborer en 2003 avec la société d’animation IG dans le cadre de la séquence animée de Kill Bill (Vol. 1) de Quentin Tarantino. La Saveur du Thé est son troisième long-métrage.

Maya Banno
Tadanobu Asano
Takahiro Sato

Scénario
Katsuhito Ishii

Image
Kosuke Matsushima

Son
Koichi Mori

Montage
Katsuhito Ishii

Musique
Little Tempo

Décors
Yuji Tsuzuki

Production : Grasshoppa ! 35fl, Yebisu garden place tower 4-20-3 Ebisu, Shibuya-Ku Tokyo 150 6035 Japon Tél : +81 3 5448 9731 Fax : +81 3 5448 9732 yosh@grasshoppa.jp presse : Jean Charles Canu tél : +33 (0)4 93 38 54 46

Titre VO : Cha no aji