You are here: Home » 1982 » The Story Of Woo Viet

51st Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

The Story Of Woo Viet

Fortnight 1982, Feature film,

Synopsis

I always feel there are blockages in whatever I do and think because of my bringing in Hong Kong- the sense of drift, cacophony of languages and culture, confusion regarding politics and mother country- many people are like that here. The plight of the boat people is, to my mind, only an extreme form of this sense of loss and frustration. That is why I am intersted in the subject of refugees.
THE STORY OF WOO VIET is conceived as a paper back novel treatment of this subject. No documentary, since I have done that before in TV, nor epic, since that would be too difficult to handle. I hope it will look like an american B-movie visually, but with a message which is very personal. Ann HUI

Director

Ann Hui

Born in China, Ann Hui is Half Chinese and half Japanese. After graduating in English and Comparative Litereature from Hong Kong University, whe spent two years at London Film School. Returning to Hong Kong, she worked as an assistant to director King Hu before joining TVB to direct drama series and short documentaries. In 1977, she produced and directed six films for the ICAC and in 1978, she made three episodes for the RTHK series, Below the Lion Rock. Then she made her debut feature file, The Secret, in 1979.She was a member of the jury at the Berlin International Film Festival in 1996 and in 2003 at the Venice Film Festival; she was President of the jury at the Locarno International Film Festival in 2006.

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 1982 » The Story Of Woo Viet

50e édition du 9 au 19 mai 2018

The Story Of Woo Viet

Quinzaine 1982, Long métrage,

Synopsis

Probablement du fait d’avoir grandi à Hong Kong, j’ai toujours une impression de blocage dans tout ce que je fais et tout ce que je pense- un sentiment de grouillement, comme une cacophonie de langues et de cultures, une confusion en ce qui concerne les idées politiques et l’appartenance à la patrie. Beaucoup de gens ressentent cela ici. La triste condition des boat people est pour moi une forme extrême de ce sentiment d’égarement et de frustration. C’est pourquoi je m’intéresse à tout ce qui concerne les réfugiés.
Mon film traite ce sujet à la manière d’un roman populaire. Ce n’est pas un documentaire, puisque j’avais déjà fait cela pour la télévision, ni un film à grand spectacle qui aurait été difficile à manier. J’ai voulu que le film se situe visuellement dans la tradition des séries B américaines, mais avec un message qui m’est très personnel. Ann HUI

Réalisateur

Ann Hui

Née en Chine, Ann Hui est Sino-japonaise. Après des études d’Anglais et de Littérature comparée à Hong Kong, elle a étudié le cinéma à Londres. Elle est retounée à Hong Kong où elle a été l’assistante du réalisateur King Hu puis elle a rejoint TVB pour réaliser des séries et de documentaires. En 1977, elle a produit et réalisé 6 films pour l’ICAC et en 1978, elle a fait 3 épisodes de Below the Lion Rock, pour RTHK. Elle a réalisé The Secret en 1979. Elle a été membre des jurys des festivals de Berlin et Venise; en 2006, elle a été Présidente du jury du festival de Locarno.