You are here: Home » 1974 » The Migrants

51th Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

The Migrants

Fortnight 1974, Feature film, 1h15

Synopsis

I wanted to show with « The Migrants » how the human spirit can survive with dignity, grace and love even in the most painful and humiliating circumstances. I also wanted to dramatized the living conditions of people who spend their entire lives renting themselves as slaves, incapable to escape this existence, generation after generation.
I wanted to depict how a boy does escape the migrating workers’ cycle, thanks to his tenacity, his determination, and the support of his family – who will still have to financally endure his absence. In the end, I hope that the audience will understand that the boy only avoided a trap to better fall into another one.
Tom Gries

Director

Tom Gries

Born in Chicago in 1922, he graduated from Georgetown University before enlisting in the Marine Corps during his tour of duty. Journalist for the Chicago Herald and American Variety, he was a magazine columnist as well as farm hand for a while. While producing and directing for the cinema, he wrote and directed several TV films.

Claudia McNeill
Cloris Leachman
David Clennon
Dinah Englund
Ed Lauter
Lisa Lucas
Mari Gorman
Mills Watson
Ron Howard
Sissy Spacek

Screenplay
Lanford Wilson

Image
Dick Kratina

Production : TOM GRIES PRODUCTIONS

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 1974 » The Migrants

51e édition du 15 au 25 mai 2019

The Migrants

Quinzaine 1974, Long métrage, 1h15

Synopsis

J’ai voulu montrer avec « The Migrants » comment l’esprit humain réussit à survivre avec dignité, grâce et amour, dans les circonstances les plus pénibles et les plus humiliantes. Bien sûr, j’ai aussi voulu dramatiser la condition de ces gens qui passent leur vie à se louer comme des esclaves, incapables d’échapper à cette existence, génération après génération.
J’ai voulu montrer comment un garçon, par sa persévérance et sa détermination et avec les encouragements de sa famille – qui devra souffrir financièrement de son absence – parvient à échapper au cycle des ouvriers migrants. À la fin, j’espère que le public aura compris qu’il n’a échappé à un piège que pour tomber dans un autre.
Tom Gries

Réalisateur

Tom Gries

Né en 1922 à Chicago, il est diplômé de Georgetown University avant de faire son service militaire dans les Marines. Son parcours est multiple : journaliste pour le Chicago Herald et American Variety, il fut éditorialiste de magazines comme ouvrier agricole. En parallèle à la production et réalisation de cinéma, il a écrit et réalisé de nombreux films pour la télévision.

Claudia McNeill
Cloris Leachman
David Clennon
Dinah Englund
Ed Lauter
Lisa Lucas
Mari Gorman
Mills Watson
Ron Howard
Sissy Spacek

Scénario
Lanford Wilson

Image
Dick Kratina

Production : TOM GRIES PRODUCTIONS