You are here: Home » 2004 » Tarnation

51st Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

Tarnation

Fortnight 2004, Feature film, 1h28

Synopsis

Jonathan’s mother, Renée, went clinically insane as a result of the shock therapy her parents made her endure in her youth. Beautiful and artistic, Renée was “exceptional.” The electroshock treatments had tragic consequences on her life: rape, drug addiction, but also the creation of an indestructible bond with her son, Jonathan. The film starts in 2003, when Jonathan learns that Renée has taken an overdose of lithium. He leaves New York, where he lives with his friend David, and returns to the chaos of his Texas home. This return to his roots unleashes a kaleidoscopic vision of his nightmares and the brief idylls of his difficult childhood.

Director

Jonathan Caouette

Jonathan Caouette has been shooting films since he was eight years old. As a regional theater actor, Jonathan has appeared as a schizophrenic John the Baptist in Salome, a queer Judas in Jesus Christ Superstar. He has toured with the European company of The Rocky Horror Show; and appeared in commercials. His influences include Alejandro Jodorowsky, John Cassavetes, Lars Von Trier, Paul Morrissey, David Lynch, Marianne Faithful, Led Zeppelin, Mavis Staples and Sidney Lumet. The total budget for his first feature, Tarnation was $218.32.

David Sanin Paz
Jonathan Caouette
Renee Leblanc

Screenplay
Jonathan Caouette

Image
Jonathan Caouette

Sound
Jonathan Caouette

Editing
Jonathan Caouette, Brian A. Kates

Production : Wellspring 419 Park Avenue south New York, NY 10016 États-Unis tél : +1 212 686 6777 fax: +1 212 545 9931 rwerner@wellspring.com ventes à l’étranger : Wellspring presse : Annie Maurette, port : 06 60 97 30 36 annie.maurette@libertysurf.fr

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 2004 » Tarnation

51e édition du 15 au 25 mai 2019

Tarnation

Quinzaine 2004, Long métrage, 1h28

Synopsis

Renée, la mère de Jonathan, a sombré dans la folie à la suite des traitements de choc que lui ont fait subir ses parents dans sa jeunesse. Belle et créative, Renée était «hors norme». Les électrochocs eurent des conséquences tragiques sur sa vie : viol, dépendance aux drogues, mais aussi la naissance d’un lien indestructible avec son fils Jonathan. Le film débute en 2003, lorsque Jonathan apprend que Renée a fait une overdose de lithium. Il quitte alors New York, où il vit avec son ami David, pour se replonger dans le chaos de son foyer texan. Ce retour aux sources déclenche une vision kaléïdoscopique de ses cauchemars et des brèves idylles de sa jeunesse difficile.

Réalisateur

Jonathan Caouette

Jonathan Caouette réalise ses premiers films à l’âge de huit ans. Acteur de théâtre dans des pièces régionales, il incarne un St Jean-Baptiste schizophrénique dans la pièce Salomé avant d’apparaître en Judas homosexuel dans Jésus Christ Superstar. Il a également fait partie de la troupe européenne du Rocky Horror Show et est apparu dans plusieurs publicités. Ses principales influences sont : Alejandro Jodorowsky, John Cassavetes, Lars Von Trier, Paul Morrissey, David Lynch, Marianne Faithful, Led Zeppelin, Mavis Staples ainsi que Sidney Lumet. Le budget total de Tarnation, son premier long métrage est de 218,32 $.

David Sanin Paz
Jonathan Caouette
Renee Leblanc

Scénario
Jonathan Caouette

Image
Jonathan Caouette

Son
Jonathan Caouette

Montage
Jonathan Caouette, Brian A. Kates

Production : Wellspring 419 Park Avenue south New York, NY 10016 États-Unis tél : +1 212 686 6777 fax: +1 212 545 9931 rwerner@wellspring.com ventes à l’étranger : Wellspring presse : Annie Maurette, port : 06 60 97 30 36 annie.maurette@libertysurf.fr