You are here: Home » 1999 » Sud

51st Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

Sud

Fortnight 1999, Feature film, 1h15

Synopsis

The road to this film was long and convoluted. A long road which finally led me to understand that the film would again deal with something that continues to obsess me : History and anecdote, fear, mass graves, hatred of others, of oneself, but also the bedazzlement of beauty. Some peoples have too much history, too much of a past, like the Europeans, and others haven’t enough, like the Americans. Some perpetrate murder and even genocide because of, or in the name of, this surplus history, past, culture ; others do it out of a vague memory of a culture, of a place that they have left to go somewhere else, somewhere vast and new. This too leads them to repress the things that perturb them, that are superfluous, perhaps too the things which seems to them inappropriate in order to fully realize the utopia of a new world. Then came a new racist crime, a lynching, in Jasper, Texas. In our day and age, more than ever, there’s purification in the air. So I went to Jasper, Texas. I had a better understanding of what still obsesses me and this accumulation of still-unseen riches.

Director

Chantal Akerman

Born in Brussels in 1950. Directed her first short film in 1968, film in which she was the only actor and which already looked forward to the director’s unusual vision of our daily environment, with its blend of black humor, fantasy and insolence. Directed her first feature in New York in 1972, but it was with « Jeanne Dielman » that critics and audiences discovered her work. In her most recent work she has alternated documentaries and autobiographical fiction: « Sud » (documentary, 1999), « La Captive » (fiction, 2000), « De l’autre côté » (documentary, 2002), « Demain on déménage » (fiction, 2004) et « Là-bas » (documentary, 2006).

Screenplay
Chantal Akerman

Image
Raymond Fromont

Sound
Thierry de Halleux

Editing
Claire Atherton

production : Xavier Carniaux, AMIP, 52 rue Charlot, 75003 Paris, France, Tél. : 33 (0)1 48 87 45 13, Fax : 01 48 87 40 10 Paradise Films – INA – Carré Noir – RTBF Liège – Chemah I.S. vente à l’étranger : Doc & Co, 13 rue Portefoin, 75003 Paris, France, Tél. : 33 (0)1 42 77 56 87, Fax : 33 (0)1 42 72 64 82 distribution : Doc & Co

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 1999 » Sud

51e édition du 15 au 25 mai 2019

Sud

Quinzaine 1999, Long métrage, 1h15

Synopsis

Le chemin a été long et tortueux pour arriver à l’idée de ce film. Long ce chemin qui m’a finalement fait comprendre que ce film tournerait une fois de plus autour de ce qui continue à m’obséder : l’Histoire, la grande et la petite, la peur, les charniers, la haine de l’autre, de soi, et aussi l’éblouissement de la beauté. Certains ont trop d’histoire, trop de passé, les Européens sans doute, et d’autres pas assez peut-être, les Américains sans doute. Certains organisent des meurtres ou même des génocides à cause ou au nom de ce trop d’Histoire, de passé, de culture ; d’autres à cause d’un vague souvenir d’une culture, d’un lieu qu’ils ont quitté pour aller ailleurs, là où c’était grand, nouveau. Cela les mène eux aussi à supprimer ce qui les gêne, ce qui est en trop, peut-être aussi ce qui leur semble impropre à réaliser pleinement l’utopie de ce nouveau monde. Et puis il y a eu un nouvel incident raciste, enfin un lynchage, à Jasper, Texas. A notre époque, et plus que jamais, il y a de la purification dans l’air. Alors je suis allée à Jasper, Texas, j’ai mieux compris ce qui m’obsède encore et toujours et cet amoncellement de richesses encore et toujours et cet amoncellement de richesses encore jamais vu.

Réalisateur

Chantal Akerman

Née à Bruxelles en 1950. Réalise son premier court métrage en 1968, film dont elle est l’unique interprète et où s’annonce déjà le regard singulier de la cinéaste sur l’environnement quotidien, entre humour noir, fantastique et rebelle. Réalise son premier long métrage à New York en 1972, mais c’est avec “Jeanne Dielman” que la critique et le public découvrent son oeuvre. Ses dernières oeuvres alternent documentaires et fictions autobiographiques : “Sud” (documentaire, 1999), “La Captive” (fiction, 2000), “De l’autre côté” (documentaire, 2002), “Demain on déménage” (fiction, 2004) et “Là-bas” (documentaire, 2006). Lire plus…

Scénario
Chantal Akerman

Image
Raymond Fromont

Son
Thierry de Halleux

Montage
Claire Atherton

production : Xavier Carniaux, AMIP, 52 rue Charlot, 75003 Paris, France, Tél. : 33 (0)1 48 87 45 13, Fax : 01 48 87 40 10 Paradise Films – INA – Carré Noir – RTBF Liège – Chemah I.S. vente à l’étranger : Doc & Co, 13 rue Portefoin, 75003 Paris, France, Tél. : 33 (0)1 42 77 56 87, Fax : 33 (0)1 42 72 64 82 distribution : Doc & Co