You are here: Home » 1975 » Strike !

51th Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

Strike !

Fortnight 1975, Feature film, 1h36

Synopsis

The film story is based on an actual strike that took place in Norway in the 1970’s. The board of a company subsidized and controlled by « Union Carbide » (an international capitalistic trust) ignored the workers demands for better wages and working conditions.
In 1970, when the obligatory negociations had been finished for a period of two years in 1969, open conflict between the workers and the employers main organizations became a reality. These organizations had agreed not to go into conflict in the middle of such a « two year period ». The strike was therefore mentioned as a « wild strike » and the workers didn’t receive any help from their union leaders.
A heavy pressure wasp ut on the workers to get them back to work : rumours were set out that the workers had been misled by a group of mrxist-leninists, that they were responsible for economic losses caused by the strike, that they made things worse for their comrades in other sections of the factory.
The shooting was delayed one year due to political pressure from right-wing organizations. When it finally came into production, the cast included both professional actors and persons that were actually involved in the 1970’s strike.
Even before its first screening, « Strike » was the most controversial picture of the 1970’s in Norway.
Oddvar BULL TUHUS

Director

Oddvar Bull Tuhus

Oddvar Bull Tuhus, born in 1940 in Oslo, Norway, directed « Striek ! », his third feature film, at 34 years old. He was the leader of the radical norwegian filmgroup « Vampirefilm » since it was started in 1969. His second film, « Maria Marusjka » was awarded the film critics’ prize as best norwegian film in 1973. In connexion with « Striek ! », he established the independant production company Marcusfilm.

Bjarne Andersen
Kjell Pettersen
Kjell Stormoen

Screenplay
Oddvar Bull Tuhus, Lasse Glomm

Image
Halvor Nass

Production : MARCUSFILM (Oslo)

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 1975 » Strike !

51e édition du 15 au 25 mai 2019

Strike !

Quinzaine 1975, Long métrage, 1h36

Synopsis

Le film relate une grève qui a effectivement eu lieu en Norvège en 1970. La direction d’une compagnie, subventionnée et contrôlée par « Union Carbide » (trust capitaliste d’envergure internationale) s’était obstiné jusqu’aux années 1960 à refuser de prendre en considération les revendications des ouvriers portant sur une amélioration des salaires et des conditions de travail.
En 1970, après l’échec de deux ans de négociations, le conflit éclate entre les ouvriers et les principales organisations patronales, qui refusaient d’y participer. Dès lors, ce fut une grève sauvage et les ouvriers ne reçurent pas l’appui de leurs leaders syndicaux. Une forte pression fut exercée sur les travailleurs pour qu’ils reprennent le travail. On fit courir le bruit que les ouvriers avaient été abusés par des marxistes-léninistes, que leur grève était responsable d’importantes pertes financières, qu’elle allait à l’encontre des intérêts de leurs camarades travaillant dans d’autres secteurs de l’usine.
Les pressions des organisations de droite retardèrent d’un an le tournage du film. Il eut finalement lieu avec une distribution comprenant à la fois des acteurs professionnels et des gens ayant participé à la grève de 1970.
Avant sa projection, « Strike » était déjà en Norvège le film le plus controversé des années 1970.
Oddvar BULL TUHUS

Réalisateur

Oddvar Bull Tuhus

Oddvar Bull Tuhus, né en 1940 à Oslo, réalisa “Striek !”, son troisième long métrage, à 34 ans. Il a été l’un des chefs de file des réalisateurs radicaux norvégiens rassemblés au sein du groupe Vampirefilm depuis 1969. Son second film, “Maria Marusjka” reçu le prix de la critique comme meilleur film norvégien en 1973. En lien avec “Striek !”, il a fondé la société de production Marcusfilm.

Bjarne Andersen
Kjell Pettersen
Kjell Stormoen

Scénario
Oddvar Bull Tuhus, Lasse Glomm

Image
Halvor Nass

Production : MARCUSFILM (Oslo)