You are here: Home » 1975 » Strah

51th Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

Strah

Fortnight 1975, Feature film, 1h40

Synopsis

The film is located in the deep heart of a small nation, Ljubljana « the sweetheart», capital of Slovenia – Austro-hungarian empire in 1895.
A forty-year-old comes back to his native town which is decomposing and changing. It is the age of travelling theaters, living images, hypnotising sorcerers – and fascination for the future promised by the all-powerful magic of technology. He buys an old mansion and turn in into a brothel. Thus protected from the quiet and mediocre everyday life, so close and yet shielded from desire and the fascinating nostalgia of flesh and sensuality promising surrender and oblivion, he settles through his popularity in the « good society » of this boring and doomed town.
The promise of love makes him think that he can regain the innocence and the faith of long-gone moments. But the world doesn’t change : just as through his journeys who revealed to him a dirty and rotten world, everuything seams meant to fail and end in this city that is to him a chosen home.
The magic of an always revived life’s persistence is the only mirage that stays soaked with goodness and innocence…
Matjaz KLOPCIC

Director

Matjaz Klopcic

Matjaz Klopcic was the son of the Slovenian poet Mile Klopcic, and the nephew of the Communist activist and historian France Klopcic. He lived for several years in Paris and was the assistant of Jean-Luc Godard on the shooting of « Bande à Part ». He directed 28 films between 1959 and 2005, and eventually died in 2007.

Ljuba Tadic
Mélina Dravic
Mélina Zupancic
Neda Spasojevic

Image
Tomislav Pinter

Production : VIBA FILM

Title in Original Version : La Peur

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 1975 » Strah

51e édition du 15 au 25 mai 2019

Strah

Quinzaine 1975, Long métrage, 1h40

Synopsis

Grand coeur d’une petite nation, Ljubljana – « la bien-aimée », capitale de la Slovénie. L’empire austro-hongrois en 1895. Tel est le cadre du film. Un homme de 40 ans revient dans sa ville natale en pleine décomposition et en plein changement.
C’est l’âge du théâtre ambulant, des images vivantes, des sorciers hypnotiseurs ambulants et la fascination devant l’avenir promis par la magie toute-puissante de la technique. Il achète une maison patricienne abandonnée et y installe une maison close. Ainsi fortifié devant le calme du quotidien médiocre, tout près et en même temps à l’abri du désir et de la nostalgie fascinante de la chair et de la sensualité qui promet l’abandon et l’oubli, il s’installe par sa popularité dans la « bonne société » de la ville morne et maudite.
Sous une promesse d’amour fou, il croit pouvoir retrouver l’innocence et la foi des jours passés. Mais le monde ne change guère : comme à travers ses voyages qui lui ont fait connaître un monde sale et pourri, tout semble voué à l’échec et à une fin très proche dans cette ville qui lui est à la fois port et domicile choisi.
La magie de la persistance de la vie qui renaît toujours est le seul mirage qui reste imprégné de bonté et d’innocence…
Matjaz KLOPCIC

Réalisateur

Matjaz Klopcic

Matjaz Klopcic était le fils du poète slovène Mile Klopcic, et neveux de l’activiste et historien communiste France Klopcic. Il a vécu pendant plusieurs années à Paris et y fut l’assistant de Jean-Luc Godard sur le tournage de “Bande à Part”. Il a réalisé 28 films entre 1959 et 2005 avant de mourir, en 2007.

Ljuba Tadic
Mélina Dravic
Mélina Zupancic
Neda Spasojevic

Image
Tomislav Pinter

Production : VIBA FILM

Titre VO : La Peur