You are here: Home » 1998 » Slums Of Beverly Hills

51st Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

Slums Of Beverly Hills

Fortnight 1998, Feature film, 1 h 32

Synopsis

« The survival in an imperfect family from the point of view of a fifteen year old girl. » When the Abramowitz’, a barely functioning family, move into a dilapidated Beverly Hills apartment complex in 1976, Vivian watches in horror as her blossoming sexuality and bur-geoning bosom become a family event -not to mention a great curiousity for her strange, slacker neighbor Elliot. Clearly, Vivian is in need of a mother figure. Enter Rita, the Abramowitz’ wild cousin and anti-role model, who needs a place to stay. Murray, the single father, hopes that taking in Rita, the daughter of his loaded brother Mickey, will be the answer to restoring their financial and emotional well-being, but she might just drive them all over the brink of madness first

Director

Tamara Jenkins

She started in theater and graduated at the New York University, Tisch School of the Arts, cinema and television department. In 1995, she received the Guggenheim Fellowship For Filmmaking and the screenplay of her feature film Slums of Beverly Hills is selected at the Sundance Institute Screenwriting and Filmmakers’ Lab. She made two short films: Fugitive Love (1992) et Family Remains.

Alan Arkin
Carl Reiner
David Krumholtz
Jessica Walter
Kevin Corrigan
Marisa Tomei
Natasha Lyonne
Rita Moreno

Screenplay
Tamara Jenkins

Image
Tom Richmond

Sound
Ken Seagal

Editing
Pamela Martin

Music
Rolfe Kent

Set decoration
Dena Roth

Production : Michael Nozik et Stan Wlodkowski, South Fork Pictures, 1101 Montana Avenue, Suite B, Santa Monica, California 90403, États-Unis, Tél. : (1 310) 395 5112, Fax : (1 310) 395 3975 – Fox Searchlight Pictures, 2121 Avenue of the Stars, Los Angeles, Ca 90067, États-Unis, Tél. : (1 310) 369 1000, Fax : (1 310) 369 2359 Distribué en France par : UFD, 2 Avenue Montaigne, 75008 Paris, Tél. : 01 53 67 17 17 Fax : 01 53 67 17 00

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 1998 » Slums Of Beverly Hills

51e édition du 15 au 25 mai 2019

Slums Of Beverly Hills

Quinzaine 1998, Long métrage, 1 h 32

Synopsis

Quand la famille Abramowitz emménage dans un appartement délabré d’un immeuble de Beverly Hills en 1976, Vivian voit avec horreur sa sexualité toute neuve et ses seins naissants devenir un événement familial, sans parler de sa grande curiosité à l’égard de son voisin Elliot, bizarre et bon à rien. A l’évidence, Vivian a besoin d’une mère. Voici Rita, la cousine déjantée qui sert d’anti-modèle de référence et qui a besoin d’un endroit où vivre. Murray, le père célibataire, espère que Rita, la fille de Mickey, son frère fortuné, sera une solution à leurs problèmes financiers et autres désordres émotionnels, à moins qu’elle ne les rende tous cinglés… « La survie d’une jeune fille de quinze ans au sein d’une famille particulièrement tordue. »

Réalisateur

Tamara Jenkins

Tamara Jenkins a fait du théâtre avant de se lancer dans la réalisation. En 1993, elle obtient son diplôme de la New York University, la Tisch School of the Arts, département cinéma et télévision. En 1995, le Guggenheim Fellowship For Filmmaking lui est attribué et le scénario de son premier long métrage Slums of Beverly Hills est sélectionné par le Sundance Institute Screenwriting and Filmmakers’ Lab. Elle a précédemment signé deux courts métrages : Fugitive Love (1992) et Family Remains (1994).

Alan Arkin
Carl Reiner
David Krumholtz
Jessica Walter
Kevin Corrigan
Marisa Tomei
Natasha Lyonne
Rita Moreno

Scénario
Tamara Jenkins

Image
Tom Richmond

Son
Ken Seagal

Montage
Pamela Martin

Musique
Rolfe Kent

Décors
Dena Roth

Production : Michael Nozik et Stan Wlodkowski, South Fork Pictures, 1101 Montana Avenue, Suite B, Santa Monica, California 90403, États-Unis, Tél. : (1 310) 395 5112, Fax : (1 310) 395 3975 – Fox Searchlight Pictures, 2121 Avenue of the Stars, Los Angeles, Ca 90067, États-Unis, Tél. : (1 310) 369 1000, Fax : (1 310) 369 2359 Distribué en France par : UFD, 2 Avenue Montaigne, 75008 Paris, Tél. : 01 53 67 17 17 Fax : 01 53 67 17 00