You are here: Home » 2005 » Sisters In Law

51st Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

Sisters In Law

Fortnight 2005, Feature film, 1h44

Synopsis

Kumba, a small town in southwest Cameroon. Six-year-old Manka has fled her house an cruel aunt. Sonita courageously accuses her neighbor of rape. Amina decides to end her marriage with a brutal man by taking him to court. The film follows two women, the Counselor of State and the Presiding Judge, in their daily work: to bring aid to these women determined to put an end to their harsh lives.

Directors

Florence Ayisi

Florence Ayisi sudied producing and directing at the NSFTV in Leeds, where she produced two short films before co-directed a documentary about a dancer choreographer. She has just completed au short film, My Mother :Isange, to mark the International Women’s Day March 8th 2005. She teaches pratice-based research at the International Film School Wales.

Kim Longinotto

Kim Longinotto studied camera and directing at the National Film School. While she was there, she made Pride of Place, a critical look at her boarding school. After the NFS she worked as camera on a variety of documentaries. She directed numerous documentaries in countries like Japan, Iran and Kenya.

Image
Kim Longinotto

Sound
Mary Milton

Editing
Ollie Huddleston

Music
D’Gary

Production : Vixen Films 26 Balfour Road Londres N5 2HE Royaume-uni tél : +44 0207 359 7368 fax : +44 0207 359 7368 tg@tgraham.demon.co.uk presse : Freud Communications Kate Lee tél : +44 207 291 6349 mob : +44 777 160 0070 à Cannes mob : +33(0)6 74 15 45 77

Awards

Prix Art et Essai – CICAE

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 2005 » Sisters In Law

51e édition du 15 au 25 mai 2019

Sisters In Law

Quinzaine 2005, Long métrage, 1h44

Synopsis

Kumba, une petite ville au sud-ouest du Cameroun. Manka, six ans, a fui sa maison et sa tante abusive. Sonita accuse avec courage son voisin de viol. Amina a décidé de mettre fin à son mariage avec un homme brutal en le traînant devant le tribunal. Sisters in Law suit la conseillère d’État et la Présidente de la Cour dans leur travail quotidien : apporter leur aide à ces femmes déterminées à mettre un terme à des existences par trop malmenées.

Réalisateurs

Florence Ayisi

Etudiante en production et réalisation à la NSFTV de Leeds, elle y produit deux courts métrages, avant de co-réaliser un documentaire sur un danseur et chorégraphe. Elle vient de terminer un court métrage, My Mother : Isange, en l’honneur de la Journée Internationale des Femmes du 8 mars. Elle enseigne aussi le cinéma à l’Ecole Internationale du Film du Pays de Galles.

Kim Longinotto

Kim Longinotto étudie la mise en scène à la National Film School de Londres. Pendant cette période, elle réalise Pride of Place, qui porte un regard critique sur son école. Après la NFS, elle travaille comme caméraman sur divers documentaires, puis elle passe elle-même à la réalisation, s’intéressant à des pays comme le Japon, l’Iran et le Kenya.

Image
Kim Longinotto

Son
Mary Milton

Montage
Ollie Huddleston

Musique
D’Gary

Production : Vixen Films 26 Balfour Road Londres N5 2HE Royaume-uni tél : +44 0207 359 7368 fax : +44 0207 359 7368 tg@tgraham.demon.co.uk presse : Freud Communications Kate Lee tél : +44 207 291 6349 mob : +44 777 160 0070 à Cannes mob : +33(0)6 74 15 45 77

Récompenses

Prix Art et Essai – CICAE