You are here: Home » 1997 » Sinon, oui

52nd edition from May 13 to 23, 2020

Sinon, oui

Fortnight 1997, Feature film, 1 h 55

Synopsis

It’s the story of a woman who accidentally leads her husband to believe she’s pregnant. He doesn’t want the child but she refuses to have an abortion (since she’s not pregnant). Gradually, the “fact” of this pregnancy keeps the husband from leaving her, provides comfort to her seriously ill father and delights her entourage. Day after day, the fabrication becomes increasingly present and nothing seems to able to stop it.

Director

Claire Simon

Born in London. She came to the cinema as an editor and at the same time made shorts independently. She discovered direct cinema technique at the Ateliers Varan and directed several prize-winning documentary films. in 1997, she presented her first feature film, Sinon, oui, at the Directors Fortnight. After some theater work, she returned to documentaries with 800 km de différence – romance et Mimi (Berlin Film Festival, 2003), which both enjoyed theatrical release. Her second fiction feature, Ça brûle, was shown in the Fortnight in 2006.

Agnés Regolo
Catherine Mendez
Claude Merlin
Emmanuel Clarke
Lou Castel
Magali Leris
Sean Nelson

Screenplay
Boaz Yakin

Image
Richard Copans

Sound
Dominique Lancelot

Editing
Catherine Quesemand

Music
Archie Shepp, Catherine Ringer, Rita Mitsuko

Set decoration
Michel Vandestien

PRODUCTION : Zelie Productions 20, rue taine, 75012 Paris Tél. : 01 43 41 86 86 Fax : 01 43 41 90 09 French Production La Sept Cinéma Verseau International Inc. (Canada) VENTE A L’ETRANGER : Claudia Rae-Colombani, Art Box Productions 18, rue Marignan, 75008 Paris Tél. : 01 53 53 07 55 fax : 01 45 61 27 97

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 1997 » Sinon, oui

50e édition du 9 au 19 mai 2018

Sinon, oui

Quinzaine 1997, Long métrage, 1 h 55

Synopsis

C’est l’histoire d’une femme qui, par hasard, laisse son mari croire qu’elle est enceinte. Il ne veut pas de l’enfant et elle, refuse d’avorter (puisqu’elle n’est pas enceinte). Peu à peu, la croyance en cette grossese retient son mari auprès d’elle, réconforte son propre père très malade, et réjouit son entourage. Jour après jour, la fiction s’installe et rien ne semble pouvoir l’arrêter.

Réalisateur

Claire Simon

Née à Londres. Elle apprend le cinéma par le biais du montage, et tourne parallèlement des courts-métrage de manière totalement indépendante. Elle découvre la pratique du cinéma direct aux Ateliers Varan et réalise plusieurs films documentaires qui seront primés dans de nombreux festivals. En 1997, elle présente à la Quinzaine des Réalisateurs son premier long métrage de fiction Sinon, oui. Après une expérience théâtrale, elle renoue avec le documentaire en tournant 800 km de différence – romance et Mimi (festival de Berlin 2003) tous deux sortis en salle. Son deuxième long métrage de fiction : Ça brûle est présenté à la Quinzaine des Réalisateurs en 2006.

Agnés Regolo
Catherine Mendez
Claude Merlin
Emmanuel Clarke
Lou Castel
Magali Leris
Sean Nelson

Scénario
Boaz Yakin

Image
Richard Copans

Son
Dominique Lancelot

Montage
Catherine Quesemand

Musique
Archie Shepp, Catherine Ringer, Rita Mitsuko

Décors
Michel Vandestien

PRODUCTION : Zelie Productions 20, rue taine, 75012 Paris Tél. : 01 43 41 86 86 Fax : 01 43 41 90 09 French Production La Sept Cinéma Verseau International Inc. (Canada) VENTE A L’ETRANGER : Claudia Rae-Colombani, Art Box Productions 18, rue Marignan, 75008 Paris Tél. : 01 53 53 07 55 fax : 01 45 61 27 97