You are here: Home » 1975 » Shazdeh Ehtedjab

51th Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

Shazdeh Ehtedjab

Fortnight 1975, Feature film, 1h33

Synopsis

« Shazdeh Ehtedjab » offered the first opportunity to take a look at the people who ran Iran not long ago, and many of them still hold important positions today. This was the main reason for me to decide to make the film, but not the only one. I also considered the opportunity to speak for the masses that were imprisoned, poisoned, humiliated and murdered without saying their piece. Aside from that, « Shazdeh Ehtedjab » was quite challenging as its complex story structure was in contradiction with the logic of a country which had condemned all new kinds of cinema.
The script of « Shazdeh Ehtedjab » was ready almost five years ago. T first, i twas banned by the Commission that approves scripts and give a shooting authorization. Two years later, it got the authorization of the Commisssion under another title and another author’s name. Getting this approval doesn’t mean that the film will be made an dit took another two years to find a producer and complete financing it. Finally, in early 1974, the TELFILM production company entered the project and the shooting began. The film was entirely shot on location in Ispahan.
Bahman FARMANARA

Director

Bahman Farmanara

Bahman Farmanara, born in 1942 in Theran, comes from a family whose original business was textile – but was the only son who did not join the business. He went off to United Kingdom and later on to the US to study acting and directing. He graduated from University of Southern California with a BA in Cinema in 1966. After returning to Iran and doing his military service, he became film critic for the Tehran Journal from 1966 to 1968. He then joined the National Iranian Radio and Television as producer and director (he produced some 150 shows from 1968 to 1971, and directed two documentaries).

Fakhri Khorvash
Jamshid Mashayekhi
Nouri Kasraii

Screenplay
Houshang Golshiri, Bahman Farmanara

Image
Nemmat Haghighi

Production : TELFILM (Teheran)

Title in Original Version : Prince Ehtedjab

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 1975 » Shazdeh Ehtedjab

51e édition du 15 au 25 mai 2019

Shazdeh Ehtedjab

Quinzaine 1975, Long métrage, 1h33

Synopsis

« Shazdeh Ehtedjab » offrait la première occasion de jeter un regard sur une classe de gens qui a gouverné l’Iran il y a peu de temps, et beaucoup de ces gens occupent encore aujourd’hui des postes importants. Ce fut la première raison qui décida à faire le film, mais pas la seule : dans « Shazdeh Ehtedjab », j’ai vu l’occasion de me faire l’interprète des masses qui sont emprisonnées, empoisonnées, humiliées et tuées sans pouvoir s’exprimer. À ces raisons s’ajoute la construction complexe de « Shazdeh Ehtedjab » qui était un défi à lancer dans un pays qui avait alors condamné tout nouveau genre de films.
Le scénario de « Shazdeh Ehtedjab » était prêt depuis cinq ans. Au début, il fut rejeté par la commission qui devait approuver tous les nouveaux scenarii avant d’accorder un autorisation de tournage. Après deux années, le film obtint l’autorisation sous un autre titre et le nom d’un autre auteur. Cela n’impliquait cependant pas que faire le film serait possible : il fallut de nouveau deux ans pour trouver un producteur. Finalement, au début de 1974, avec l’aide de capitaux privés, la société de production Telfilm accepta de s’engager et le tournage pu commencer. Le film a entièrement été tourné en décors naturels à Ispahan.
Bahman FARMANARA

Réalisateur

Bahman Farmanara

Bahman Farmanara, né à Téhéran en 1942, vient d’une famille travaillant dans le textile. Il fut le seul fils à ne pas s’engager dans l’affaire familiale et parti au Royaume Uni puis aux États Unis pour étudier la réalisation et l’art dramatique. Il fut diplômé de l’Université de Californie du Sud en 1966. Après être revenu en Iran et avoir fait son service militaire, il devint critique de cinéma pour le Tehran Journal de 1966 à 1968. Il rejoignit ensuite la NIRTV (télévision iranienne) comme producteur et réalisateur (il produit quelques 150 émissions de 1968 à 1971, et réalisa deux documentaires pour la chaîne).

Fakhri Khorvash
Jamshid Mashayekhi
Nouri Kasraii

Scénario
Houshang Golshiri, Bahman Farmanara

Image
Nemmat Haghighi

Production : TELFILM (Teheran)

Titre VO : Prince Ehtedjab