You are here: Home » 2005 » Ride The High Country

52nd edition from May 13 to 23, 2020

Ride The High Country

Fortnight 2005, Feature film, 1h34

Synopsis

Ex-lawman Steve Judd is hired by a bank to escort a gold shipment from a mining town. To help him, he hires his old friend and colleague, Gil Westrum, along with the latter’s young saddle pal, Heck. But Westrum and Heck only accept the job in order to hijack the gold. En route to pick up the gold, they spend the night at the farm of a Quaker whose daughter, Elsa, defying her father’s wishes, joins them with plans to elope with her boyfriend, Billy, at the mining camp. (in « Sam Peckinpah » de Gérard Camy, L’Harmattan, 1997)

Director

Sam Peckinpah

Born in Fresno, California in 1925, Sam Peckinpah joined the Marines in 1943. After the war, he obtained a master’s degree in drama and worked in the theater as director and actor before working as assistant to Don Siegel, especially on The Invasion of the Body Snatchers?he contributed to the script and also had a bit part. He directed a number of episodes for such TV series as The Rifleman and The Westerner. He began to direct features with the western, New Mexico (1961), whose script he was unable to change to suit his own tastes. But he made a name for himself with his second film, Ride the High Country. It was the start of a defiant career characterized by a series of clashes with the Hollywood studio system. His most famous film, The Wild Bunch, was an international hit but his subsequent masterpieces, Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid and Bring Me the Head of Alfredo Garica were mutilated by his distrustful producers, who re-cut them and sabotaged their release. If Peckinpah revolutionized the western in the 60s with his baroque style and study of the decline of the great American myths, he also directed a contemporary thriller based on a Jim Thompson novel The Getaway and major films on his favorite themes of violence Straw Dogs and war Cross of Iron. Sam Peckinpah died in Inglewood, California, in 1984.

Joel McCrea
L.Q. Jones
Mariette Hartley
Randolph Scott
Ronald Starr
Warren Oates

Screenplay
N.B. Stone Jr

Image
Lucien Ballard

Sound
Franklin Milton

Editing
Franck Santillo

Music
George Bassman

Set decoration
Leroy Coleman, George W. Davis

production: Richard Lyons – Metro Goldwyn Mayer ventes à l’étranger: Hollywood Classics Linton house 39/51 Highgate Road London NW5 1RS Melanie Tebb Tél : + 44 (20) 7424 7280 melanie@hollywoodclassics.com

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 2005 » Ride The High Country

51e édition du 15 au 25 mai 2019

Ride The High Country

Quinzaine 2005, Long métrage, 1h34

Synopsis

Steve Judd, un shérif à la retraite, doit aller chercher l’or d’une communauté de chercheurs et le ramener à la banque qui l’emploie. Il se fait accompagner par son vieil ami Gil Westrum et son jeune protégé Heck. Ceux-ci n’ont accepté le travail que pour s’emparer de l’or. En route, ils sont les hôtes d’un paysan quaker dont la fille Elsa, malgré le refus de son père, se joint à eux pour aller épouser son fiancé Billy au camp de mineurs. (in « Sam Peckinpah » de Gérard Camy, L’Harmattan, 1997)

Réalisateur

Sam Peckinpah

Né en Californie le 21 février 1925, Sam Peckinpah étudie le droit, puis sert dans la Marine pendant la Seconde Guerre Mondiale. Après la guerre, il obtient un diplôme d’art dramatique à l’université et collabore à des scénarios ; notamment celui de L’Invasion des profanateurs de sépultures de Don Siegel, où il fait une apparition. Il réalise également des épisodes de séries de télévision comme The Rifleman ou The Westerner. Son premier film, New Mexico, réalisé en 1961, est un western dont il n’a pu modifier le scénario à sa guise. Il se fait pourtant un nom dès son deuxième film, Coups de feu dans la sierra. La suite de l’?uvre du cinéaste rebelle est une suite de combats gagnés ou perdus contre le système des studios hollywoodiens. Son film le plus célèbre, La Horde sauvage est un succès mondial tandis que des chefs-d’?uvre comme Pat Garrett et Billy le Kid ou Apportez-moi la tête d’Alfredo Garcia souffrent de la méfiance des producteurs qui en refont le montage ou en sabordent la distribution. Si Peckinpah a révolutionné le western dans les années 60, par son style baroque et son analyse du déclin des grands mythes américains, il a également signé une adaptation de Jim Thompson Le Guet-apens et des films importants sur la violence, son sujet de prédilection Chiens de paille ou la guerre Croix de fer. Sam Peckinpah meurt le 28 décembre 1984 à Inglewood en Californie.

Joel McCrea
L.Q. Jones
Mariette Hartley
Randolph Scott
Ronald Starr
Warren Oates

Scénario
N.B. Stone Jr

Image
Lucien Ballard

Son
Franklin Milton

Montage
Franck Santillo

Musique
George Bassman

Décors
Leroy Coleman, George W. Davis

production: Richard Lyons – Metro Goldwyn Mayer ventes à l’étranger: Hollywood Classics Linton house 39/51 Highgate Road London NW5 1RS Melanie Tebb Tél : + 44 (20) 7424 7280 melanie@hollywoodclassics.com