You are here: Home » 2011 » Return

51th Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

Return

Fortnight 2011, Feature film, 1h37

Synopsis

Back from a tour of duty, Kelli can’t wait to rejoin her old life in the Rust Belt town she’s always known. She’s ready to experience the feelings of everyday life—the carpet under her bare feet, the smell of her baby’s head.But slowly, her world comes to feel unfamiliar. Her friends love her but seem preoccupied with trifles. Her children need more focused attention than she can give, and as much as he tries, her husband Mike doesn’t understand what she’s been through. As Kelli’s dislocation ripples through her world, she risks becoming an outsider. When she’s thrown back on her own resources Kelli has to struggle to find a new way forward.
« Exceptional mise en scène and direction of actors, RETURN is the portrait of a woman, interpreted by the remarkably talented Linda Cardellini, facing uncertainty and doubt when she returns home from Irak. With Michael Shannon and John Slattery. »
Marzena Moskal, selection commitee

Director

Liza Johnson

Liza Johnson’s work has been exhibited internationally in museums, galleries, and film festivals, including the Museum of Modern Art, the Wexner Center for the Arts, the Walker Art Center as well as the New York, Berlin, and Rotterdam Film Festivals. She has been a fellow of the DAAD Berliner Kunstle.

John Slattery
Linda Cardellini
Louisa Krause
Michael Shannon
Paul Sparks
Talia Balsam

Screenplay
Liza Johnson

Image
Anne Etheridge

Sound
Chen Harpaz

Editing
Paul Zucker

Music
T. Griffin

Set decoration
Inbal Weinberg

Production

2.1 Films / True Enough Productions
60 Leroy Street
NY 10014 New York – États-Unis
Tél : +1 212 604 0768
info@twopointonefilms.com
www.twopointonefilms.com

Coproduction

Fork Films (États-Unis)
Meredith Viera Productions (États-Unis)

 

Ventes à l’étranger / world sales :

Sébastien Chesneau
sebastien.chesneau@rezo.com

Karina Korenblum
karina@korenblum.com

Rezo Films
29 rue du Faubourg Poissonnière
75009 Paris
France
Tél : +33 1 42 46 46 30
Fax : +33 1 42 46 40 82
infosrezo@rezofilms.com
www.rezofilms.com

 

Presse française/ French press

Rezo Films
Stéphanie Azérad
Denis Revirand
Tél / Fax : 04 93 39 98 31
 PR@rezofilms.com

Presse US / US press

Susan Norget
cell : +1 917 833 3056
susan@norget.com

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 2011 » Return

51e édition du 15 au 25 mai 2019

Return

Quinzaine 2011, Long métrage, 1h37

Synopsis

De retour de son service militaire, Kelli se languit de retrouver son ancienne vie dans le village de la Rust Belt qu’elle a toujours connu. Elle est prête à retrouver les sensations de la vie quotidienne, le tapis sous ses pieds nus, l’odeur de son bébé.Mais, progressivement, son monde ne lui paraît plus familier. Ses amis l’aiment mais semblent préoccupés par de petits détails. Ses enfants ont besoin de plus d’attention qu’elle ne peut leur en donner, et même si son mari Mike tente de comprendre ce qu’elle a vécu, il n’y parvient pas. Alors que sa vie se disloque, avec des répercussions sur son environnement, Kelli est en passe de devenir une étrangère. Lorsqu’elle est rejetée et doit subvenir seule à ses besoins, Kelli doit se battre pour trouver un nouveau départ.
« Une mise en scène et une direction d’acteurs remarquables. Un portrait de femme, porté par l’excellente Linda Cardellini, mise à mal dans sa féminité et ses certitudes. Avec Michael Shannon and John Slattery. »
Marzena Moskal, comité de selection

Réalisateur

Liza Johnson

Le travail de Liza Johnson a été exposé dans le monde entier dans des musées, des galeries et des festivals de films, comme le Museum of Modern Art, le Wexner Center for the Arts, le Walker Art Center ainsi que les festivals de films de New York, Berlin, et Rotterdam. Liza Johnson a participé au programme DAAD Berliner Kunstle.

John Slattery
Linda Cardellini
Louisa Krause
Michael Shannon
Paul Sparks
Talia Balsam

Scénario
Liza Johnson

Image
Anne Etheridge

Son
Chen Harpaz

Montage
Paul Zucker

Musique
T. Griffin

Décors
Inbal Weinberg

Production

2.1 Films / True Enough Productions
60 Leroy Street
NY 10014 New York – États-Unis
Tél : +1 212 604 0768
info@twopointonefilms.com
www.twopointonefilms.com

Coproduction

Fork Films (États-Unis)
Meredith Viera Productions (États-Unis)

 

Ventes à l’étranger / world sales :

Sébastien Chesneau
sebastien.chesneau@rezo.com

Karina Korenblum
karina@korenblum.com

Rezo Films
29 rue du Faubourg Poissonnière
75009 Paris
France
Tél : +33 1 42 46 46 30
Fax : +33 1 42 46 40 82
infosrezo@rezofilms.com
www.rezofilms.com

 

Presse française/ French press

Rezo Films
Stéphanie Azérad
Denis Revirand
Tél / Fax : 04 93 39 98 31
 PR@rezofilms.com

Presse US / US press

Susan Norget
cell : +1 917 833 3056
susan@norget.com