You are here: Home » 1999 » Phörpa

51st Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

Phörpa

Fortnight 1999, Feature film, 1h33

Synopsis

Inspired by true events, our story follows two young Tibetan boys, Palden and Nyima, assimilating into the life of a Tibetan monastery-in-exile, nestled in the picturesque foothills of the Himalayas. Having been secretly sent by their family to receive a traditional Tibetan Buddhist education, unfettered by Chinese intrusion, they arrive to receive their ordination and orientation into monastic life. Once ordination formalities are completed, the boys are thrown into a whirlwind of unexpected events not usually associated with the austere atmosphere of a traditional Tibetan monastery – the Soccer World Cup is on, and football fever is running hot, much to the distress of Geko, the monastery’s disciplinarian. The boys’ passion to see the final of the World Cup and the discipline of monastic life is eventually satisfied by bringing the satellite broadcast right into the monastery. In the end, assisted by the warm caring of Geko for the boys, peace returns in the monastery.

Director

Khyentse Norbu

Known as H.E. Dzongsar Jamyang Khyentse Rinpoche in religion, he is one of the most important lamas in the Tibetan Buddhism tradition. He was born in Bhutan and revealed when he was 7 as the reincarnation of Jamyang Khyentse Wangpo, a monk and a saint of the 19th. He studied in Sikkim, Bhutan and India. He was fascinated by picture and sound since he dicovered television when he was 13. He started his carreer with Bernardo Bertolucci on Little Buddha. He lives in Dzongsar monastery. He is the spiritual head of two meditation centers in Bhutan and Sikkim as well as two schools of philopsophy in India and Bhutan.

Jamyang Lodro
Neten Chokling
Orgyen Tobgyal

Screenplay
Khyentse Norbu

Image
Paul Warren

Sound
Bronwyn Murphy

Editing
John Scott

Music
Douglas Mills

Set decoration
Raymond Steiner

production : Malcolm Watson, Raymond Steiner, Coffee Stain Productions, 285 Galston Road, Galston NSW 2159, Australie, Tél. & Fax : (61 2) 9653 1762 vente à l’étranger : Hanway Films c/o Recorded Picture Company, 24 Hanway street, Londres W1P 9DD, Grande-Bretagne, Tél. : (44 171) 636 22 51, Fax : (44 171) 636 22 61

Title in Original Version : The Cup / La Coupe

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 1999 » Phörpa

50e édition du 9 au 19 mai 2018

Phörpa

Quinzaine 1999, Long métrage, 1h33

Synopsis

Inspiré de faits réels, le film suit Palden et Nyima, deux jeunes garçons tibétains qui rejoignent la vie d’un monastère tibétain en exil, perché sur les contreforts de l’Himalaya. Secrètement envoyés par leur famille pour être éduqués selon les principes traditionnels du bouddhisme tibétain, dégagés de toute influence chinoise, ils arrivent pour recevoir leur ordination et ainsi entrer dans la vie monastique. Une fois l’ordination prononcée, les deux garçons sont précipités dans un tourbillon d’évènements imprévus, peu conformes à l’ambiance plus austère d’un monastère : c’est la Coupe du Monde, et la fièvre du football s’empare des esprits, au grand désespoir de Geko, le supérieur du monastère. Afin de satisfaire à la fois la passion des enfants pour cette Coupe du Monde et les exigences de la vie monastique, un équipement permettant la retransmission par satellite est installé à l’intérieur même du monastère. Grâce à l’attention chaleureuse de Geko pour les adolescents, le calme reviendra finalement.

Réalisateur

Khyentse Norbu

Connu sous son titre religieux de H.E. Dzongsar Jamyang Khyentse Rinpoche, il est l’un des plus importants lamas de la tradition du bouddhisme tibétain. Né au Bhoutan et reconnu à l’âge de 7 ans comme la réincarnation d’un religieux et saint du 19ème siècle, Jamyang Khyentse Wangpo. A étudié au Sikkim, au Bhoutan et en Inde. Fasciné par l’image et le son depuis sa découverte de la télévision à l’âge de 13 ans. Acquiert sa première expérience cinématographique avec Bernardo Bertolucci sur Little Buddha. Vit au monastère de Dzongsar (Tibet oriental). Maître spirituel dans deux centres de méditation au Bhoutan et au Sikkim, et deux écoles de philosophie en Inde et au Bhoutan. Anime des centres de bouddhisme à travers le monde.

Jamyang Lodro
Neten Chokling
Orgyen Tobgyal

Scénario
Khyentse Norbu

Image
Paul Warren

Son
Bronwyn Murphy

Montage
John Scott

Musique
Douglas Mills

Décors
Raymond Steiner

production : Malcolm Watson, Raymond Steiner, Coffee Stain Productions, 285 Galston Road, Galston NSW 2159, Australie, Tél. & Fax : (61 2) 9653 1762 vente à l’étranger : Hanway Films c/o Recorded Picture Company, 24 Hanway street, Londres W1P 9DD, Grande-Bretagne, Tél. : (44 171) 636 22 51, Fax : (44 171) 636 22 61

Titre VO : The Cup / La Coupe