You are here: Home » 2002 » Otello

51st Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

Otello

Fortnight 2002, Feature film, 1h10

Synopsis

Carmelo Bene recorded a special television adaptation of “Othello” at RAI Studios in Turin in 1979. This version was quite different from the stage play he put on the previous year and he employed a number of ground-breaking techniques that included filming with five cameras each of which was connected to a VCR. This enabled Bene to edit the play from recorded material instead of live, as was the custom then. Bene only began editing the footage in 1980 and finished the play in 2001 when he was already quite sick. He was eager to finish this project and asked Marilena Fogliatti to help him. Renato Parascandolo, the head of Rai Educationala said Bene wrote him a short letter on March,12 2002 saying that he had finished editing “Otello”. “The finale of Shakespeare’s “Othello” is the most lyrical of my theatrical achievements” declared Carmelo Bene. “This Otello is perfectly in tune with Bene’s other films and like them it is at once “cinema in the theater and theater in the cinema.” The camera doesn’t so much suggest a point of view as depict a frame; it doesn’t build a sequence but a series of appearances and disappearances in order to approach and precipitate the viewer’s gaze into the “body of the vision.” (Plato) Otello seems comic and melodramatic not only because Bene juxtaposes Shakespeare and Verdi, but also because it is played to the fullest by an actor who was one of the great Shakespearean actors. An actor who knew how to render the freedom of themes, dynamics and diversity of Shakespeare’s plays.” Piergiorgio Giacché. “Each of Carmelo Bene’s films works at constantly creating variations for all the aspects of the images, each in itself and in relationship to one another. An art of speed and intensity, the operation provokes each time a sight/sound continuum which builds a corresponding mechanism.” Gilles Deleuze

Director

Carmelo Bene

Born in 1937, Carmelo Bene enrolled in the National Academy of Dramatic Art in 1957, which he left a year later. He first acted on the stage in Albert Camus’s Caligula in Rome in 1959. He began his film work in the 60s as an actor in Pasolini’s ‘dipus Rex . In 1969, he made Our Lady of the Turks , which was screened at the Quinzaine des Réalisateurs and won the Special Jury Prize at the Venice Film Festival. Several of his later films were also selected for the Quinzaine des Réalisateurs , among them Capricci (1969) and Don Giovanni (1970). In 1974, he began to immerse himself in his experimental theater work, with its blend of music and poetry. He died in Rome in 2002.

Beatrice Giorgi
Carmelo Bene
Cesare Dell’Accuzzo
Cosimo Cinieri
Michela Martini
Rossela Bolmido

Screenplay
Carmelo Bene, adapté de William Shakespeare

Image
Carmelo Bene

Editing
Marinela Fogliatti, Giorgio Gianoglio

Set decoration
Carmelo Bene

production : Renato Parascandolo Rai Educational, via E. Romagnoli 30, 00137 Rome, Italie tél. : (39 06) 36 86 88 77, fax : (39 06) 82 76 481 parascandolo@rai.it ventes à l’étranger : Rai Trade via Umberto Novaro, 18 00135 Rome, Italie tél. : (3906) 374981 fax : (3906) 3723492 info@raitrade.it www.raitrade.rai.it

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 2002 » Otello

51e édition du 15 au 25 mai 2019

Otello

Quinzaine 2002, Long métrage, 1h10

Synopsis

Otello est tourné en 1979 dans les studios de la Rai à Turin dans une version télévisée différente de la version théâtrale que Carmelo Bene réalisa l’année précédente. Il y travaille en utilisant des techniques d’avant-garde, mettant au point un système de tournage à cinq caméras reliées à un magnétoscope, afin de faire un montage du matériel enregistré et non pas un montage en direct, comme c’était l’usage à l’époque. Tout le matériel filmé n’est pas immédiatement utilisé; Carmelo Bene commence le montage en 1980; en 2001, alors qu’il est déjà malade, il se remet à travailler sur le montage qu’il avait abandonné, en collaboration étroite avec Marilena Fogliatti. Ce n’est que le 12 mars 2002 que Carmelo Bene annonce au directeur de Rai Educational, Renato Parascandolo, dans une brève lettre que le montage d’ Otello est définitivement terminé. «Le final d’Otello de Shakespeare est bien plus lyrique que ce que j’ai déjà adapté au théâtre». «Cet Otello s’inscrit parfaitement dans le cinéma de Bene et comme ses autres films, il est à la fois «cinéma au théâtre et théâtre au cinéma»; la caméra ne suggère pas un point de vue mais dépeint plutôt un cadre, elle ne vient pas construire une séquence mais une succession d’apparitions et de disparitions pour approcher et brusquer le regard du spectateur dans «le corps de la vision» (Platon). Cet Otello apparaît comme comique et mélodramatique non seulement parce que Carmelo Bene juxtapose l’Otello de Shakespeare avec celui de Verdi, mais plutôt parce qu’il est habité et joué par un acteur qui fut définitivement l’un des plus grands acteurs shakespeariens. Un acteur qui savait rendre la liberté des thèmes, la dynamique et la variété inscrites dans les textes de Shakespeare.» Piergiorgio Giacché. «Dans chaque œuvre de Carmelo Bene, c’est un travail de mise en variation continue de tous les éléments de l’image, chacun pour soi et les uns par rapport aux autres. Art de vitesse et d’intensité, l’opération suscite chaque fois un continuum visuel et sonore que construit une machinerie correspondante.» Gilles Deleuze.

Réalisateur

Carmelo Bene

Né en 1937, Carmelo Bene s’inscrit à l’Académie des arts dramatiques en 1957 qu’il abandonne un an plus tard. Il débute comme acteur à Rome en 1959 dans Caligula d’Albert Camus. Dans les années soixante, il commence sa carrière cinématographique, en tant qu’acteur pour Pasolini dans ‘dipe Roi. En 1969, il réalise Notre-Dame des Turcs, sélectionné à la Quinzaine des Réalisateurs et pour lequel il obtient le Prix spécial du Festival de Venise. Les années suivantes, plusieurs de ses films seront présentés à la Quinzaine des Réalisateurs parmi lesquels Capricci (1969) et Don Giovanni (1970). À partir de 1974, il multiplie ses expérimentations au théâtre mêlant musique et poésie. Il meurt en 2002 à Rome.

Beatrice Giorgi
Carmelo Bene
Cesare Dell'Accuzzo
Cosimo Cinieri
Michela Martini
Rossela Bolmido

Scénario
Carmelo Bene, adapté de William Shakespeare

Image
Carmelo Bene

Montage
Marinela Fogliatti, Giorgio Gianoglio

Décors
Carmelo Bene

production : Renato Parascandolo Rai Educational, via E. Romagnoli 30, 00137 Rome, Italie tél. : (39 06) 36 86 88 77, fax : (39 06) 82 76 481 parascandolo@rai.it ventes à l’étranger : Rai Trade via Umberto Novaro, 18 00135 Rome, Italie tél. : (3906) 374981 fax : (3906) 3723492 info@raitrade.it www.raitrade.rai.it