You are here: Home » 2002 » Once upon a Time in the Midlands

51st Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

Once upon a Time in the Midlands

Fortnight 2002, Feature film, 1h44

Synopsis

Dek and Shirley live together with 12 year-old Marlene, her daughter by the sexy, delinquent Jimmy who went off into the badlands of Glasgow years ago and hasn’t been heard from since. Decent-but-dull Dek loves Shirley so much that he humiliates her by proposing without warning on national television. Like everyone else Shirley has ever met, Jimmy is watching when she turns Dek down on TV and he returns to town, determined to win her back. Shirley seems destined to succumb to Jimmy’s charms, but he hasn’t reckoned on the obstacles: their daughter Marlene, his sister Carol, her estranged husband Charlie, their sons Emerson and Lake, Carol’s daughter Donna, her boyfriend Donut. Nor could he anticipate the heroic, last-minute challenge from mild-mannered, love-sick Dek.

Director

Shane Meadows

Born in 1972, Shane Meadows attended photography courses at the Nottingham Art College and began making short films in 1994 persuading his family and friends to appear in his anarchic comedies. His touching, funny stories and knockabout social realism soon attracted the attention of critics and festival programmers. TwentyFourSeven his first feature premiered at the Venice Film Festival in 1997 where it won the Fipresci critics’ prize for Best First Feature and lots of other prestigious awards. Shane’s second feature, the critically acclaimed A Room for Romeo Brass premiered at the Toronto Film Festival and launched the acting careers of Paddy Considine and Andrew Shim.

Kathy Burke
Rhys Ifans
Ricky Tomlinson
Robert Carlyle
Shirley Henderson

Screenplay
Paul Fraser, Shane Meadows

Image
Brian Tufano

Sound
Catherine Hodgson

Editing
Peter Beston, Trevor Waite

Music
John Lunn

Set decoration
Crispian Sallis

production : Andrea Calderwood Slate Films, 3 Newburgh Street, Londres W1F 7RE, Grande-Bretagne tél. : (44 207)287 7944, fax : (44 207)287 6304 info@slatefilms.com Film Four (Grande-Bretagne) Film Council (Grande-Bretagne) Senator (Allemagne) ventes à l’étranger : Film Four International 76/78 Charlotte Street, Londres W1P 1LX, Grande-Bretagne tél. : (44 207)868 7700, fax : (44 207)868 7766 filmfourintl@channel4.co.uk presse : France / Vanessa Jerrom tél. : 33(0)1 42 97 42 47, fax : 33(0)1 42 97 40 61, portable : 33 (0)6 14 83 88 82 vanessajerrom@wanadoo.fr International / Liz Miller, McDonald & Rutter tél. : (44 207) 637 26 00, fax : (44 207) 637 36 90 liz@macdonaldrutter.com

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 2002 » Once upon a Time in the Midlands

50e édition du 9 au 19 mai 2018

Once upon a Time in the Midlands

Quinzaine 2002, Long métrage, 1h44

Synopsis

Dek and Shirley vivent avec Marlene, 12 ans, la fille de Shirley et de Jimmy, son ancien compagnon, un séduisant délinquant qui a disparu des années plus tôt sans laisser de nouvelles. Dek est sympatique mais un peu ennuyeux et maladroit : il aime tellement Shirley qu’un jour, l’humiliant publiquement, il la demande en mariage sur une chaîne de télévision nationale, proposition qu’elle décline en direct. Comme tout le monde, Jimmy était alors devant son poste et décide de revenir la reconquérir. Shirley est sur le point de succomber de nouveau aux charmes de Jimmy, mais ce dernier ne comptait pas rencontrer tant d’obstacles au nombre desquels leur fille Marlene, sa sœur Carol, son mari Charlie, leurs fils Emerson et Lake, Donna la fille de Carol et son petit ami. Et surtout, il n’aurait pu imaginer que son pire ennemi serait l’humble Dek, héros malade d’amour et prêt à tout…

Réalisateur

Shane Meadows

Né en 1972, Shane Meadows a suivi des cours de photographie à l’Université de Nottingham et commence à réaliser des courts-métrages en 1994. Ces petites comédies anarchiques, teintées de réalisme social et pleines d’humour, réalisées avec sa famille et ses amis attirent l’attention des critiques et des festivals. TwentyFourSeven, son premier long métrage, est présenté au Festival de Venise en 1997 et reçoit entre autres le prix des critiques de la FIPRESCI pour le meilleur premier film. Son second film A Room for Romeo Brass, sélectionné au festival de Toronto et remarqué par la critique, lança la carrière des acteurs Paddy Considine and Andrew Shim.

Kathy Burke
Rhys Ifans
Ricky Tomlinson
Robert Carlyle
Shirley Henderson

Scénario
Paul Fraser, Shane Meadows

Image
Brian Tufano

Son
Catherine Hodgson

Montage
Peter Beston, Trevor Waite

Musique
John Lunn

Décors
Crispian Sallis

production : Andrea Calderwood Slate Films, 3 Newburgh Street, Londres W1F 7RE, Grande-Bretagne tél. : (44 207)287 7944, fax : (44 207)287 6304 info@slatefilms.com Film Four (Grande-Bretagne) Film Council (Grande-Bretagne) Senator (Allemagne) ventes à l’étranger : Film Four International 76/78 Charlotte Street, Londres W1P 1LX, Grande-Bretagne tél. : (44 207)868 7700, fax : (44 207)868 7766 filmfourintl@channel4.co.uk presse : France / Vanessa Jerrom tél. : 33(0)1 42 97 42 47, fax : 33(0)1 42 97 40 61, portable : 33 (0)6 14 83 88 82 vanessajerrom@wanadoo.fr International / Liz Miller, McDonald & Rutter tél. : (44 207) 637 26 00, fax : (44 207) 637 36 90 liz@macdonaldrutter.com