You are here: Home » 1981 » Narcisz Es Psyche

51st Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

Narcisz Es Psyche

Fortnight 1981, Feature film,

Synopsis

The idea for this film came from a book by Sandor Weöres, a pseudo-manuscrit from the beginning of the 19th century, composed of poems and their explanations, as well as biographical notes in part signed « Psyché », i.e. Erszébet Lonyai. Taking both Nietzsche’s relationship with Lou Andreas Salomé and different episodes of our daily life as references, I tried to make this story a myth, a myth of antagonism born of our European culture, according to which men and women can only find their physical and intellectual liberty at the expense of others. And in spite of 35 years of socialism, my generation is still living in this antagonism.
In this way, « Narcisse and Psyché » is a story of present times, and even though the characters are wearing costumes from the past, the epoch they are a witness to exists outside the limits of history. Gabor BODY

Director

Gabor Body

BÓDY’s films were made in a country and at a time when in Hungary as well as in the other countries under communist domination, all cinema matters were subjected to a strict control by party officials. Cinema was considered an art for the masses which should exercise a political influence and therefore was put under severe regulations; so that experimental or subversive films had almost no chance to be made at all. Short and experimental films, later also full length feature films could be made in an atmosphere of relative liberty in The “Studio Bela Balazs”. It was a meeting place for the most gifted authors and directors of Hungarian cinema. BÓDY Gábor joined the studio as early as 1971, in 1973 he established, inside the studio, the “experimental film group K3” as a platform for true experiments. In the 80s, a widespread interest for BÓDY Gábor’s work arose, following the repercussions around his second feature film “Narcissus and Psyche” (80) which spread particularly in the movement of independent and avant-garde cinema. But also through his many other activities, his lectures, video works, installations and tours BÓDY Gábor became a universal source of inspiration and ideas among filmmakers and film lovers.He was just 39 years old when he died in 1985.

Title in Original Version : Narcisse Et Psyché

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 1981 » Narcisz Es Psyche

51e édition du 15 au 25 mai 2019

Narcisz Es Psyche

Quinzaine 1981, Long métrage,

Synopsis

Le point de départ du film est une livre de Sandor Weöres, un pseudo-manuscrit du début du XIXè siècle, composé de poèmes et d’explications s’y rapportant, ainsi que de notes biographiques en partie signées « Psyché », autrement dit Erszébet Lonyai.
Prenant pour références les relations de Nietzsche avec Lou Andreas Salomé et divers épisodes de notre vie quotidienne, je me sui efforcé de faire de cette histoire un mythe, mythe d’un antagonisme issu de notre culture européenne, selon lequel hommes et femmes ne trouvent leur liberté physique et intellectuelle qu’aux dépens les uns des autres. Et malgré 35 ans de socialisme, ma génération vit toujours dans cet antagonisme. Dans cet ordre d’idées, « Narcisse et Psyché » est une histoire d’aujourd’hui, et si les personnages portent des costumes d’autrefois, l’époque dont ils témoignent se situe par-délà les limites de l’histoire. Gabor BODY

Réalisateur

Gabor Body

Les films de Body renvoient à la période où la Hongrie était sous domination communiste et où tout ce qui touchait au cinéma était soumis à un contrôle strict des autorités. Le cinéma était considéré comme un art pouvant exercer une influence sur les masses et de ce fait il obéissait à des règles sévères. Par conséquent les films expérimentaux ou subversifs n’avaient aucune chance d’exister. Body rejoignit dès 1971 le Studio Bela Balazs qui offrait une relative liberté aux court-métrages et films expérimentaux puis aux long-métrages. C’était un lieu de rencontre pour les auteurs et réalisateurs le splus talentueux du cinéma hongrois. Body installa au studio le groupe K3 pour le cinéma expérimental, une plateforme pour de vraies expérimentations. Dans les années 80, Body suscita une vague d’intérêt suite au film Narcisse et Psychée qui se propagea dans le cinéma indépendant et le mouvement avant-gardiste. Body devint une source universelle d’inspiration et d’idées pour les cinéastes et cinéphiles à travers ses nombreuses activités annexes, ses conférences, ses travaux vidéo, ses installations et ses tournées. Il mourut à l’âge de 39 ans en 1985.

Titre VO : Narcisse Et Psyché