You are here: Home » 1997 » My Son The Fanatic

52nd edition from May 13 to 23, 2020

My Son The Fanatic

Fortnight 1997, Feature film, 1 h 37

Synopsis

Parvez, a taxi driver in Bradford, is hard-working, modest and sensible. A fervent Anglophile, he loves everything about his adopted country – beginning with Bettina, a young prostitute who is one of his regular clients. Though some members of his community have made huge fortunes in the restaurant business. Parvez has to work long hours for meager pay. The hard life weighs on him and his wife, Minoo, who can no longer stand England. It affects their son Farid even more seriously – he is a troubled teenager on the verge of becoming a religious fanatic. Ranting against the “infidels” and Western hedonism, Farid starts by selling his personal belongings, then breaks off with his white fiancée and tricks his father into putting up a Pakistani fundamentalist, who quickly wins Minoo over the cause. Parvez, increasingly isolated and misunderstood, turns to the welcome arms of Bettina, and soon falls in love with her….

Director

Udayan Prasad

He is an Indian. He’s been living in Great Britain since he was 9. My Son the Fanatic is his second feature film. He started in 1996 with Brothers in trouble. He studied arts in Leeds and entered the National Film and Television School. He made documentaries. Corner of a foreign field deal with Pakistani imigrants; This England: A view from the terrace and Invisible Ink is about Idian authors and their relationship to British culture. He made Brothers in trouble after he read Adbullah Hussein’s novel The return journey. He directed many films for TV and was recently preparing Lost in a Mirror based on Adrian Mitchell’s screenplay.

Abar Kurtha
Gopi Desai
Harish Patel
Om Puri
Rachel Griffiths
Stellan Skarsgard

Screenplay
Hanif Kureishi

Image
Alan Almond

Sound
Albert Bailey

Editing
David Gamble

Music
Stephen Warbeck

Set decoration
Grenville Horner

PRODUCTION : Zephyr Films Ltd 24 Corville Road, London 617 9SD Tél. : (44-171) 221 8318 Fax : (44-171) 221 9289 VENTE A L’ETRANGER : UGC DA International 6, bd de la République, 92514 Boulogne Billancourt Cedex Tél. : 01 46 10 12 00 Fax : 01 46 10 12 20

Title in Original Version : Mon fils le fanatique

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 1997 » My Son The Fanatic

51e édition du 15 au 25 mai 2019

My Son The Fanatic

Quinzaine 1997, Long métrage, 1 h 37

Synopsis

Parvez, chauffeur de taxi à Bradford, est un homme de bon sens, modeste et travailleur. Fervent anglophile, il aime tout de sa patrie d’adoption – à commencer par Bettina, une jeune prostituée qui compte parmi ses clients réguliers. Alors que certains membres de sa communauté ont amassé des fortunes colossales dans la restauration, Parvez est contraint de travailler de longues heures pour un salaire de misère. Cette vie austère lui pèse, ainsi qu’à sa femme, Minoo, qui ne supporte plus l’Angleterre. Elle affecte encore plus gravement leur fils Farid, adolescent tourmenté qui est sur le point de verser dans l’intégrisme pur et dur. Devenu l’adversaire déclaré des “infidèles” et de l’hédonisme occidental, Farid commence par revendre ses biens, puis rompt avec sa fiancée blanche et persuade par la ruse son père d’héberger un intégriste pakistanais, qui gagne rapidement Minoo à sa cause. Parvez, de plus en plus isolé et incompris, se tourne vers l’accueillante Bettina, dont il ne tarde pas à tomber amoureux…

Réalisateur

Udayan Prasad

My Son the Fanatic est le deuxième long métrage d’Udayan Prasad, découvert en 1996 avec Brothers in Trouble, qu’interprétait déjà Om Puri. D’origine indienne, Prasad vit en Angleterre depuis l’âge de 9 ans. Après avoir reçu une formation artistique à Leeds, il entre à la National Film and Television School, puis réalise plusieurs documentaires – Corner of a Foreign Field qui évoque la vie des émigrés pakistanais, This England : A View From the Terrace et Invisble Ink, sur les écrivains indiens et leur rapport à la culture anglaise. C’est en préparant ce film qu’il découvre l’oeuvre d’Abdullah Hussein et son roman The Return Journey, dont il tirera Brothers in Trouble. Udayan Prasad a réalisé de nombreux téléfilms et prépare actuellement un long métrage intitulé Lost in a Mirror, d’après un scénario d’Adrian Mitchell.

Abar Kurtha
Gopi Desai
Harish Patel
Om Puri
Rachel Griffiths
Stellan Skarsgard

Scénario
Hanif Kureishi

Image
Alan Almond

Son
Albert Bailey

Montage
David Gamble

Musique
Stephen Warbeck

Décors
Grenville Horner

PRODUCTION : Zephyr Films Ltd 24 Corville Road, London 617 9SD Tél. : (44-171) 221 8318 Fax : (44-171) 221 9289 VENTE A L’ETRANGER : UGC DA International 6, bd de la République, 92514 Boulogne Billancourt Cedex Tél. : 01 46 10 12 00 Fax : 01 46 10 12 20

Titre VO : Mon fils le fanatique