You are here: Home » 2002 » Matir Moina

51st Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

Matir Moina

Fortnight 2002, Feature film, 1h34

Synopsis

Against the trouble political backdrop of the late 60s, Anu, a shy youth from rural eastern Pakistan (now Bangladesh), is sent by his orthodox muslim father to a Madrasah. Here, Anu struggles to adapt to the harshness of monastic life, far from the warmth of the Hindu festivities of his region. The gulf of misunderstanding which widens between his parents, who have stayed in the village, is a reflection of the growing tensions between moderate and extremist forces within the Madrasah and the political upheavals gripping the country and which will lead to civil war…

Director

Tareque Masud

Born in Bengal in 1957, Tareque Masud received a degree in history at the University of Dacca in 1981. From 1977 to 1982, he was involved in making socially-committed films and experimental shorts. Cofounder of an alternative filmmakers’ forum, he became the center of new cinema in Bangladesh. In 1988, he coordinated the International Short Film Festival of Dacca before moving to New York where he and his wife directed a documentary on the liberation of Bangladesh. In 1995, he moved back to Dacca where he now continues his filmmaking career.

Jayanto Chattopadhyay
Nurul Islam Bablu
Rokeya Prachy
Russell Farazi

Screenplay
Catherine et Tareque Masud

Image
Sudheer Palsane

Sound
Indrajit Neogi

Editing
Catherine Masud

Music
Moushumi Bhowmik

Set decoration
Kazi Rakib, Sylvain Nahmias

production : Marin Karmitz MK2, 55 rue Traversière, 75012 Paris, France tél. : 33 (0)1 44 67 30 00, fax : 33 (0)1 43 41 32 30 mk2@mk2.com Audiovision (Bangladesh) ventes à l’étranger : MK2 Olivier-René Veillon / Florence Stern tél. : 33 (0)1 44 67 30 55, fax : 33 (0)1 43 41 32 30 distribution : MK2 presse : MK2 / Monica Donati tél. : 33 (0)1 43 07 55 22, fax : 33 (0)1 43 07 17 97, portable : 33 (0)6 85 52 72 97 mdonati@mk2.com

Title in Original Version : L’Oiseau d’argile

Awards

Prix FIPRESCI

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 2002 » Matir Moina

50e édition du 9 au 19 mai 2018

Matir Moina

Quinzaine 2002, Long métrage, 1h34

Synopsis

Dans le contexte politique troublé de la fin des années 60, Anu, un garçon timide de l’Est rural du Pakistan (l’actuel Bangladesh), est envoyé par son père, musulman orthodoxe, dans une madrasa (une école coranique). Là-bas, Anu lutte pour s’adapter à la rudesse de la vie monastique, loin de la chaleur des festivités hindoues de sa région. L’abîme d’incompréhension qui se creuse entre ses parents, restés au village, est à l’image du conflit grandissant entre les forces modérées et les extrémistes à l’intérieur de la madrasa et du bouleversement politique qui saisit le pays, et qui aboutira à la guerre civile…

Réalisateur

Tareque Masud

Né en 1957 au Bengale, Tareque Masud obtient un diplôme d’histoire à l’université de Dacca en 1981. De 1977 à 1982 il s’implique activement dans la réalisation de films socialement engagés et participe à plusieurs court-métrages expérimentaux. Co-fondateur d’un forum pour réalisateurs alternatifs, il devient le pivot du nouveau cinéma au Bangladesh. En 1988, il coordonne l’International Short Film Festival de Dacca avant de s’installer à New-York où il réalise avec sa femme un documentaire sur la libération du Bangladesh. En 1995, il revient s’installer à Dacca où il poursuit sa carrière cinématographique.

Jayanto Chattopadhyay
Nurul Islam Bablu
Rokeya Prachy
Russell Farazi

Scénario
Catherine et Tareque Masud

Image
Sudheer Palsane

Son
Indrajit Neogi

Montage
Catherine Masud

Musique
Moushumi Bhowmik

Décors
Kazi Rakib, Sylvain Nahmias

production : Marin Karmitz MK2, 55 rue Traversière, 75012 Paris, France tél. : 33 (0)1 44 67 30 00, fax : 33 (0)1 43 41 32 30 mk2@mk2.com Audiovision (Bangladesh) ventes à l’étranger : MK2 Olivier-René Veillon / Florence Stern tél. : 33 (0)1 44 67 30 55, fax : 33 (0)1 43 41 32 30 distribution : MK2 presse : MK2 / Monica Donati tél. : 33 (0)1 43 07 55 22, fax : 33 (0)1 43 07 17 97, portable : 33 (0)6 85 52 72 97 mdonati@mk2.com

Titre VO : L’Oiseau d’argile

Récompenses

Prix FIPRESCI