You are here: Home » 1974 » Manifest

50th Directors’ Fortnight May 9-19, 2018

Manifest

Fortnight 1974, Feature film, 1h15

Synopsis

In « Manifest », I want to show how an average citizen protesting against a fascist regime is compelled to go underground, without being able to avoid the dictatorship constant manipulation, and how he fails to accomplish his mission and eventually dies because of his lack of political training.
« Manifest » scrupulously avoids all the superficial tricks of the thriller genre, as well as violence and torture, to denounce the mean intelligence of an authoritarian power that masterly uses manipulation.
In the meantime, the film is conceived as a call for a new political conscience, and seeks an answer to how an underground revolution against a dictatorship can succeed, when the regime is smart enough to use emotion as a tell tale sign for rebellion.
Antonis Lepeniotis

Director

Antonis Lepeniotis

Born in Greece in 1932, he moves to Austria in 1957. He works in theaters as set designer and actor. After being Elia Kazan’s assistant, he directs documentaries and experimental films for television, such as « Melina Mercouri », « Mikis Theodorakis », and « Mykonos ». His feature « The Net » (1968) was detroyed in Czechoslovakia ; « Alkeste » (1970) was shown at the Paris Unesco film archive, and in New York for the opening of the Metropolitan Museum film archive.

Brigitte Antonius
Dieter Schrage
Gérald Florian
Günther Hauser
Nora Gray
Peter Garell
Ulrich Schlulenburg

Screenplay
Gotthard Böhm, Dieter Schrage, Wilhem Diem

Image
Mazur Mahdavi

Production : CINECOOP FILM

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 1974 » Manifest

52e édition du 13 au 23 mai 2020

Manifest

Quinzaine 1974, Long métrage, 1h15

Synopsis

Dans « Manifest » je veux montrer à la fois comment un simple citoyen qui proteste contre un régime fasciste est conduit à prendre le maquis, sans pouvoir échapper à la manipulation continuelle exercée par la dictature et comment il n’arrive pas à accomplir sa mission et périt finalement par manque de formation politique.
« Manifest » évite consciencieusement tous les effets superficiels du thriller, des brutalités et des tortures, et se contente de dénoncer la méchante intelligence d’un pouvoir autoritaire qui joue magistralement sur tous les registres de la manipulation.
En même temps, le film veut être conçu comme un appel à une nouvelle conscience politique, et demande une réponse à la question de savoir de quelle façon on peut mener avec succès une révolution clandestine contre une dictature qui est assez habile pour utiliser l’émotion comme moyen de dévoiler toute insurrection.
Antonis Lepeniotis

Réalisateur

Antonis Lepeniotis

Né en Grèce, il s’installe en Autriche en 1957. Il travaille dans différents théâtres comme acteur et décorateur. Après avoir été l’assistant d’Elia Kazan, il réalise des films documentaires et expérimentaux pour la télévision comme “Melina Mercouri”, “Mikis Theodorakis” (primé à plusieurs reprises), et “Mykonos” d’après un rapport de Le Corbusier. Son film “The Net” (1968) fut détruit en Tchécoslovaquie ; “Alkeste” (1970) fut montré à la Cinémathèque de l’Unesco à Paris et à New York pour l’ouverture de la Cinémathèque du Metropolitan Museum.

Brigitte Antonius
Dieter Schrage
Gérald Florian
Günther Hauser
Nora Gray
Peter Garell
Ulrich Schlulenburg

Scénario
Gotthard Böhm, Dieter Schrage, Wilhem Diem

Image
Mazur Mahdavi

Production : CINECOOP FILM