You are here: Home » 1999 » M/other

51st Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

M/other

Fortnight 1999, Feature film, 2h27

Synopsis

A man and a woman live together in present-day Tokyo, where many couples are carving out lifestyles outside traditional family roles. When the man’s son by a previous marriage arrives unexpectedly to stay a month with the couple, a kind of mock family life begins. M/other was made without a script. After detailed discussions, the cast and crew worked like a group of jazz musicians, improvising under the filmmaker’s direction.

Director

Nobuhiro Suwa

Nobuhiro Suwa was born in Hiroshima in1960. He has made documentaries and fiction films. M/Other, shown in the 1999 Quinzaine des Réalisateurs ( Prix FIPRESCI ), put him in the limelight. He received the Special Jury Prize and the CICAE Prize at Locarno in 2005 for Un couple parfait starring Valéria Bruni-Tedeschi and Bruno Todeschini. Nobuhiro Suwa is currently president of Tokyo Zokei University.

Makiko Watanabe
Ryudai Takahashi
Tomokazu Miura

Screenplay
Nobuhiro Suwa, Tomokazu Miura, Makiko Watanabe

Image
Masami Inomoto

Sound
Nobuyuki Kikuchi

Editing
Shuichi Kakesu

Music
Haruyuki Suzuki

Set decoration
China Hayashi

production : Takenori Sento, Wowow & Bandai Visual, 1-5-8 Motoakasaka, Minato-ku, Tokyo 107-8080, Japon, Tél. : (81 3) 5414 8175, Fax : (81 3) 5414 8182 En association avec Bitters End & Suncent CinemaWorks Vente à l’étranger : Fortissimo Film Sales, Herenmarkt 10-2, 1013 ED Amsterdam, Pays Bas, Tél. : (31 20) 627 3215, Fax : (31 20) 626 1155, email : ffsales@globalxs.nl

Awards

Prix FIPRESCI sections parallèles

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 1999 » M/other

51e édition du 15 au 25 mai 2019

M/other

Quinzaine 1999, Long métrage, 2h27

Synopsis

Un homme et une femme vivent ensemble, dans le Tokyo d’aujourd’hui où de nombreux couples adoptent un mode de vie s’éloignant des rôles familiaux traditionnels. Quand le fils d’un premier mariage de l’homme arrive de façon inattendue pour vivre pendant un mois avec le couple, un semblant de vie de famille commence. M/other a été réalisé sans script. Après en avoir discuté les détails, interprètes et équipe technique ont travaillé comme un groupe de musiciens de jazz, le réalisateur en dirigeant les improvisations.

Réalisateur

Nobuhiro Suwa

Nobuhiro Suwa est né à Hiroshima (Japon) en 1960. Il réalise des documentaires puis des fictions. Son film M/Other présenté à La Quinzaine des Réalisateurs en 1999 (Prix FIPRESCI) le fait connaître. Il remporte le Prix Spécial du Jury et le prix CICAE à Locarno en 2005 pour Un couple parfait avec Valéria Bruni-Tedeschi et Bruno Todeschini. Nobuhiro Suwa est actuellement recteur de l’université de Tokyo Zokei.

Makiko Watanabe
Ryudai Takahashi
Tomokazu Miura

Scénario
Nobuhiro Suwa, Tomokazu Miura, Makiko Watanabe

Image
Masami Inomoto

Son
Nobuyuki Kikuchi

Montage
Shuichi Kakesu

Musique
Haruyuki Suzuki

Décors
China Hayashi

production : Takenori Sento, Wowow & Bandai Visual, 1-5-8 Motoakasaka, Minato-ku, Tokyo 107-8080, Japon, Tél. : (81 3) 5414 8175, Fax : (81 3) 5414 8182 En association avec Bitters End & Suncent CinemaWorks Vente à l’étranger : Fortissimo Film Sales, Herenmarkt 10-2, 1013 ED Amsterdam, Pays Bas, Tél. : (31 20) 627 3215, Fax : (31 20) 626 1155, email : ffsales@globalxs.nl

Récompenses

Prix FIPRESCI sections parallèles