You are here: Home » 1996 » Lone Star

51st Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

Lone Star

Fortnight 1996, Feature film, 2 h 17

Synopsis

“Lone Star” is the story of a sherif in a Texas border county trying to unravel the mystery of a murder commited 37 years ago, with his own father as the prime suspect. The film deals with the unique charcter and history of the border, with its burden of often bloody history. Sam is a man ambiguous about his search for the killer of a notorious rednack sheriff who made life hell for the residents of Frontera, Texas, in the 50’s. Charley Wade, the shoot-first lawman murdered decades ago. Sam’s search takes him to both sides of the Rio Grande and into the various communities that make up Frontera – Mexican-American, Anglo, African-American, and he ends up finding more than he bargained for…

Director

John Sayles

He was born in schenectady, near New York. After studying at William College in Massachusetts, he had jobs, started writing short stories and novels. He became a famous screenwriter. He wrote screenplays of Piranha and The Howling, of Joe Dante, Lady in Red and Alligator of Lewis Teague for Roger Corman’s production company. In 1980, he shot his first feature film, Return of the Secaucus 7; it had a great success in the USA. His second film, Lianna, was shown at the Semaine de la critique. Matewan was shown at The directors’ Fortnight. He made other feature films and also worked for TV, wrote various novels and essays. He performed in many films.

Chris Cooper
Clifton James
Elizabeth Pena
Frances McDormand
Joe Morton
Kris Kristofferson
Matthew Mc Conaughey
Miriam Colon
Ron Canada

Screenplay
John Sayles

Image
Stuart Dryburgh

Sound
Clive Winter

Editing
John Sayles

Music
Mason Daring

Set decoration
Dan Bishop

PRODUCTION : Rio Dulce Inc. 225 lafayette St., N° 1109, NY 10012 New York Tél. : (1-212) 219 0360 Fax : (1-212) 219 0645 VENTE A L’ETRANGER : Castle Rock Entertainment 335 North Maple Drive, Suite 135, Beverly Hills, CA 90210 Tél. : (1-310) 285 2300 Fax : (1-310) 285 2345

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 1996 » Lone Star

51e édition du 15 au 25 mai 2019

Lone Star

Quinzaine 1996, Long métrage, 2 h 17

Synopsis

“Lone Star” est l’histoire de Sam, shérif du comté d’une ville frontalière du Texas, qui tente d’élucider le mystère du meurtre commis trente-sept ans auparavant, et dont son propre père est le suspect numéro un. Le film s’articule autour de ce lieu singulier qu’est la frontière du Mexique et du poids de son histoire remplie d’épisodes sanglants. Les motivations de Sam pour retrouver le meurtrier du shérif Charley Wade – une ordure notoire à la gâchette facile, qui rendit la vie infernale aux habitants de Frontera, Texas, dans les années 50 – restent mystérieuses. Son nequête l’entraîne des deux côtés du Rio Grande et au coeur des différentes communautés qui ont façonné la ville de Frontera : Mexicains-Américains, Anglo et Afro-Américains. ses découvertes le méneront bien au-delà de ce à quoi il s’attendait…

Réalisateur

John Sayles

Né à Schenectady, dans les environs de New York. Après des études au Williams College dans le Massachusetts, il exerce de petits métiers, commence à écrire des nouvelles et des romans, puis devient rapidement un scénariste à succès, signant entre autres les scripts de Piranha et de The Howling de Joe Dante, de Lady in Red et d’Alligator de Lewis Teague, pour la société de production de Roger Corman. En 1980, il tourne son premier long métrage, Return of the Secaucus 7, film à petit budget qui obtient un grand succés aux Etats-Unis. Son second film, Lianna, est présenté à la Semaine de la Critique. Suivront notamment Matewan, présenté à la Quinzaine des Réalisateurs en 1987, City of Hope et Passion Fish. Il a également travaillé pour la télévision (il est à l’origine de la série Shannon’s Deal), a publié plusieurs romans (dont Los Gusanos en 1991) et essais, et est apparu dans de nombreux films en tant qu’acteur.

Chris Cooper
Clifton James
Elizabeth Pena
Frances McDormand
Joe Morton
Kris Kristofferson
Matthew Mc Conaughey
Miriam Colon
Ron Canada

Scénario
John Sayles

Image
Stuart Dryburgh

Son
Clive Winter

Montage
John Sayles

Musique
Mason Daring

Décors
Dan Bishop

PRODUCTION : Rio Dulce Inc. 225 lafayette St., N° 1109, NY 10012 New York Tél. : (1-212) 219 0360 Fax : (1-212) 219 0645 VENTE A L’ETRANGER : Castle Rock Entertainment 335 North Maple Drive, Suite 135, Beverly Hills, CA 90210 Tél. : (1-310) 285 2300 Fax : (1-310) 285 2345