You are here: Home » 2002 » L’Imbalsamatore

51st Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

L’Imbalsamatore

Fortnight 2002, Feature film, 1h41

Synopsis

A man too small, a boy too tall, a girl with her mouth made over, all meet by chance. An encounter that seems fated to have no story but, as fate would have it, it becomes the tormented chronicle of denied love. Peppino, the man too small, is a taxidermist. Valerio, the boy too tall, is a waiter. Deborah is one who continually changes jobs… all have different dreams, secret drives: they are three castaways trying to cling to the certainty of a love that can justify the common ills of living and make them normal.

Director

Matteo Garrone

Marreo Garrone was born in Rome in 1968 and graduated from art school. He worked as an assistant cameraman for two years before turning to painting. In 1996, he won Nanni Moretti’s Golden Sacher Award for his short, Silhouette. In 1997, he set up his own production house, Archimede, and made the sketch film, Terra di mezzo (which begins with his short Silhouette). After Ospiti in 1998, then Estate Romane in 2000, both of which won praise in international festivals, he directed his fourth feature, L’Imbalsamatore.

Elisabetta Rocchetti
Ernesto Mahieux
Lina Bernardi
Pietro Biondi
Valerio Foglia Manzillo

Screenplay
Ugo Chiti, Matteo Garrone, Massimo Gaudioso

Image
Marco Onorato

Sound
Maricetta Lombardo

Editing
Marco Spoletini

Music
Banda Osiris

Set decoration
Paolo Bonfini

production : Domenico Procacci Fandango, via Ajaccio 20, 00198 Rome, Italie tél. : (39 06) 8535 4026, fax : (39 06) 8535 3790 fandango@fandango.it, www.fandango.it ventes à l’étranger : IntraMovies, via Eustachio Manfredi 15, 00199 Rome, Italie tél. : (39 06) 807 7252, fax : (39 06) 807 6156 sales@intramovies.com presse : France – Le Public Système / Bruno Barde / Sophie Bataille Tél. : 33 (0)1 41 34 20 32, Fax : 33 (0)1 41 34 20 77 sbataille@le-public-systeme.fr International – Le Public Système / Stéphanie Azerad / Sophie Bataille Tél. : 33 (0)1 41 34 20 32, Fax : 33 (0)1 41 34 20 77 sbataille@le-public-systeme.fr

Title in Original Version : L’Empailleur

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 2002 » L’Imbalsamatore

50e édition du 9 au 19 mai 2018

L’Imbalsamatore

Quinzaine 2002, Long métrage, 1h41

Synopsis

Un homme trop petit, un jeune homme trop grand, une jeune fille à la bouche refaite, se rencontrent par hasard : une rencontre qui devrait n’avoir aucune suite et qui devient, fatalement, la chronique tourmentée d’un amour nié. Peppino, l’homme trop petit, est un empailleur. Valerio, le jeune homme trop grand, est un serveur. Deborah, elle, change tout le temps de métier… Ils ont des rêves différents, des pulsions secrètes : ce sont trois naufragés qui tentent de s’accrocher à la certitude d’un amour capable de normaliser et de justifier leur mal de vivre commun…

Réalisateur

Matteo Garrone

Né en 1968 à Rome, Marreo Garrone est diplômé d’une école d’art. Il travaille pendant deux ans comme assistant caméraman, puis se consacre à la peinture. En 1996, il gagne le Golden Sacher Award décerné par Nanni Moretti pour son court-métrage Silhouette. En 1997, il crée sa propre maison de production, Archimède, et réalise Terra di mezzo (film à sketches dont le premier est son court-métrage Silhouette). Après Ospiti en 1998, puis Estate Romane en 2000, présentés avec succès dans les festivals internationaux, il réalise son 4e long métrage, L’Imbalsamatore.

Elisabetta Rocchetti
Ernesto Mahieux
Lina Bernardi
Pietro Biondi
Valerio Foglia Manzillo

Scénario
Ugo Chiti, Matteo Garrone, Massimo Gaudioso

Image
Marco Onorato

Son
Maricetta Lombardo

Montage
Marco Spoletini

Musique
Banda Osiris

Décors
Paolo Bonfini

production : Domenico Procacci Fandango, via Ajaccio 20, 00198 Rome, Italie tél. : (39 06) 8535 4026, fax : (39 06) 8535 3790 fandango@fandango.it, www.fandango.it ventes à l’étranger : IntraMovies, via Eustachio Manfredi 15, 00199 Rome, Italie tél. : (39 06) 807 7252, fax : (39 06) 807 6156 sales@intramovies.com presse : France – Le Public Système / Bruno Barde / Sophie Bataille Tél. : 33 (0)1 41 34 20 32, Fax : 33 (0)1 41 34 20 77 sbataille@le-public-systeme.fr International – Le Public Système / Stéphanie Azerad / Sophie Bataille Tél. : 33 (0)1 41 34 20 32, Fax : 33 (0)1 41 34 20 77 sbataille@le-public-systeme.fr

Titre VO : L’Empailleur