You are here: Home » 1974 » L’Extradition

52nd edition from May 13 to 23, 2020

L’Extradition

Fortnight 1974, Feature film, 1h30

Synopsis

According to me, a film exists through its amosphere, its inner pressure. It’s as important to the director as it is to the audience. I tried to find my own style in the rythm of movements, in the language, light, shadow, black and white of images and in the apparent distance and the external form’s simplicity.
But I didn’t make an historical film : it’s not interesting to me. What I want is to show how historical facts affect our present behaviour.
Sergeï Nïetschaïev, the Russian revolutionary, made the Swiss government act in its very typical way and unmask itself. The Swiss government extradited this man to the Tzarist government against a commercial agreement. I profoundly dislike this kind of opportunism.
Sergeï remains an ambiguous character : he’s both likable and unpleasant, he’s neither a hero nor a anti hero. It’s hard to empathize with him and that is what I found interesting. He was a convinced doctrinaire who, with tenacity and an extremely strong will, wanted to trigger revolution by force, until he completely failed.
Peter Von Gunten

Director

Peter Von Gunten

Born in Berne in 1941, he studied as a photographer and advertising artist until 1963 when he started a graphic arts and photography studio. He then worked as an independant director from 1969.

Anne Wiazemsky
Roger Jendly

Screenplay
Peter Von Gunten

Image
Fritz E. Maeder

Production : CINOV S.A.

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 1974 » L’Extradition

51e édition du 15 au 25 mai 2019

L’Extradition

Quinzaine 1974, Long métrage, 1h30

Synopsis

Pour moi un film existe par son climat, sa tension intérieure. C’est aussi important pour le metteur en scène que pour le public. J’ai essayé de trouver mon style dans le rythme des mouvements, le langage, la lumière, l’ombre, le noir et blanc des images et dans la distance apparente et la sobriété de la forme extérieure.
Mais je n’ai « ement fait un film historique. Le film historique en costumes ne m’intéresse pas. Ce que je veux c’est partir du temps présent et montrer à quel point les faits historiques influent sur notre comportement actuel.
Sergeï Nïetschaïev, ce révolutionnaire Russe, a retenu mon intérêt parce qu’il a obligé le gouvernement Suisse à agir d’une manière typique et à se démasquer. Le gouvernement Suisse a extradé un révolutionnaire au profit du gouvernement Tzariste et ce contre un contrat commercial. Je n’aime pas cet opportunisme.
Sergeï reste un personnage ambigu. Il est à la fois sympathique et antipathique. Ce n’est ni un héros ni un anti-héros. Il est difficile de s’identifier à lui et c’est ce qui m’a intéressé. Lui c’était un doctrinaire convaincu qui, avec ténacité et une volonté extrême, voulait provoquer la révolution par la force, ceci jusqu’à son échec complet.
Peter Von Gunten

Réalisateur

Peter Von Gunten

Né en 1941 à Berne, il suit une formation de photographe et d’artiste publicitaire avant d’ouvrir en 1963 un atelier pour les arts graphiques et la photographie. Il travaille ensuite comme réalisateur indépendant à partir de 1969.

Anne Wiazemsky
Roger Jendly

Scénario
Peter Von Gunten

Image
Fritz E. Maeder

Production : CINOV S.A.