You are here: Home » 1996 » Les Mille et une recettes du cuisinier amoureux

51st Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

Les Mille et une recettes du cuisinier amoureux

Fortnight 1996, Feature film, 1 h 40

Synopsis

Paris, 1995. While he prepares an exhibition of the Georgian painter Pirsomani in Paris, Anton Gogoladze meets an old lady with sparkling eyes. She shows him an manuscript, seeminling written in the early century by Anton’s mother, the beautiful Georgian princess Cecilia Abachidze. The notes recall the stormy, eccentric and passionate story of a French  » traveling cook « , Pascal Ichac, a colorful character, fond of big thrills and always on the road… Tbilissi, 1920. In the prime of life, the traveling cook meets Cecilia, who leaves her home and family to love him freely. The couple travels through Georgia, in search of unknown flavors and Georgian dishes simmered in big pots. On a premiere night at the Tbilissi Opera, thanks to this exceptional sense of smell, he smells the powder from a bomb placed under the Georgian president’s seat, and saves him from death. As a reward, Pscal can now make his dream come true : he opens his own restaurant,  » The New Eldorado  » in Tbilissi. Soon, international recognition comes from the most famous gourmets of this beginning of century, Winston Churchill, Chaliapin… In April 1921 , history catches up with our hero : The Red Army enters Tbilissi…

Director

Nana Djordjadze

She was an architect and designer in the Academy of Arts of Tbilissi. She was a director and an actress. She also was a teacher in the Kino Institute of Moscou. She often wrote the screenplays of her films and was the scenic designer. She won the Golden Camera in 1987 for Robinsonade.

Jean-Yves Gautier
Micheline Presle
Nino Kirtadze
Pierre Richard
Temour Kamkhadze

Screenplay
Irakli Kvirikadzeadaptation : André Grall

Image
Guiorgui Beridze

Sound
Claude Bertrand, François de Morant

Editing
Vessela Martschewski, Irakli Kvirikadze

Music
Goran Bregovic

Set decoration
Temour Chmaladze

PRODUCTION : Les Films du Rivage 9, Cité des Trois Bornes, 75011 Paris Tél. : 01 47 00 46 26 Fax : 01 47 00 23 38 La Sept Cinéma Studio Adam et Eve Studio Babelsberg (Allemagne) C.M.C. (Belgique) VENTE A L’ETRANGER : UGC DA 24, avenue Charles de Gaulle, 92200 Neuilly-sur-Seine Tél. : 01 46 40 45 17 Fax 01 46 37 76 07

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 1996 » Les Mille et une recettes du cuisinier amoureux

51e édition du 15 au 25 mai 2019

Les Mille et une recettes du cuisinier amoureux

Quinzaine 1996, Long métrage, 1 h 40

Synopsis

Paris 1995. Alors qu’il prépare une exposition du peintre géorgien Pirosmani à Paris, Anton y rencontre une vieille dame à l’œil pétillant. Elle lui montre un vieux manuscrit, écrit semble-t-il au début du siècle par la mère d’Anton, la belle princesse géorgienne Cécilia Abachidze. Les notes retracent, par épisode, l’histoire excentrique et amoureuse d’un  » cuisinier-voyageur  » français, Pascal Ichac, personnage haut en couleur, amateur de sensations fortes et éternel voyageur… Tbilissi 1920. Dans la force de l’âge, le cuisinier-voyageur rencontre Cécilia qui abandonne maison et famille pour l’aimer librement. Le couple sillonne la Géorgie, à la recherche de saveurs inconnues, de mets géorgiens mijotés dans de grandes marmites. Lors d’une première à l’Opéra de Tbilissi, grâce à son odorat exceptionnel, il sent l’odeur de la poudre d’une bombe placée sous le fauteuil du Président géorgien et le sauve d’une mort certaine. En récompense, Pascal peut réaliser son rêve : il ouvre son restaurant,  » Le Nouvel Eldorado « , à Tbilissi. Il jouit immédiatement d’une renommée internationale auprès des gourmets les plus connus de ce début de siècle ; Winston Churchill, Chaliapine… En avril 1921, l’histoire rattrape notre héros : l’Armée Rouge entre à Tbilissi…

Réalisateur

Nana Djordjadze

1968 – 1973 : architecte et designer à l’Académie des Arts de Tbilissi. 1974 – 1980 : réalisatrice. 1979 – 1989 : actrice en Géorgie. 1991 – 1995 : enseignante au Kino Institute de Moscou. Réalisatrice, scénariste et souvent décoratrice de ses films. Obtient la Caméra d’Or en 1987 pour Robinsonade.

Jean-Yves Gautier
Micheline Presle
Nino Kirtadze
Pierre Richard
Temour Kamkhadze

Scénario
Irakli Kvirikadzeadaptation : André Grall

Image
Guiorgui Beridze

Son
Claude Bertrand, François de Morant

Montage
Vessela Martschewski, Irakli Kvirikadze

Musique
Goran Bregovic

Décors
Temour Chmaladze

PRODUCTION : Les Films du Rivage 9, Cité des Trois Bornes, 75011 Paris Tél. : 01 47 00 46 26 Fax : 01 47 00 23 38 La Sept Cinéma Studio Adam et Eve Studio Babelsberg (Allemagne) C.M.C. (Belgique) VENTE A L’ETRANGER : UGC DA 24, avenue Charles de Gaulle, 92200 Neuilly-sur-Seine Tél. : 01 46 40 45 17 Fax 01 46 37 76 07