You are here: Home » 1976 » Le Berceau De Cristal

51th Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

Le Berceau De Cristal

Fortnight 1976, Feature film, 1h20

Synopsis

I made an aesthetic work because I think that there are ugly things and still beautiful things. I like better to make images that aesthetically delight my eyes.
For me, cinema is the moment when I find myself again, I mean that when I am really lost and that my unconscious is overflowing more than it ought to be, I begin to shoot if I have a camera beside me and am again aware to exist. I shall not then do anything absurd as slitting my wrists above my sink.
I always thought that art was subjective and that objectivity in this matter is impossible – that’s what I never tried this way. One must not think that an artist is someone who will come and take the place you are waiting for, that the artist can be of any help…
Of one thing I am absolutely sure : art is useless.
Philippe GARREL

Director

Philippe Garrel

Philippe Garrel directed his first film Marie pour mémoire in 1967. Influenced by Jean-Luc Godard and the Velvet Underground, he directed Nico, the Rock icon, in the cult film La Cicatrice intérieure, in 1971. He has directed more than 25 films, which often relate to the youth of the 60’s protest, to which he belonged.

Anita Pallenberg
Dominique Sanda
Margareth Clementi
Nico

Screenplay
Philippe Garrel, Nico

Image
Philippe Garrel

Editing
Philippe Garrel

Music
Ash Ra Tempel

Production : PHILIPPE GARREL

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 1976 » Le Berceau De Cristal

52e édition du 13 au 23 mai 2020

Le Berceau De Cristal

Quinzaine 1976, Long métrage, 1h20

Synopsis

J’ai fait un travail esthétique parce que je trouve qu’il y a encore des choses belles et des choses laides – moi, je préfère faire des images qui esthétiquement flattent mon oeil.
Pour moi, le Cinéma, c’est le moment où je me retrouve, c’est à dire que lorsque que je suis réellement perdu et que l’inconscient déborde plus qu’il ne devrait, si j’ai une caméra à côté de moi et que je fais un plan, ça me redonne la conscience d’exister et je ne fais pas un geste absurde comme d’aller me trancher les veines au dessus de mon évier…
J’ai toujours pensé que l’art était subjectif et qu’on ne pouvait faire de l’art objectif – je n’ai d’ailleurs jamais tenté d’en faire. Il ne faut pas penser qu’un artiste est quelqu’un qui va venir se mettre à la place que vous attendez, que l’artiste c’est quelqu’un d’utile…
L’art est inutile, ça c’est absolument certain.
Philippe GARREL

Réalisateur

Philippe Garrel

Philippe Garrel signe en 1967 son premier long métrage Marie pour mémoire. Influencé par Jean-Luc Godard et le Velvet Underground, il dirige Nico, l’îcone rock, en 1971 dans La Cicatrice intérieure, film culte. Il réalise plus de vingt-cinq longs métrages qui reviennent souvent sur la jeunesse contestataire des années soixante à laquelle il appartient.

Anita Pallenberg
Dominique Sanda
Margareth Clementi
Nico

Scénario
Philippe Garrel, Nico

Image
Philippe Garrel

Montage
Philippe Garrel

Musique
Ash Ra Tempel

Production : PHILIPPE GARREL