You are here: Home » 2011 » La Nuit elles dansent

51th Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

La Nuit elles dansent

Fortnight 2011, Feature film, 1h20

Synopsis

At Night, They Dance is one family’s story. The film takes us into the heart of a clan of women, in which the art of belly dancing has been passed down from mother to daughter since time immemorial. Filmed in Cairo, At Night, They Dance takes an unsentimental yet lyrical look at a hidden world full of surprise and fascination. The viewer is allowed in as a privileged witness. A gritty film in which raw beauty triumphs over the harshest realities.

Directors

Isabelle Lavigne

How does our environment make us what we are? Who shapes the dreams that we think are ours? How much space is left for being yourself? Those questions underlie JUICE, Le 4125, rue Parthenais and Junior. Films about men’s worlds where only winners matter and losers are invisible, taking solace in their sincerity. After turning 30 and becoming a mother, Isabelle Lavigne turned her attention to a women’s world, making La nuit, elles dansent (At Night, They Dance). She remains as interested as ever in the intersections between social order and difference, observing a family of belly dancers who – by simply making a living – transgress against moral order. Thanks to the time she invests and the trust she builds with her subjects, Isabelle Lavigne’s films take us inside dramatically rich microcosms, which she patiently explores in great depth. The result is real-life narratives that resemble fiction.

Stéphane Thibault

After studying film at Université de Montréal, Stéphane Thibault directed two medium-length documentaries, Les loups (1995) and Ne parlez jamais avec l’inconnu (1996, Best Video Documentary, Festival Internacional de Cinema de Figueira da Foz, Portugal). In 1998, he made Le beau Jacques (Grand Prix, international competition, Festival international du documentaire de Marseille). In 2002, he directed The Righteous (Claude Jutra Award) and in 2007 Junior, a feature documentary (Best Canadian Documentary, Hotdocs, Toronto).

Amira Said Samir Sayed
Bossy Said Samir Sayed
Hind Said Samir Sayed
Reda Ibrahim Mohamed Ali

Screenplay
Isabelle Lavigne, Stéphane Thibault

Image
Stéphane Thibault

Sound
Isabelle Lavigne, Claude Beaugrand

Editing
René Roberge

Music
Benoît Charest

Production

Les Films du tricycle
9172 rue Foucher
H2M 1V8 Montréal – Canada
Tél : +1 514 382 6059
Fax : +1 514 382 2435
info@lesfilmsdutricycle.com
www.lesfilmsdutricycle.com

Ventes à l’étranger / World sales

Autlook filmsales
Trappelgasse 4/17
1040 Vienne – Autriche
Tél : +43 720 34 69 34
welcome@autlookfilms.com
www.autlookfilms.com

 

Presse internationale / International Press

Gudrun Burie
gudrun@theprfactory.com
Cell : +33 6 37 80 18 57
Marie-France Dupagne
mariefrance@theprfactory.com
Cell : +33 6  86 67 09  69
Barbara Van Lombeck
barbara@theprfactory.com
Cell : +33 6 45 07 41 54

Presse Canadienne

Judith Dubeau
cell : +1 514 983-6286
judith.dubeau@ixioncommunications.com

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 2011 » La Nuit elles dansent

51e édition du 15 au 25 mai 2019

La Nuit elles dansent

Quinzaine 2011, Long métrage, 1h20

Synopsis

La nuit, elles dansent est une chronique familiale qui plonge au cœur d’un clan de femmes où l’on se transmet le métier de danseuse de mère en filles depuis la nuit des temps. Tourné au Caire, La nuit, elles dansent dessine avec un lyrisme exempt de tout sentimentalisme un univers baroque insoupçonné et fascinant, où le spectateur pénètre tel un témoin privilégié. Un film irréductible où la beauté à l’état brut transcende la réalité la plus crue.

Réalisateurs

Isabelle Lavigne

Comment notre environnement nous construit-il? Qui a façonné ces rêves que l’on croit nôtres? Quel espace reste-t-il pour être soi? Autant de questions sous-tendent JUICE, Le 4125, rue Parthenais et Junior. Un cinéma sur des univers d’hommes où il faut être un gagnant pour exister aux yeux du monde, où les perdants, invisibles, se contentent d’être sincères. Avec la trentaine, la maternité, Isabelle Lavigne se tourne vers un monde de femmes et filme La nuit, elles dansent. Elle y garde le même intérêt pour la rencontre entre l’ordre social et la différence en s’immisçant dans une famille de danseuses orientales qui, par leur métier, transgressent l’ordre moral. Basé sur le temps et la confiance établie avec les personnages, le cinéma d’Isabelle Lavigne s’intéresse à des microcosmes dramatiquement riches qu’elle arpente patiemment, en profondeur. Ce qui lui permet de construire des récits proches de la fiction.

Stéphane Thibault

Après avoir fait des études en cinéma à l’Université de Montréal, Stéphane Thibault réalise deux moyens métrages documentaires : Les loups (1995) et Ne parlez jamais avec l’inconnu (1996, Meilleur documentaire vidéo, Festival Internacional de Cinema de Figueira da Foz, Portugal). En 1998, il signe Le beau Jacques (Grand Prix, Compétition internationale, Festival international du documentaire de Marseille). En 2002, son film Les justes remporte le Prix Claude Jutra aux Rendez-vous du Cinéma québécois. Avec Isabelle Lavigne, en 2007, il réalise Junior, un long métrage documentaire qui remporte le prix du Meilleur film canadien au festival Hotdocs à Toronto.

Amira Said Samir Sayed
Bossy Said Samir Sayed
Hind Said Samir Sayed
Reda Ibrahim Mohamed Ali

Scénario
Isabelle Lavigne, Stéphane Thibault

Image
Stéphane Thibault

Son
Isabelle Lavigne, Claude Beaugrand

Montage
René Roberge

Musique
Benoît Charest

Production

Les Films du tricycle
9172 rue Foucher
H2M 1V8 Montréal – Canada
Tél : +1 514 382 6059
Fax : +1 514 382 2435
info@lesfilmsdutricycle.com
www.lesfilmsdutricycle.com

Ventes à l’étranger / World sales

Autlook filmsales
Trappelgasse 4/17
1040 Vienne – Autriche
Tél : +43 720 34 69 34
welcome@autlookfilms.com
www.autlookfilms.com

 

Presse internationale / International Press

Gudrun Burie
gudrun@theprfactory.com
Cell : +33 6 37 80 18 57
Marie-France Dupagne
mariefrance@theprfactory.com
Cell : +33 6  86 67 09  69
Barbara Van Lombeck
barbara@theprfactory.com
Cell : +33 6 45 07 41 54

Presse Canadienne

Judith Dubeau
cell : +1 514 983-6286
judith.dubeau@ixioncommunications.com