You are here: Home » 2003 » La Grande Séduction

51st Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

La Grande Séduction

Fortnight 2003, Feature film, 1H40mn

Synopsis

The citizens of Sainte-Marie-la-Mauderne, a small port town, were once proud fishermen who today are forced to live off government allocations. Amdist the checks and social benefits, the pride of the townspeople has crumbled, giving way to gloom, inertia and despair. Germain, a simple villager, decides to take things in hand. To meet the demands of a company that is considering opening a small plant in the area, Germain must lure a doctor to their tiny god-forsaken town. A glimmer of hope appears the day a young doctor decides to spend a month at Sainte-Marie-la-Mauderne. Germain sets out to turn the little community into a dream village for this young doctor. It’s the start of the great seduction.

Director

Jean-François Pouliot

Jean-François Pouliot was born in Montreal in 1957. A graduate of Concordia University with degrees in art and communications, he made his film debut as a camera assistant and worked on such distinguished films as Sergio Leone’s Once Upon a time in America, and Tony Richardson’s « Hotel New Hampshire ». In 1998, he began to direct for the Fabrique d’image, one of Canada’s leading advertising production houses. Pouliot’s commercials have won the Silver Lion at Cannes and two Grand Prix du Mondial de la Publicité. He was named ?Director of the Year? in 1995 by the Publicité Club de Montréal.

Benoît Brière,
Bruno Blanchet
David Boutin
Pierre Collin
Raymond Bouchard
Rita Lafontaine

Screenplay
Ken Scott

Image
Allen Smith

Sound
Claude Hazanavicius

Editing
Dominique Fortin

Music
Jean-Marie Benoît

Set decoration
Daniel Hamelin

Production, Roger Frappier, Luc Vandal Max Films, 1751, rue Richardson, Suite 2.102 H3K 1G6 Montréal (Québec) Canada Tél : +1 514 282 8444 Fax : +1 514 282 9222 alex.wermester@maxfilms.ca www.maxfilms.ca Ventes à l’étranger Alexandra Wermester Max Films, 1751, rue Richardson, Suite 2.102 H3K 1G6 Montréal (Québec) Canada Tél : +1 514 282 8444 Fax : +1 514 282 9222 alex.wermester@maxfilms.ca www.maxfilms.ca Presse (France) Hélène Sitbon Hélène Sitbon Relations presse 120 Avenue des Champs Elysées 75008 Paris France Tel : +33 (0)1 45 61 24 20 Fax : +33 (0)1 56 59 66 67 Mob : +33 (0)6 84 01 50 49 helesitbon@club-internet.fr Presse (International) Chris Paton Premier Public Relations Tél : +44 207 494 34 78 Fax : +44 207 734 20 24 chris@prempr.co.uk www.premierpr.com

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 2003 » La Grande Séduction

51e édition du 15 au 25 mai 2019

La Grande Séduction

Quinzaine 2003, Long métrage, 1H40mn

Synopsis

A Sainte-Marie-La-Mauderne, un petit village portuaire, les habitants, autrefois de fiers pêcheurs, sont maintenant contraints à vivre aux crochets des allocations gouvernementales. Au fil des chèques de prestations sociales, la fierté des villageois s’effrite laissant place à la morosité, la torpeur et le désespoir. Germain, un simple villageois, décide de prendre les choses en main. Dans l’espoir de répondre aux exigences d’une entreprise qui cherche à implanter une petite usine, Germain doit attirer un médecin dans leur minuscule patelin. Une lueur d’espoir naît le jour où un jeune médecin est assujetti à séjourner un mois à Sainte-Marie-La-Mauderne. Germain entreprend de transformer leur petite localité en village de rêve pour ce jeune médecin. C’est le début de la grande séduction.

Réalisateur

Jean-François Pouliot

Jean-François Pouliot est né à Montréal en 1957. Bachelier de l’Université Concordia en art de la communication, c’est comme assistant à la caméra qu’il fait ses débuts dans le milieu cinématographique où il acquiert au fil des ans une solide expérience. Il travaille entre autres sur des longs métrages notoires dont “Once upon a Time in America” du réalisateur Sergio Leone et “Hotel New Hampsire” de Tony Ridcharson. C’est en 1988 qu’il devient réalisateur pour la Fabrique d’images, une des plus importantes maisons de production de films publicitaires du Canada. Jean-François Pouliot a remporté un Lion d’argent à Cannes, deux Grand Prix du Mondial de la publicité et est nommé « Réalisateur de l’année » en 1995 par le Publicité Club de Montréal.

Benoît Brière,
Bruno Blanchet
David Boutin
Pierre Collin
Raymond Bouchard
Rita Lafontaine

Scénario
Ken Scott

Image
Allen Smith

Son
Claude Hazanavicius

Montage
Dominique Fortin

Musique
Jean-Marie Benoît

Décors
Daniel Hamelin

Production, Roger Frappier, Luc Vandal Max Films, 1751, rue Richardson, Suite 2.102 H3K 1G6 Montréal (Québec) Canada Tél : +1 514 282 8444 Fax : +1 514 282 9222 alex.wermester@maxfilms.ca www.maxfilms.ca Ventes à l’étranger Alexandra Wermester Max Films, 1751, rue Richardson, Suite 2.102 H3K 1G6 Montréal (Québec) Canada Tél : +1 514 282 8444 Fax : +1 514 282 9222 alex.wermester@maxfilms.ca www.maxfilms.ca Presse (France) Hélène Sitbon Hélène Sitbon Relations presse 120 Avenue des Champs Elysées 75008 Paris France Tel : +33 (0)1 45 61 24 20 Fax : +33 (0)1 56 59 66 67 Mob : +33 (0)6 84 01 50 49 helesitbon@club-internet.fr Presse (International) Chris Paton Premier Public Relations Tél : +44 207 494 34 78 Fax : +44 207 734 20 24 chris@prempr.co.uk www.premierpr.com