You are here: Home » 1997 » La Buena Vida

51st Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

La Buena Vida

Fortnight 1997, Feature film, 1 h 48

Synopsis

Tristan has just turned 14. He attends a French school in Madrid and plays the piano. But he devotes most of his time to writing his biography, convinced of his vocation as a writer. He shuts himself away in his room, his domain, and endlessly bangs away on an old typewriter, to the despair of his parents, who have others things in mind for him. Only a single chapter is missing in his book : the account of a night spent in a woman’s arms. His father and mother die in a car accident, leaving Tristan alone with his grandfather, an aged, antisocial provincial who dreams only of returning to the country of his birthplace. To survive in the face of everything, to grow up and bear his new solitude – this preoccupation obviously enters his memoirs, but Tristan doesn’t turn his back on life for all that : his doubts, desires and friendships fully occupy his waking hours, and he dreams, confident he will live a “beautiful life”.

Director

David Trueba

He was a journalist, a traducer, a screenwriter of short films and for TV; he started in cinema in 1991 as a co-screenwriter of Emilio Martinez-Lazaro’s feature film, Amo tu cama rica. In 1993, he wrote the screenplay of Los peores anos de nuestra vida that won a Goya as best screenplay. He participated in writing and producing a Spanish TV show, El peor programa de la semana. In 1994, he adapted a Spanish play of David Mamet, Speed The Plow. In 1995, he wrote with his brother Two Much, an adaptation of a novel writen by Donald E. Westlake. His first novel, Abierto todo la noche, was published by Anagrama publishing. In 1996, he directed a video-clip for singer Albert Pla, awarded at the Vitoria festival. La Buena Vida is his first feature film.

Alma Rosas Castellanas
Fernando Ramallo
Isabel Otero
Jesus Bonilla
Joel Joan
Jordi Bosch
Lucia Jimenez
Luis Cuenca
Victoria Pena

Screenplay
David Trueba

Image
William Lubtchansky

Sound
Georges Prat

Editing
Angel Hernandez-Zoido

Music
Antoine Duhamel

Set decoration
Cristina Mampaso

PRODUCTION : Trueba/Kaplan/Olmo Films C/. Antonio Cavero, 37, 28043 Madrid Tél. : (34-1) 759 62 64 Fax : (34-1) 300 01 04 L. Films (France) VENTES A L’ETRANGER Lolafilms C/. Velasquez 12, 28001 Madrid Tél. : (34-1) 431 42 46 Fax : (34-1) 435 59 94

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 1997 » La Buena Vida

50e édition du 9 au 19 mai 2018

La Buena Vida

Quinzaine 1997, Long métrage, 1 h 48

Synopsis

Tristan vient juste d’avoir 14 ans. Il étudie dans une école française à Madrid et joue du piano. Mais il consacre la plus grande partie de son temps à écrire sa biographie, persuadé d’avoir une vocation d’écrivain. Il s’enferme donc dans sa chambre à coucher, son domaine, et tape sans arrêt sur une vieille machine à écrire, au désespoir de ses parents qui avaient d’autres projets pour lui. Dans son récit, seul un chapitre manque encore : le récit d’une nuit passée dans les bras d’une femme. Son père et sa mère meurent dans un accident de voiture, laissant Tristan seul avec son grand-père, un vieux villageois asocial qui ne rêve que de retourner dans sa terre natale. Survivre malgré tout, grandir et supporter sa nouvelle solitude marquent de manière évidente son autobiographie, mais Tristan ne s’arrête pas de vivre pour autant : ses doutes, ses envies et ses amitiés occupent pleinement ses journées, et il rêve, confiant, d’avoir une “belle vie”.

Réalisateur

David Trueba

Journaliste, traducteur, scénariste de courts métrages et de télévision, il débute au cinéma en 1991 comme co-scénariste du long métrage d’Emilio Martinez-Lazaro, “Amo tu cama rica”. En 1993, il signe le scénario de “Los peores anos de nuestra vida” du même Emilio Martinez-Lazaro, qui lui vaut une nomination aux Goyas pour le meilleur scénario original. Entre 1993 et 1994, il participe à l’écriture et à la production d’une émission hebdomadaire de la télévision espagnole, El peor programa de la semana. En 1994, il signe l’adaptation espagnole de la pièce de David Mamet, “Speed The Plow”. En 1995, il est co-scénariste du film de son frère, Fernando Trueba, “Two Much”, adapté du roman de Donald E. Westlake. La même année, il publie aux éditions Anagrama son premier roman, “Abierto todo la noche”, traduit en italien et en allemand. En 1996, il réalise, pour le chanteur Albert Pla, le vidéo-clip “El lado savaje de la vida”, primé au festival de Vitoria. La Buena Vida est son premier film.

Alma Rosas Castellanas
Fernando Ramallo
Isabel Otero
Jesus Bonilla
Joel Joan
Jordi Bosch
Lucia Jimenez
Luis Cuenca
Victoria Pena

Scénario
David Trueba

Image
William Lubtchansky

Son
Georges Prat

Montage
Angel Hernandez-Zoido

Musique
Antoine Duhamel

Décors
Cristina Mampaso

PRODUCTION : Trueba/Kaplan/Olmo Films C/. Antonio Cavero, 37, 28043 Madrid Tél. : (34-1) 759 62 64 Fax : (34-1) 300 01 04 L. Films (France) VENTES A L’ETRANGER Lolafilms C/. Velasquez 12, 28001 Madrid Tél. : (34-1) 431 42 46 Fax : (34-1) 435 59 94