You are here: Home » 1996 » Jude

51st Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

Jude

Fortnight 1996, Feature film, 2 h 03

Synopsis

In the late 19th century England, many looked towards the great seats of learning, such as Christminster, as an escape from rural poverty and boredom. Not least among these is Jude Fawley, an intelligent but unworldly young man who dreams of emulating his childhood hero, the schoolmaster Phillotson. Jude studies singlemindely in the hope of gaining a place at the University. But his studies are interrupted when Jude blindly falls for the beguiling Arabella Dunn, the daughter of a local pig farmer. They have nothing in common but Jude is easily seduced. Soon after, she convinces him that she is pregnant with his child and forces him into marriage… The marriage fails and Jude moves to Christminster to continue his studies. There he meets and falls in love with his cousin Sue Bridehead, a beautiful and urbane young woman, whose intelligence and wit captivate him. But cruelly it is Jude himself who creates the major obstacle to their future hapiness…

Director

Michael Winterbottom

He studied English at Oxford University and graduated in direction in Bristol and London. He started working as an editor for Thames Television. He directed two documentaries in 1988 on Ingmar Bergman and two dramas for kids. In 1994, he made his first feature film, Butterfly Kiss, shown in Berlin in 1995.

Christopher Eccleston
June Whitfield
Kate Winslet
Liam Cunningham
Rachal Griffiths

Screenplay
Hossein Amini d’’après le roman de Thomas Hardy, “Jude l’obscur”

Image
Eduardo Serra

Sound
Martin Trevis

Editing
Trevor Waite

Set decoration
Joseph Benett, Andrew Rothschild

PRODUCTION : Revolution Films 43, Lock Road, Ham, Richmond, Surrey TW107LQ Tél. : (44-181) 287 1355 Fax : (44-181) 287 1355 Polygram BBC Films VENTE A L’ETRANGER : Polygram Film Distribution 107, boulevard Pereire, 75017 Paris Tél. : 01 44 15 66 66 Fax : 01 47 64 36 38

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 1996 » Jude

50e édition du 9 au 19 mai 2018

Jude

Quinzaine 1996, Long métrage, 2 h 03

Synopsis

Dans l’Angleterre de la fin du 19ème siècle, nombreux sont ceux qui se sont tournés vers les hauts lieux de l’enseignement, tel Christminster, pour échapper à la pauvreté des campagnes et à son ennui. Jude Fawley, un jeune homme intelligent et naïf, qui rêve d’égaler ses héros d’enfance, tel le professeur Phillotson, fait parti de ceux-là. Jude étudie avec détermination dans l’espoir d’entrer à l’Université. Mais il interrompt ses études quand il tombe amoureux de la séduisante Arabella Dunn, la fille d’un éleveur de cochons local. Ils n’ont rien en commun, mais néammoins, Jude se laisse facilement séduire. Peu après, elle lui fait croire qu’elle est enceinte et le force à l’épouser. Mais leur mariage est un échec. Jude retourne à Christminster finir ses études. C’est alors qu’il tombe amoureux de sa cousine Sue Bridehead, une jeune femme élégante, dont l’intelligence et l’esprit le captivent. Mais cruellement, c’est Jude lui-même qui crée l’obstacle principal à leur futur bonheur…

Réalisateur

Michael Winterbottom

Michael Winterbottom étudie d’abord l’anglais à Oxford, avant de se former à la réalisation à Bristol et à Londres. Il fait ses débuts à la télévision en qualité de monteur pour Thames Television. Passant à la réalisation, il signe en 1988 deux documentaires sur Ingmar Bergman puis deux dramatiques pour la jeunesse. En 1994, il tourne son premier long métrage pour le cinéma, Butterfly Kiss, présenté au Festival de Berlin 1995.

Christopher Eccleston
June Whitfield
Kate Winslet
Liam Cunningham
Rachal Griffiths

Scénario
Hossein Amini d’’après le roman de Thomas Hardy, “Jude l’obscur”

Image
Eduardo Serra

Son
Martin Trevis

Montage
Trevor Waite

Décors
Joseph Benett, Andrew Rothschild

PRODUCTION : Revolution Films 43, Lock Road, Ham, Richmond, Surrey TW107LQ Tél. : (44-181) 287 1355 Fax : (44-181) 287 1355 Polygram BBC Films VENTE A L’ETRANGER : Polygram Film Distribution 107, boulevard Pereire, 75017 Paris Tél. : 01 44 15 66 66 Fax : 01 47 64 36 38