You are here: Home » 1975 » Jeanne Dielman, 23 Quai Du Commerce – 1080 Bruxelles

51th Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

Jeanne Dielman, 23 Quai Du Commerce – 1080 Bruxelles

Fortnight 1975, Feature film, 3h45

Synopsis

Tuesday the 22nd of April, 1975
I was aked to write about my intentions in making this film without only telling its story line. Thus I must say that I had not any other intentions but to tell the story of what happened to Jeanne Dielman between tuesday 5pm and thursday 6pm in the same week.
So I remembered at first pretty vaguely and then more strongly that I use to think I would to dedicate this film to my mother. « To my mother Nathalia, also know as Nelly » was what I wanted to say, but I rejected the idea immediatly, by modesty or self-censorship. I’m thinking now without being sure whay that « intentions » are not suitable for my film for now.
I feel to that if I hadn’t known my mother, I wouldn’t have made this film – which is absolutely not a portrait of my mother though…
Chantal AKERMAN

Director

Chantal Akerman

Born in Brussels in 1950. Directed her first short film in 1968, film in which she was the only actor and which already looked forward to the director’s unusual vision of our daily environment, with its blend of black humor, fantasy and insolence. Directed her first feature in New York in 1972, but it was with « Jeanne Dielman » that critics and audiences discovered her work. In her most recent work she has alternated documentaries and autobiographical fiction: « Sud » (documentary, 1999), « La Captive » (fiction, 2000), « De l’autre côté » (documentary, 2002), « Demain on déménage » (fiction, 2004) et « Là-bas » (documentary, 2006).

Delphine Seyrig
Jan Decorte

Screenplay
Chantal Akerman

Image
Babette Mangolte

Production : PARADISE FILM / UNITÉ 3

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 1975 » Jeanne Dielman, 23 Quai Du Commerce – 1080 Bruxelles

51e édition du 15 au 25 mai 2019

Jeanne Dielman, 23 Quai Du Commerce – 1080 Bruxelles

Quinzaine 1975, Long métrage, 3h45

Synopsis

Mardi 22 avril 1975
On me demande de faire une déclaration d’intention qui ne soit pas le récit du film. Je me dis alors que je n’avais pas d’autre intention que de raconter ce qui s’est passé pour Jeanne Dielman du mardi 17h au jeudi 18h de la même semaine…
J’ai alors le souvenir d’abord très furtif, et puis qui s’impose très fortement à moi que je voulais dédicacer ce film à ma mère, que je voulais dire « pour ma mère Nathalia dite Nelly » – et que j’ai aussitôt repoussée cette idée par pudeur ou censure et je me dis alors sans vraiment savoir pourquoi que les mots « déclaration d’intention » ne peuvent pas pour l’instant s’associer à mon film.
Et je me dis aussi que si je n’avais pas connu ma mère, je n’aurais pas fait ce film – qui n’est pourtant absolument pas le portrait de ma mère…
Chantal AKERMAN

Réalisateur

Chantal Akerman

Née à Bruxelles en 1950. Réalise son premier court métrage en 1968, film dont elle est l’unique interprète et où s’annonce déjà le regard singulier de la cinéaste sur l’environnement quotidien, entre humour noir, fantastique et rebelle. Réalise son premier long métrage à New York en 1972, mais c’est avec “Jeanne Dielman” que la critique et le public découvrent son oeuvre. Ses dernières oeuvres alternent documentaires et fictions autobiographiques : “Sud” (documentaire, 1999), “La Captive” (fiction, 2000), “De l’autre côté” (documentaire, 2002), “Demain on déménage” (fiction, 2004) et “Là-bas” (documentaire, 2006). Lire plus…

Delphine Seyrig
Jan Decorte

Scénario
Chantal Akerman

Image
Babette Mangolte

Production : PARADISE FILM / UNITÉ 3