You are here: Home » 1976 » Hollywood On Trial

51th Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

Hollywood On Trial

Fortnight 1976, Feature film, 1h45

Synopsis

Washington Bureau preparing report on spy probe.
August 26, 1948, Washington, DC : The House Committee on Unamerican Activities announced that it cill issue a report on its progress in the Communist probe. Looking over the vast amount of material gathered during its hearings are : Richard M. Nixon, Robert Stripling, chief investigator, and chairman J. Parnell.
« Its strange, when we were in California shooting « Hollywood on Trial », I turned on the TV to watch the news and there was cameraman Haskell Wexler who had won an Oscar for filming « Virgina Woolf » and documentary filmmaker Emile d’Antonio. They had just been subpoenaed by the Los Angeles County Grand Jury to give information about a film they were making on the Welther Underground ». I mean, here we are in 1975 making a film about events that took place 25 years ago, and here are those two filmmakers in similar situations to those people we were making our film about. Before I turned on the news that night, I was wondering if « Hollywood on Trial » was really relevant at that time. Now it’s very clear to me that it is. »
Extracts from an interview with David Helpern Jr in the « Boston Globe », Dec. 23, 1975

Director

David Helpern Jr.

Born in 1948, Davis Helpern worked for several cinema magazines ; he co-writ Joan Silver’s « Fun while it lasted ». Following « I’m a Stranger Here Myself » (1975), « Hollywood on Trial » is his second feature film.

Albert Maltz
Alvash Bessie
Ben Margolis
Dalton Trumbo
Dore Shary
Edward Dmytryk
Gale Sondergaard
Howard Da Silva
Leo Townsend
Lester Cole
Martin Ritt
Millard Lampell
Otto Preminger
Ring Lardner Jr
Ronald Reagan
Walter Berstein
William Wheeler
Zero Mostel

Screenplay
Arnie Reisman

Image
Barry Abrams

Editing
Frank Galvin

Production : OCTOBER FILMS (James C. Gutman)

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 1976 » Hollywood On Trial

51e édition du 15 au 25 mai 2019

Hollywood On Trial

Quinzaine 1976, Long métrage, 1h45

Synopsis

Le Washington Bureau prépare un rapport sur l’espionnage.
Le 26 août 1948, le Comité National sur les Activités Antiaméricaines annonce qu’il va publier un rapport sur l’état de ses investigations sur l’espionnage communiste. Examinent les nombreux dossiers établis d’après les auditions : Richard M. Nixon, Robert Stripling, l’un des principaux enquêteurs, et le président du Comité J. Parnell.
« Alors que nous étions entrain de tourner « Hollywood on Trial » en Californie, je regardais les nouvelles à la télévision un soir et j’y ai vu le chef-opérateur Haskell Wexler qui venait d’obtenir un Oscar pour la photographie de « Virginia Woolf » et Emile d’Antonio, réalisateur de documentaires. Ils venaient d’être assignés par le Tribunal de Grande Instance de Los Angeles pour donner des informations sur un film qu’ils étaient entrain de tourner sur le Weather Underground. Je veux dire que nous sommes en 1975 et que nous faisons un film sur des événements qui ont eu lieu il y a 25 ans. Là, je venais de voir ces deux réalisateurs dans des situations similaires à celle que nous montrons dans notre film. Ce soir-là, avant d’allumer la télévision, je me demandais si « Hollywood on Trial » avait vraiment une raison d’être de nos jours. Maintenant, je suis convaincu que oui. »
Extraits d’une interview avec David Helpern Jr dans le « Boston Globe » du 23 décembre 1975

Réalisateur

David Helpern Jr.

Né en 1948, David Helpern a collaboré avec de nombreuses revues de cinéma ; il fut coscénariste sur “Fun while it lasted” de Joan Silver. Après “I’m a Stranger Here Myself” (1975), “Hollywood on Trial” est son second long métrage.

Albert Maltz
Alvash Bessie
Ben Margolis
Dalton Trumbo
Dore Shary
Edward Dmytryk
Gale Sondergaard
Howard Da Silva
Leo Townsend
Lester Cole
Martin Ritt
Millard Lampell
Otto Preminger
Ring Lardner Jr
Ronald Reagan
Walter Berstein
William Wheeler
Zero Mostel

Scénario
Arnie Reisman

Image
Barry Abrams

Montage
Frank Galvin

Production : OCTOBER FILMS (James C. Gutman)