You are here: Home » 2007 » Estado do mundo (O)

51th Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

Estado do mundo (O)

Fortnight 2007, Feature film, 1h45

Synopsis

Six directors, six regards on the state of the world. Their cross over creates a new space for a dynamic and radical inquisitive reflection, a space to defy the future. • Luminous People • Germano • One Way • Brutality Factory • Tarrafal • Tombée de nuit sur Shanghaï

Directors

Apichatpong Weerasethakul

Apichatpong Weerasethakul was born in Bangkok in 1970. Artist and independent filmmaker, he earned international recognition when his films Blissfully Yours (2002) and Tropical Malady (2004) were selected for the Cannes Film Festival. He has since made Syndromes and A Century, shown at Venice in 2006.

Ayisha Abraham

Ayisha Abraham studied painting in India and the United States before making numerous experimental films in video and mounting exhibitions in art galleries and museums around the world.

Chantal Akerman

Born in Brussels in 1950. Directed her first short film in 1968, film in which she was the only actor and which already looked forward to the director’s unusual vision of our daily environment, with its blend of black humor, fantasy and insolence. Directed her first feature in New York in 1972, but it was with « Jeanne Dielman » that critics and audiences discovered her work. In her most recent work she has alternated documentaries and autobiographical fiction: « Sud » (documentary, 1999), « La Captive » (fiction, 2000), « De l’autre côté » (documentary, 2002), « Demain on déménage » (fiction, 2004) et « Là-bas » (documentary, 2006).

Pedro Costa

Born in Lisbon in 1959. Gave up history studies to attend António Reis’s editing courses at Lisbon film school. Recently contributed to the Jeonju Digital Project with The Rabbit Hunters (Silver Leopard, Locarno 2007), and Tarrafal for the project L’État du Monde (Directors’ Fortnight, 2007).

Vicente Ferraz

Born in Brazil in 1965, Vincente Ferras Gonçalves has directed fiction and documentary films. In 2004, his documentary, Soy Cuba, o mamute siberiano won many prizes in international festivals.

Wang Bing

Born in 1967, in the Shaanxi province of China, Wang Bing is a producer, director and cameraman. In 1999, he created Wang Bing Film Studios and produced and directed the nine-hour documentary West of the Tracks, completed in 2003.The film enjoyed major critical success around the world and won numerous prizes in international festivals.

Production : Lx Filmes Rua do Vale Formoso, 114 A, arm. 23 1950-285 Lisbonne Portugal Tél : +351 21 865 04 90 Fax : +351 21 865 04 99 lxfilmes@lxfilmes.com lxfilmes@hotmail.com

Title in Original Version : L'Etat du monde

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 2007 » Estado do mundo (O)

51e édition du 15 au 25 mai 2019

Estado do mundo (O)

Quinzaine 2007, Long métrage, 1h45

Synopsis

Six réalisateurs, six regards sur l’état du monde. Leur rencontre crée un nouveau prisme de réflexion dynamique et radical, un espace pour interroger l’avenir. • Luminous People • Germano • One Way • Brutality Factory • Tarrafal • Tombée de nuit sur Shanghaï

Réalisateurs

Apichatpong Weerasethakul

Apichatpong Weerasethakul est né en 1970 à Bangkok. Artiste et cinéaste indépendant, il accède à une reconnaissance internationale grâce à la sélection de ses films Blissfully Yours (2002) et Tropical Malady (2004) au Festival de Cannes. Depuis, il a réalisé Syndromes and A Century présenté au Festival de Venise en 2006.

Ayisha Abraham

Ayisha Abraham étudie la peinture en Inde et aux Etats-Unis avant de réaliser de nombreux films expérimentaux en vidéo ainsi que des expositions dans des galeries d’art et des musées du monde entier.

Chantal Akerman

Née à Bruxelles en 1950. Réalise son premier court métrage en 1968, film dont elle est l’unique interprète et où s’annonce déjà le regard singulier de la cinéaste sur l’environnement quotidien, entre humour noir, fantastique et rebelle. Réalise son premier long métrage à New York en 1972, mais c’est avec “Jeanne Dielman” que la critique et le public découvrent son oeuvre. Ses dernières oeuvres alternent documentaires et fictions autobiographiques : “Sud” (documentaire, 1999), “La Captive” (fiction, 2000), “De l’autre côté” (documentaire, 2002), “Demain on déménage” (fiction, 2004) et “Là-bas” (documentaire, 2006). Lire plus…

Pedro Costa

Né à Lisbonne en 1959. Abandonne des études d’Histoire pour suivre les cours de montage d’António Reis à L’École de Cinéma de Lisbonne. Récemment il a contribué au Jeonju Digital Project avec The Rabbit Hunters (Léopard d’Argent Festival du Film de Locarno 2007), et Tarrafal pour le projet L’État du Monde (Quinzaine des réalisateurs 2007).

Vicente Ferraz

Né le 22 février 1965 au Brésil, Vincente Ferras Gonçalves est réalisateur de films de fiction et de documentaires. En 2004, son documentaire Soy Cuba, o mamute siberiano a remporté de nombreux prix dans les festivals internationaux.

Wang Bing

Né le 17 novembre 1967, dans la province de Shaanxi en Chine, Wang Bing est producteur, réalisateur et caméraman. En 1999 il crée le Wang Bing Film studio et produit et réalise le documentaire de neuf heures A l’Ouest des rails, achevé en 2003. Le film connaîtra un immense succès critique dans le monde entier et remportera de nombreux prix dans les festivals internationaux.

Production : Lx Filmes Rua do Vale Formoso, 114 A, arm. 23 1950-285 Lisbonne Portugal Tél : +351 21 865 04 90 Fax : +351 21 865 04 99 lxfilmes@lxfilmes.com lxfilmes@hotmail.com

Titre VO : L'Etat du monde