You are here: Home » 1996 » Encore

51st Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

Encore

Fortnight 1996, Feature film, 1 h 36

Synopsis

Abel Vichac, reknowed university professor, author of several books, holder of a chair of philosophy at the University of Paris VIII, meets in a café a young student who says her name is Aurore and pretends she’s done a study on his latest book. She sent him this study several months ago, and he never replied. A few days later, Vichac, who found Aurore’s study (and adress), pays her a visit. This marks the beginning of a series of misunderstandings, of confusions in love and intermingled seduction schemes. In other words, a love imbroglio that will lead to a major crisi for Vichac, who’s been living for ten years with the same woman, Aliette.

Director

Pascal Bonitzer

Born in Paris, he graduated in philosophy and started working in 1969 for Les Cahiers du Cinéma, a review he contributed to till 1982. As a screenwriter since 1976, he wrote many scripts: 17 were adapted by René Allio, André Téchiné, Pascal Kané, Barbet Schroeder, Benoît Jacquot or Jacques Rivette. He wrote and directed a short film; he also wrote and directed a feature film: Encore.

Fabrice Desplechin
Hélène Fillières
Jackie Berroyer
Laurence Côte
Louis-Do de Lencquesaing
Meï Zhou
Michel Massé
Natacha Régnier
Valéria Bruni Tedeschi

Screenplay
Pascal Bonitzer

Image
Emmanuel Machuel

Sound
Frédéric Ulmann

Editing
Suzanne Koch

Set decoration
Antoine Platteau

PRODUCTION : Paris-New York Productions 56, rue du Fbg Poisonnière, 75010 Paris Tél. : 01 45 23 25 04 Fax : 01 45 23 22 17 VENTE A L’ETRANGER : Mercure Distribution 47, rue de la Colonie, 75013 Paris Tél. : 01 42 46 46 30 Fax : 01 42 46 80 82

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 1996 » Encore

50e édition du 9 au 19 mai 2018

Encore

Quinzaine 1996, Long métrage, 1 h 36

Synopsis

Abel Vichac, universitaire de renom, auteur de livres, titulaire d’une chaire de philo à Paris VIII, rencontre dans un café une étudiante, qui dit s’appeler Aurore et prétend avoir fait un exposé sur son dernier livre, exposé qu’elle lui a envoyé il y a déjà plusieurs mois : il n’a jamais répondu. Quelques jours plus tard, Vichac qui a retrouvé l’exposé (et l’adresse) d’Aurore débarque chez celle-ci. C’est le point de départ d’une série de quiproquos, de confusions amoureuses et de strtagèmes de séductions entremêlés, bref, d’un imbroglio sentimental qui va déboucher pour Vichac (vivant depuis dix ans avec la même femme, Aliette) sur une crise majeure.

Réalisateur

Pascal Bonitzer

Né à Paris, il a passé une maîtrise de philosophie puis entré aux Cahiers du Cinéma en 1969, revue à laquelle il collabore jusqu’en 1982. Scénariste depuis 1976, il a écrit de nombreux scénarios, dont dix-sept ont été portés à l’écran par René Allio (Moi, Pierre Rivière…., 1976), André Téchiné (Les Soeurs Brontë, Le Lieu du Crime, Les Innocents, Ma saison préférée), Pascal Kané, Barbet Schroeder, Benoît Jacquot ou Jacques Rivette entre autres. Il a écrit et réalisé un court métrage, Les Sirènes (1989). Encore (dont il a également écrit le scénario), est son premier long métrage.

Fabrice Desplechin
Hélène Fillières
Jackie Berroyer
Laurence Côte
Louis-Do de Lencquesaing
Meï Zhou
Michel Massé
Natacha Régnier
Valéria Bruni Tedeschi

Scénario
Pascal Bonitzer

Image
Emmanuel Machuel

Son
Frédéric Ulmann

Montage
Suzanne Koch

Décors
Antoine Platteau

PRODUCTION : Paris-New York Productions 56, rue du Fbg Poisonnière, 75010 Paris Tél. : 01 45 23 25 04 Fax : 01 45 23 22 17 VENTE A L’ETRANGER : Mercure Distribution 47, rue de la Colonie, 75013 Paris Tél. : 01 42 46 46 30 Fax : 01 42 46 80 82