You are here: Home » 1996 » Edipo Alcalde

51st Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

Edipo Alcalde

Fortnight 1996, Feature film, 1 h 40

Synopsis

In this screenplay, Gabriel Garcia Marquez gives his contemporary version of Sophocle’s Oedipus Rex. He replaces the Greek tragedy in present day Colombia, where the violence takes on the same meaning as the Thebes plague in Sophocles work. Alike Oedipus in the Greek tragedy, the Mayor must punish Layo’s murderers. His investigation directs him to the numerous armed group that exist in Colombia: paramilitary groups, guerilleros, druglords’henchmen, legal army, etc… And as the antique play, Layo’s premonitory dream comes tue: Oedipius becomes his father’s murderer, his mother’s husband, and his brother’s father…

Director

Jorge Ali Triana

He was born in Bogota. He graduated at the cinema school in Prague and founded the drama and audiovisual arts Center that he heads today and where he directed about thirty plays. He is a producer and director for TV; he adapted best Latinoamerican authors in TV series ( Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Jorge Ibarguenguitia, Sergio Ramirez ). Yet he had collaborated with Gabriel Garcia Marquez for his first feature film, Tiempo de morir.

Angela Molina
Francisco Rabal
Jairo Camargo
Jorge Martinez de Hoyos
Jorge Perugorria
Miriam Colon

Screenplay
Gabriel Garcia MarquezStella MalagonOrlando Sennad’après “Oedipe roi” de Sophocle

Image
Rodrigo Pietro

Sound
miguel Sandoval

Editing
Sigfrido Barjau

Set decoration
Jose Luis Aguilar

PRODUCTION : Producciones Amaranta Eje 10 Sur, Pedro Henriquez Urena n° 395, Col. Santo Domingo, Coyoacan, Mexico D.F. 04369 Tél. : (52-5) 610 1171 Fax : (52-5) 610 1725 Grupo de Colombia Caracol Television Instituto Mexicano de Cinematografia Tabasco Films Sogetel VENTES A L’ETRANGER : Latina S.A. de C.V., Atletas N°2, Country Club, CP 04220 Mexico DF Tél. : (52-5) 689 3850 Fax : (52-5) 549 1820

Title in Original Version : Oedipe Maire

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 1996 » Edipo Alcalde

50e édition du 9 au 19 mai 2018

Edipo Alcalde

Quinzaine 1996, Long métrage, 1 h 40

Synopsis

Gabriel Garcia Marquez donne, dans ce scénario, une version contemporaine de l’”Oedipe roi” de Sophocle. Il transpose la tragédie grecque dans la Colombie d’ujourd’hui, oùla peste de Thèbes est remplacée par la violence. Tel l’Oedipe de la tragédie grecque, le maire doit punir les assassins de Layo. Son enquête l’oriente vers les nombreux groupes armés existant en Colombie : groupes paramilitaires, guerilleros, hommes de main des narcotrafiquants, armée régulière, etc… Et comme dans la pièce antique, le rêve prémonitoire de Layo s’accomplit : Oedipe devient l’assassin de son père, l’époux de sa mère et le père de son frère…

Réalisateur

Jorge Ali Triana

Né à Bogota, Colombie. Diplômé de l’Ecole de cinéma de Prague, il fonde le Centre des Arts dramatiques et audiovisuels (Théâtre Populaire de Bogota), institution qu’il dirige aujourd’hui, et au sein de laquelle il a mis en scène une trentaine de pièces de théâtre. Producteur et réalisateur de télévision, il a adapté, sous forme de mini-séries télévisées, les oeuvres des plus célèbres auteurs latinos-américains : Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Jorge Ibarguenguitia, Sergio Ramirez… Il avait déjà collaboré avec Gabriel Garcia Marquez sur son premier long métrage, Tiempo de morir.

Angela Molina
Francisco Rabal
Jairo Camargo
Jorge Martinez de Hoyos
Jorge Perugorria
Miriam Colon

Scénario
Gabriel Garcia MarquezStella MalagonOrlando Sennad’après “Oedipe roi” de Sophocle

Image
Rodrigo Pietro

Son
miguel Sandoval

Montage
Sigfrido Barjau

Décors
Jose Luis Aguilar

PRODUCTION : Producciones Amaranta Eje 10 Sur, Pedro Henriquez Urena n° 395, Col. Santo Domingo, Coyoacan, Mexico D.F. 04369 Tél. : (52-5) 610 1171 Fax : (52-5) 610 1725 Grupo de Colombia Caracol Television Instituto Mexicano de Cinematografia Tabasco Films Sogetel VENTES A L’ETRANGER : Latina S.A. de C.V., Atletas N°2, Country Club, CP 04220 Mexico DF Tél. : (52-5) 689 3850 Fax : (52-5) 549 1820

Titre VO : Oedipe Maire