You are here: Home » 2002 » Deux

52nd edition from May 13 to 23, 2020

Deux

Fortnight 2002, Feature film, 2h01

Synopsis

The film presents us parallel and intersecting lives of a mother (Bulle Ogier) and her two daughters (Isabelle Huppert) twin sisters separated at birth. All three deprived of maternal love, unstable and unable of any long-lasting feeling, they pursue the desesperate quest of their origins, finding peace only in sex and provoked dramas… Opera and passion will help bringing them back together, but how could this tragedy have ended in another way than a bloody accomplishment ?

Director

Werner Schroeter

Born in Georgenthal, Germany, in 1945, Werner Schroeter studied psychology at the University of Mannheim. In 1967, he began to make 8mm films under the influence of American avant-garde cinema. In the early 70s, he began to stage plays and in 1979, operas, as well. His first feature, « Eika Katappa » (1969) won the Josef von Sternberg Prize. « The Death of Maria Malibran » (1971) marked the first appearance of a leitmotif that could be said to crystallize his work the death of a singer, who dies from too much singing. « Reign of Naples » (1978) reflects his personal vision of this city, seen through the destiny of several picturesque individuals, over a 30-year period. Two years later, « Palermo or Wolfsburg » won the Golden Bear at the Berlin Film Festival. In 1996, Locarno awarded him a Leopard of Honor for his career and screened his film, « Love’s Debris ».

Annika Kuhl
Arielle Dombasle
Bulle Ogier
Isabelle Huppert
Jean-François Stévenin
Manuel Blanc
Pascal Bongard
Philippe Reuter
Robinson Stévenin

Screenplay
Werner Schroeter, Cédric Anger

Image
Elfi Mikesh

Sound
Philippe Morel

Editing
Juliane Lorenz

Set decoration
Alberte Barsarcq

production : Paulo Branco Gémini Films, 34 boulevard de Sébastopol, 75004 Paris, France tél. : 33 (0)1 44 54 17 17, fax : 33 (0)1 44 54 96 66 gemini@easynet.fr Road Movies (Allemagne) France 2 (France) ventes à l’étranger : Gémini Films distribution : Gémini Films presse : France – Le Public Système / Bruno Barde / Laurence Hartmann-Churlaud Tél. : 33 (0)1 41 34 21 26, Fax : 33 (0)1 41 34 20 77 lchurlaud@le-public-systeme.fr International – Le Public Système / Stéphanie Azerad / Sophie Bataille Tél. : 33 (0)1 41 34 20 32, Fax : 33 (0)1 41 34 20 77 sbataille@le-public-systeme.fr

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 2002 » Deux

50e édition du 9 au 19 mai 2018

Deux

Quinzaine 2002, Long métrage, 2h01

Synopsis

Les existences parallèles et entrecroisées d’une mère (Bulle Ogier) et de ses deux filles, sœurs jumelles séparées à la naissance (Isabelle Huppert). Toutes trois privées d’amour filial, instables et incapables de sentiments durables, elles poursuivent la quête désespérée de leurs origines, ne trouvant d’apaisement que dans le sexe et les drames provoqués. L’opéra et la passion contribueront à les réunir, mais comment cette tragédie pouvait-elle se terminer autrement que dans un accomplissement sanglant ?

Réalisateur

Werner Schroeter

Né en 1945 à Georgenthal, Werner Schroeter étudie la psychologie à l’Université de Mannheim. Dès 1967, il réalise des films en 8mm qui sont fortement inspirés par le cinéma d’avant-garde américain. Vers la fin des années 60, ses oeuvres ont une résonance considérable. Au début des années 70, il commence à mettre en scène des pièces de théâtre et monte depuis 1979 également des opéras. Son premier long métrage “Eika Katappa” (1969) est récompensé du Prix Josef Von Sternberg. Dans “La mort de Maria Malibran” (1971) apparaît un motif qui pourrait cristalliser son oeuvre – le décès d’une chanteuse, qui meurt “d’avoir trop chanté”. “Le règne de Naples” (1978) reflète sa vision personnelle de cette ville, appréhendée à travers le destin de quelques figures pittoresques, courant sur trente ans. Réalisé deux ans plus tard, “Palermo oder Wolfsburg” est récompensé par un Ours d’Or au Festival de Berlin. En 1996, Locarno lui décerne un Léopard d’honneur pour l’ensemble de son oeuvre et présente son avant-dernier film, “Poussières d’Amour”.

Annika Kuhl
Arielle Dombasle
Bulle Ogier
Isabelle Huppert
Jean-François Stévenin
Manuel Blanc
Pascal Bongard
Philippe Reuter
Robinson Stévenin

Scénario
Werner Schroeter, Cédric Anger

Image
Elfi Mikesh

Son
Philippe Morel

Montage
Juliane Lorenz

Décors
Alberte Barsarcq

production : Paulo Branco Gémini Films, 34 boulevard de Sébastopol, 75004 Paris, France tél. : 33 (0)1 44 54 17 17, fax : 33 (0)1 44 54 96 66 gemini@easynet.fr Road Movies (Allemagne) France 2 (France) ventes à l’étranger : Gémini Films distribution : Gémini Films presse : France – Le Public Système / Bruno Barde / Laurence Hartmann-Churlaud Tél. : 33 (0)1 41 34 21 26, Fax : 33 (0)1 41 34 20 77 lchurlaud@le-public-systeme.fr International – Le Public Système / Stéphanie Azerad / Sophie Bataille Tél. : 33 (0)1 41 34 20 32, Fax : 33 (0)1 41 34 20 77 sbataille@le-public-systeme.fr