You are here: Home » 2003 » Des plumes dans la tête

51st Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

Des plumes dans la tête

Fortnight 2003, Feature film, 1H40mn

Synopsis

The small Belgian town of Genappe revolves around its sugar factory. Rotting beets in the town’s surrounding drainage system attract migratory birds. The quiet routine of Blanche’s family is upset when her young son disappears. Blanche feels she has lost everything. The tragic event and its consequences are treated with dream-like touches as Blanche fights to rebuild her life and recover the essential.

Director

Thomas de Thier

Having been thrown out of film school, Mom and Dad really insisted on my getting a degree. So I studied marketing, which I consider a personal failure. Things began to improve when I made my first film. With my girlfriend at the time, I discovered my neighbors (Je suis votre voisin, 1990). At age 30, I left for New Guinea in search of my childhood garden (A la recherché de l’oiseau blanc, 1955). In 1998, I staged a play adapted from Marlen Haushofer’s The Wall, and I filmed the desert as if it were a fable about time (Les Gens pressés sont déjà mort). In 2001 came a trip for two across Canada in order to make video contact with the baby to come, Echographie.

Alexis Den Doncker
Francis Renaud,
Sophie Museur
Ulysse de Swaef

Screenplay
Thomas De Thier

Image
Virginie Saint Martin

Sound
Pierre Mertens, Thomas Gauder

Editing
Marie-Hélène Dozo

Music
Sylvain Chauveau, le trio Premi Djoû d?Fosse

Set decoration
Wouter Zoon

Production : Jacques Bidou Nicolas Meyer JBA Production / Magellan Production 52 rue Charlot 75003 Paris France Tél: +33 (0)1 48 04 84 60 Fax : +33 (0)1 42 76 09 67 jbaprod@club-internet.fr Coproductions : Arte France Cinéma (France), R.T.B.F. (Belgique), FMB 2 Films (France), 47ème Parallèle (France) Distribution : François Yon Nicolas Brigaud Robert Films Distribution 6, rue de l?École de Médecine 75006 Paris France Tél :+33 (0)1 53 10 33 99 Fax: +33 (0)1 53 10 33 98 info@filmsdistribution.com www.filmsdistribution.com Presse (France) : Laurence Granec Karine Ménard 5 bis, rue Kepler 75016 Paris Tél: +33 (0)1 47 20 36 66 Fax : +33 (0)1 47 20 35 44 lgranec@club-internet.fr

Title in Original Version : Feathers in the head

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 2003 » Des plumes dans la tête

51e édition du 15 au 25 mai 2019

Des plumes dans la tête

Quinzaine 2003, Long métrage, 1H40mn

Synopsis

Genappe, une petite ville wallonne, sa sucrerie, ses bassins de décantation où pourrissent les déchets de betteraves et s’arrêtent les oiseaux migrateurs. Le quotidien routinier d’une famille est bousculé par un drame. Un enfant disparaît. L’histoire, traitée sur un mode onirique, raconte cet événement tragique et ses conséquences : le parcours de Blanche, la mère, qui a tout perdu et qui va se battre pour reconstruire sa vie et retrouver l’essentiel.

Réalisateur

Thomas de Thier

Renvoyé d’une école de cinéma, papa et maman ont beaucoup insisté pour que je décroche un diplôme. J’ai donc suivi et réussi des études en économie, ce que je considère comme un échec personnel. Les choses ont commencé à s’améliorer quand j’ai fait mon premier film. Avec ma compagne d’alors, je pars à la découverte de mes voisins (Je suis votre voisin, 1990). Trente ans : je pars en Nouvelle-Guinée, sur les traces de mon jardin d’enfance (A la recherche de l’oiseau blanc, 1995). 1998, je mets en scène une pièce de théâtre adaptée du « Mur invisible » de Marlen Haushofer, Triple vitrage et je filme le désert comme une fable sur le temps (Les gens pressés sont déjà morts). 2001, odyssée en couple à travers les grands espaces canadiens pour tenter d’entrer en communication vidéo avec le bébé à venir, Echographie.

Alexis Den Doncker
Francis Renaud,
Sophie Museur
Ulysse de Swaef

Scénario
Thomas De Thier

Image
Virginie Saint Martin

Son
Pierre Mertens, Thomas Gauder

Montage
Marie-Hélène Dozo

Musique
Sylvain Chauveau, le trio Premi Djoû d?Fosse

Décors
Wouter Zoon

Production : Jacques Bidou Nicolas Meyer JBA Production / Magellan Production 52 rue Charlot 75003 Paris France Tél: +33 (0)1 48 04 84 60 Fax : +33 (0)1 42 76 09 67 jbaprod@club-internet.fr Coproductions : Arte France Cinéma (France), R.T.B.F. (Belgique), FMB 2 Films (France), 47ème Parallèle (France) Distribution : François Yon Nicolas Brigaud Robert Films Distribution 6, rue de l?École de Médecine 75006 Paris France Tél :+33 (0)1 53 10 33 99 Fax: +33 (0)1 53 10 33 98 info@filmsdistribution.com www.filmsdistribution.com Presse (France) : Laurence Granec Karine Ménard 5 bis, rue Kepler 75016 Paris Tél: +33 (0)1 47 20 36 66 Fax : +33 (0)1 47 20 35 44 lgranec@club-internet.fr

Titre VO : Feathers in the head