You are here: Home » 2003 » Daft Punk & Leiji Matsumoto’s INTERSTELLA 5555

51st Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

Daft Punk & Leiji Matsumoto’s INTERSTELLA 5555

Fortnight 2003, Feature film, 1H07mn

Synopsis

Four musicians from another galaxy are kidnapped by an evil manager to ultimately become the biggest band on earth. Daft Punk’s music meets Leiji Matsumoto’s designs for this animated musical.

Directors

Kazuhisa Takenouchi

Kazuhisa Takenouchi was born in Japan. Upon graduating from high school, he entered a design school to study first commercial design, then animation. After completing his education, he started out as an assistant at an animation production house, also working as an assistant director. Around 1990 he made his directorial debut on a short video animation.

Leiji Matsumoto

Born in 1938, Leiji Matsumoto published his first Japanese manga success at 15 and went on to Tokyo and wider, more adult masterpieces like 1968’s Sexaroid series and animation classics such as Yamato 2520 (1974) and The Cockpit (1993). In a galactic backdrop, Matsumoto illustrates the theme of human survival . The first to publish Japanese comics on the Internet, he is currently developing a sequel to Galaxy Express 999. In 2001, he directed Daft Punk’s video, « One More Time ».

Screenplay
Thomas Bangalter, Cédric Hervet, Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo

Image
Fumio Hirokawa, Haruhiko Ishikawa

Sound
Daft Punk

Editing
Shigeru Nishiyama, Olivier Gajan

Music
Daft Punk featuring Romanthony, Todd Edwards, DJ Sneak

Set decoration
Hiroshi Katou supervised by Leiji Matsumoto

Production : Shinji Shimizu et Daft Punk, Daft Life Ltd, Co/ Daft Trax 39 rue Durantin 75018 Paris France Tél : +33 (0)1 42 62 32 38 Fax : +33 (0)1 42 51 13 54 gildas@daftpunk.com Ventes à l’étranger Wild Bunch 99 rue de la Verrerie 75004 Paris France Tél : +33 (0)1 53 01 50 24 Fax : +33 (0)1 53 01 50 49 ssimonutti @exception-wb.com

Title in Original Version : INTERSTELLA 5555: The 5tory of the 5ecret 5tar 5ystem

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 2003 » Daft Punk & Leiji Matsumoto’s INTERSTELLA 5555

50e édition du 9 au 19 mai 2018

Daft Punk & Leiji Matsumoto’s INTERSTELLA 5555

Quinzaine 2003, Long métrage, 1H07mn

Synopsis

Quatre musiciens d’une autre galaxie sont kidnappés par un manager maléfique pour devenir le plus grand groupe sur terre. Un dessin animé musical créé par le groupe Daft Punk et le dessinateur japonais Leiji matsumoto.

Réalisateurs

Kazuhisa Takenouchi

Kazuhisa Takenouchi est né au Japon. Il a étudié le design commercial puis l’animation. Il a ensuite commencé à travaillé en tant qu’assistant de production dans une société d’animation. Il est devenu assistant réalisateur. Vers 1990, il a fait ses débuts en réalisation avec un format court de vidéo d’animation.

Leiji Matsumoto

Né en 1938 à Kyushu, Leiji Matsumoto publie à 15 ans son premier manga à succès. Il arrive à Tokyo en 1957 où il poursuit ses études et la publication de ses mangas en parallèle, dont la série Sexaroid. En 1974, il commence à travailler dans l’animation et réalise sa première série de science fiction, Uchu Senkan Yamato (Yamato 2520). À travers ces différentes créations, Matsumoto développe le thème d’une humanité qui essaie de survivre dans un univers galactique. En 2001, il a réalisé le clip des Daft Punk ?One More Time? et il développe actuellement la suite de Galaxy Express 999.

Scénario
Thomas Bangalter, Cédric Hervet, Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo

Image
Fumio Hirokawa, Haruhiko Ishikawa

Son
Daft Punk

Montage
Shigeru Nishiyama, Olivier Gajan

Musique
Daft Punk featuring Romanthony, Todd Edwards, DJ Sneak

Décors
Hiroshi Katou supervised by Leiji Matsumoto

Production : Shinji Shimizu et Daft Punk, Daft Life Ltd, Co/ Daft Trax 39 rue Durantin 75018 Paris France Tél : +33 (0)1 42 62 32 38 Fax : +33 (0)1 42 51 13 54 gildas@daftpunk.com Ventes à l’étranger Wild Bunch 99 rue de la Verrerie 75004 Paris France Tél : +33 (0)1 53 01 50 24 Fax : +33 (0)1 53 01 50 49 ssimonutti @exception-wb.com

Titre VO : INTERSTELLA 5555: The 5tory of the 5ecret 5tar 5ystem