You are here: Home » 2005 » Cosmetic Emergency

51st Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

Cosmetic Emergency

Fortnight 2005, Short film, 9 min

Synopsis

The film explores the idea of beauty through a collage of live action and lyrical animations. A free-form take on the current trend of cosmetic obsession and the immortal quality of painting, the film searches for « what’s on the inside ». New Zealand’s Hip-Hop artist, « Coco Solid » and « Half Japanese » founder Jad Fair, among anothers, wrote and recorded humorously cynical songs about the cosmetic craze.

Director

Martha Colburn

Raised in the Appalachian Mountains of Pennsylvania, based in Holland since 2000, Martha Colburn screens her films in galleries, museums and festivals worldwide. A self-taught filmmaker, she has completes over forty films since 1994. In 2004 she taught animation at Nanjing Art Institute in China and contributed animation to the documentary The Devil and Daniel Johnson de Jeff Feuerzeig.

Screenplay
Martha Colburn

Image
Martha Colburn

Sound
Martha Colburn

Editing
Martha Colburn

Music
Coco Solid, Eric Ultimate, Jad Fair, Hilary Jeffery, Mick Hobbs

Set decoration
Martha Colburn

Production : Martha Colburn Ent. Korte Prinsengracht 15A Amsterdam 1013GN Pays-Bas tél : +31 06 1444 7263 spidersinlove@hotmail.com ventes à l’étranger : Martha Colburn Ent. Distribution : Light Cone 12, Rue des Vignoles 75020 Paris France tél : +33 (0)1 46 59 01 53 fax : +33()01 46 59 03 12 lightcone@lightcone.org www.lightcone.org

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 2005 » Cosmetic Emergency

50e édition du 9 au 19 mai 2018

Cosmetic Emergency

Quinzaine 2005, Court métrage, 9 min

Synopsis

Il s’agit de s’interroger sur la beauté grâce à un collage de scènes réelles et d’animations lyriques. A travers l’obsession de la chirurgie esthétique et l’immortalité de la peinture, le film cherche à découvrir « ce qu’il y a à l’intérieur ». Des musiciens ont composé et enregistré pour le film des chansons sarcastiques sur la manie de la chirurgie esthétique, comme l’artiste de hip-hop néo-zélandais Coco Solid et le fondateur de « Half Japanese », Jad Fair.

Réalisateur

Martha Colburn

Née en 1971, élevée dans les monts Appalaches de Pennsylvanie, Martha Colburn vit aux Pays-Bas depuis 2000. Ses films sont montrés dans des galeries d’art, des musées et des festivals du monde entier. Cinéaste autodidacte, elle a réalisé plus de quarante films depuis 1994. En 2004 elle enseigne l’animation au Nanjing Art Institute, en Chine. Elle a également participé à l’élaboration des séquences d’animation du documentaire The Devil and Daniel Johnson de Jeff Feuerzeig.

Scénario
Martha Colburn

Image
Martha Colburn

Son
Martha Colburn

Montage
Martha Colburn

Musique
Coco Solid, Eric Ultimate, Jad Fair, Hilary Jeffery, Mick Hobbs

Décors
Martha Colburn

Production : Martha Colburn Ent. Korte Prinsengracht 15A Amsterdam 1013GN Pays-Bas tél : +31 06 1444 7263 spidersinlove@hotmail.com ventes à l’étranger : Martha Colburn Ent. Distribution : Light Cone 12, Rue des Vignoles 75020 Paris France tél : +33 (0)1 46 59 01 53 fax : +33()01 46 59 03 12 lightcone@lightcone.org www.lightcone.org