You are here: Home » 2002 » CinemaScope Trilogy

51st Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

CinemaScope Trilogy

Fortnight 2002, Short film,

Synopsis

L’Arrivée 1998 / 3 min / 35 mm scope / n&b / stéréo A white screen. Tabula rasa. Panavision. L’Arrivée shines on you like pure projected light, like the white surface still waiting for the marks of the filmmaker. In L’Arrivée, Peter Tscherkassky goes back to the beginning, back to lumière and the Lumière who, once upon a time, made a film of a train arriving. Outer Space 1999 / 10 mn / 35 mm scope / n&b / stéréo A premonition of a horror film, lurking danger : a house – at night, slightly tilted in the camera’s view, eerily lit – surfaces from the pitch black, then sinks back into it again. Found footage from Hollywood forms the basis of the film. The figure who creeps through the images, who is thrown around by them and who attacks them, is Barbara Hershey. Dream Work 2001 / 11mn / 35 mm scope / n&b / dolby SR musique : Kiawasch Saheb Nassagh A woman goes to bed, falls asleep, and begins to dream. This dream takes her to a landscape of light and shadow, evoked in a form only possible through classic cinematography.

Director

Peter Tscherkassky

Born in 1958, Tscherkassky has a PhD. in philosophy. He published Peter Kubelka in 1995 and Film Unframed: A History of Austrian Avant-Garde Cinema in 2012. His films have been honored with more than 50 awards including Golden Gate Award (San Francisco), Main Prize at Oberhausen, and Best Short Film at the Venice.

Screenplay
Peter Tscherkassky

Image
images d’archives

Editing
Peter Tscherkassky

production : Peter Tscherkassky P.O.E.T production, Wollzeile 21/22, 1010 Vienne, Autriche tél./ fax: (43 1) 513 5157 peter@tscherkassky.at, www.tscherkassky.at ventes à l’étranger : Sixpack Film Neubaugasse 45/13, Postfach 197,1071 Vienne, Autriche tél. : (43 1) 526 09 90-0, fax : (43 1) 526 09 92 office@sixpackfilm.com, www.sixpackfilm.com distribution : Light Cone 12 rue des Vignoles, 75020 Paris, France tél. : 33 (0)1 46 59 01 53, fax : 33 (0)1 46 59 03 12 lightcone@lightcone.org

Title in Original Version : L’Arrivée, Outer Space et Dream Work

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 2002 » CinemaScope Trilogy

51e édition du 15 au 25 mai 2019

CinemaScope Trilogy

Quinzaine 2002, Court métrage,

Synopsis

L’Arrivée 1998 / 3 min / 35 mm scope / n&b / stéréo Ecran blanc. Tabula rasa. Panavision. L’Arrivée, comme la lumière pure de la projection, comme le blanc de la surface qui attend l’empreinte du réalisateur, illumine le spectateur. Avec L’Arrivée, Peter Tscherkassky reprend au départ, retourne à la lumière et aux Lumière, qui, à l’époque, ont fait un film sur l’arrivée d’un train. Outer Space 1999 / 10 mn / 35 mm scope / n&b / stéréo Comme dans un film d‘horreur, le danger guette. Une maison, la nuit. Dans le regard de la caméra légèrement oblique, une inquiétante lueur surgit d‘un noir profond, pour s’y fondre à nouveau. Des bouts de pellicule récupérés (found-footage) à Hollywood constituent les matériaux de base de ce film. La silhouette qui tantôt traverse les images silencieusement, et qui tantôt est projetée à travers l‘image n’est autre que Barbara Hershey. Dream Work 2001 / 11mn / 35 mm scope / n&b / dolby SR musique : Kiawasch Saheb Nassagh Une femme se couche et s’endort et le rêve commence. Ce rêve l’entraîne dans un paysage où l’ombre et la lumière ne peuvent être évoquées qu’à travers une forme classique du cinéma.

Réalisateur

Peter Tscherkassky

Né en 1958, Tscherkassky est docteur en philosophie. En 1995, il coédite le livre Peter Kubelka, puis en 2010, Film Unframed: A History of Austrian Avant-Garde Cinema. Son travail de réalisateur a été récompensé par de très nombreux prix et notamment un Golden Gate Award au festival de San Francisco, le Grand Prix de Oberhausen et celui du meilleur court métrage à Venise.

Scénario
Peter Tscherkassky

Image
images d’archives

Montage
Peter Tscherkassky

production : Peter Tscherkassky P.O.E.T production, Wollzeile 21/22, 1010 Vienne, Autriche tél./ fax: (43 1) 513 5157 peter@tscherkassky.at, www.tscherkassky.at ventes à l’étranger : Sixpack Film Neubaugasse 45/13, Postfach 197,1071 Vienne, Autriche tél. : (43 1) 526 09 90-0, fax : (43 1) 526 09 92 office@sixpackfilm.com, www.sixpackfilm.com distribution : Light Cone 12 rue des Vignoles, 75020 Paris, France tél. : 33 (0)1 46 59 01 53, fax : 33 (0)1 46 59 03 12 lightcone@lightcone.org

Titre VO : L’Arrivée, Outer Space et Dream Work