You are here: Home » 2003 » Bright Leaves

52nd edition from May 13 to 23, 2020

Bright Leaves

Fortnight 2003, Feature film, 1H07mn

Synopsis

North Carolina produces more tobacco than any other state in America. This film describes a journey across the social, economic, and psychological tobacco terrain of North Carolina with a native Carolinian whose great-grandfather created the famous brand of tobacco known as « Bull Durham. » Bright Leaves is a subjective, autobiographical meditation on the allure of cigarettes and their troubling legacy for the state of North Carolina. It’s about loss and preservation, addiction and denial.

Director

Ross McElwee

McElwee’s films have been acclaimed internationally since « Sherman’s March », his 1986 autobiographical meditation on « love and nuclear preparedness, » winner of the Sundance Festival’s Grand Prize for Documentary. In his subsequent films he has continued to chronicle his own life in what The New York Times described as « brilliant, startlingly intimate documentaries. » He has been awarded Guggenheim and Rockefeller Fellowships and teaches film at Harvard University.

Screenplay
Ross McElwee

Image
Ross McElwee

Sound
Ross McElwee

Editing
Ross McElwee

Production : Ross McElwee, Homemade Movies, 16 Coolidge Street, Brookline, Ma 02336-2402 (Etats-Unis), Tél : +1 617 496 6606 Fax : +1 617 495 8197 mcelwee@fas.harvard.edu Presse (FR) : Hélène Sitbon 120 Champs Elysées 75008 Paris France Bureau : + 33 (0)1 45 61 24 20 Fax : +33 (0)1 56 59 66 67

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 2003 » Bright Leaves

50e édition du 9 au 19 mai 2018

Bright Leaves

Quinzaine 2003, Long métrage, 1H07mn

Synopsis

La Caroline du Nord produit plus de tabac que n’importe quel autre état américain. Ce film nous entraîne – aux côtés d’un natif de Caroline dont l’arrière grand-père a créé la fameuse marque « Bull Durham » – dans un voyage qui traverse les terrains sociaux, économiques et politiques du tabac. Bright Leaves est une méditation subjective et autobiographique sur la cigarette et son héritage trouble en Caroline du Nord. Ce film parle de perte et de préservation, de dépendance et de déni.

Réalisateur

Ross McElwee

Depuis Sherman’s March en 1986, méditation autobiographique qui a remporté le grand prix du documentaire à Sundance, l’oeuvre de Ross McElwee est reconnue et acclamée mondialement. Dans ses films suivants, “Time Indefinite” et “Six O’Clock News”, Ross McElwee continue de chroniquer sa propre vie. Il est soutenu par les fondations Guggenheim et Rockefeller et enseigne le cinéma à Harvard.

Scénario
Ross McElwee

Image
Ross McElwee

Son
Ross McElwee

Montage
Ross McElwee

Production : Ross McElwee, Homemade Movies, 16 Coolidge Street, Brookline, Ma 02336-2402 (Etats-Unis), Tél : +1 617 496 6606 Fax : +1 617 495 8197 mcelwee@fas.harvard.edu Presse (FR) : Hélène Sitbon 120 Champs Elysées 75008 Paris France Bureau : + 33 (0)1 45 61 24 20 Fax : +33 (0)1 56 59 66 67