You are here: Home » 1975 » Black Angel

51th Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

Black Angel

Fortnight 1975, Feature film, 1h15

Synopsis

With this film, my aim was to show the incredible ignorance of people when they perceive the Third World with a colonialist mentality.
The story relates the first contacts of a sophisticated German lady and an American woman from Boston, with the Mexican way of life and culture. Both of them are unable to understand the true reality of this country ; one of them will eventually end her journey in the Mayas’ abyss, and the other as a secretary at the american embassy in Mexico City.
As my knowledge of Mexico increased, the film became harsher on the touristic point of view and more concerned with Mexico’s fight to free itself from the control and domination of the North America’s influence.
Werner SCHROETER

Director

Werner Schroeter

Born in Georgenthal, Germany, in 1945, Werner Schroeter studied psychology at the University of Mannheim. In 1967, he began to make 8mm films under the influence of American avant-garde cinema. In the early 70s, he began to stage plays and in 1979, operas, as well. His first feature, « Eika Katappa » (1969) won the Josef von Sternberg Prize. « The Death of Maria Malibran » (1971) marked the first appearance of a leitmotif that could be said to crystallize his work the death of a singer, who dies from too much singing. « Reign of Naples » (1978) reflects his personal vision of this city, seen through the destiny of several picturesque individuals, over a 30-year period. Two years later, « Palermo or Wolfsburg » won the Golden Bear at the Berlin Film Festival. In 1996, Locarno awarded him a Leopard of Honor for his career and screened his film, « Love’s Debris ».

Ellen Umlauf
Magdalena Montezuma

Screenplay
Werner Schroeter

Image
Werner Schroeter

Production : WERNER SCHROETER – FILM PRODUKTION

Title in Original Version : L'ange Noir

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 1975 » Black Angel

50e édition du 9 au 19 mai 2018

Black Angel

Quinzaine 1975, Long métrage, 1h15

Synopsis

Avec ce film, mon but était de montrer l’incroyable ignorance des gens quand ils perçoivent le Tiers Monde avec une mentalité colonialiste.
L’histoire raconte les premiers contacts que deux dames sophistiquées, une Allemande et une Américaine de Boston nouent avec la vie et la culture mexicaine ; l’une terminera son aventure dans les abysses mayas, l’autre secrétaire à l’ambassade américaine de Mexico.
Au fur et à mesure de mon expérience du Mexique, le film s’est fait plus dur vis-à-vis du point de vue touristique et plus profondément engagé pour la survie d’un Mexique qui ne soit pas contrôlé et dominé par le pouvoir nord-américain.
Werner SCHROETER

Réalisateur

Werner Schroeter

Né en 1945 à Georgenthal, Werner Schroeter étudie la psychologie à l’Université de Mannheim. Dès 1967, il réalise des films en 8mm qui sont fortement inspirés par le cinéma d’avant-garde américain. Vers la fin des années 60, ses oeuvres ont une résonance considérable. Au début des années 70, il commence à mettre en scène des pièces de théâtre et monte depuis 1979 également des opéras. Son premier long métrage “Eika Katappa” (1969) est récompensé du Prix Josef Von Sternberg. Dans “La mort de Maria Malibran” (1971) apparaît un motif qui pourrait cristalliser son oeuvre – le décès d’une chanteuse, qui meurt “d’avoir trop chanté”. “Le règne de Naples” (1978) reflète sa vision personnelle de cette ville, appréhendée à travers le destin de quelques figures pittoresques, courant sur trente ans. Réalisé deux ans plus tard, “Palermo oder Wolfsburg” est récompensé par un Ours d’Or au Festival de Berlin. En 1996, Locarno lui décerne un Léopard d’honneur pour l’ensemble de son oeuvre et présente son avant-dernier film, “Poussières d’Amour”.

Ellen Umlauf
Magdalena Montezuma

Scénario
Werner Schroeter

Image
Werner Schroeter

Production : WERNER SCHROETER – FILM PRODUKTION

Titre VO : L'ange Noir