You are here: Home » 1996 » Beautiful Thing

52nd edition from May 13 to 23, 2020

Beautiful Thing

Fortnight 1996, Feature film, 1 h 30

Synopsis

A long and hot summer in South London. Jamie Gangel is kunking off school scurrying back to the TV and the flat in the vast Thamesmead estate where he lives with his mother Sandra. Next door lives Leah who has been kicked out of school and spends her days listening to Mama Cass records. Also in the same block is Jamie’s classmate Ste, sporty and athletic, but who nevertheless receives regular beating from his father and brother. One night, to escape the violence, Ste takes refuge in Sandra’s flat and sleeps head to toe with Jamie. As Sandra struggles with job promotion and her relationship with her hippy-dippy boyfriend Tony, Jamie and Ste gradually discover their affection for each other…

Director

Hettie Macdonald

She studied english at the university of Bristol and attended theater classes. She was at the Albery Theater in the play The Normal Heart. At the age of 24, she was the yougest woman who directed a play in the West End. In 1991, she headed the Wosley Theater of Ipswich; she directed plays such as The Slicing Edge, Road, Who’s afraid of Virginia Woolf?. Beautiful Thing is her first movie.

Anna Karen
Ben Daniels
Glen Berry
Jeillo Edwards
John Benfield
Linda Henry
Scott Neal
Tameka Empson

Screenplay
Jonathan Harvey, d’’après sa pièce

Image
Chris Seager

Sound
John Midgley

Editing
Don Fairservice

Music
John Altman

Set decoration
Mark Stevenson

PRODUCTION : World Productions 17 Golden Square, London WIR 4BB Tél. : (44-171) 734 3536 Fax : (44-171) 734 3585 Channel Four Films VENTE A L’ETRANGER : Film Four International 124 Horseferry Road, London SWIP 2TX Tél. : (44-171) 396 4444 Fax : (44-171) 306 8361

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 1996 » Beautiful Thing

51e édition du 15 au 25 mai 2019

Beautiful Thing

Quinzaine 1996, Long métrage, 1 h 30

Synopsis

Un été long et chaud dans le sud de Londres. Jamie Gangel sèche l’école pour aller regarder la télévision dans l’appartement de l’immense cité de Thamesmead, où il vit avec sa mère Sandra. a côté de chez lui habite Leah, une copine de classe, qui passe ses journées à écouter des disques de Mama Cass depuis qu’elle a été renvoyée de l’école. Ste, un camarade de Jamie, jeune homme sportif et athlétique, vit aussi dans le même bâtiment. Régulièrement battu par son père et son frère, il vient se réfugier un soir chez Sandra pour échapper à leur violence, et reste dormir avec Jamie. Tandis que Sandra est préoccupée par sa carrière professionnelle et que sa relation avec son petit ami Tony, un hippie un peu dingue, se dégrade, Jalie et Ste se découvrent une affection réciproque…

Réalisateur

Hettie Macdonald

Hettie Macdonald a fait des études d’anglais à l’Université de Bristol avant de rejoindre le Royal Court Theatre dans le cadre du programme de formation de mise en scène du Théâtre Régional en 1985. Sa carrière a véritablement débuté avec The Normal Heart à l’Albery Theater : à 24 ans, elle est la plus jeune femme à mettre en scène une pièce de théâtre dans le West End. En 1991, elle devient directrice associée du Wolsey Theatre de Ipswich, où elle dirige des pièces comme The Slicing Edge, Road, Who’s afraid of Virginia Woolf?. Beautiful Thing est son premier film.

Anna Karen
Ben Daniels
Glen Berry
Jeillo Edwards
John Benfield
Linda Henry
Scott Neal
Tameka Empson

Scénario
Jonathan Harvey, d’’après sa pièce

Image
Chris Seager

Son
John Midgley

Montage
Don Fairservice

Musique
John Altman

Décors
Mark Stevenson

PRODUCTION : World Productions 17 Golden Square, London WIR 4BB Tél. : (44-171) 734 3536 Fax : (44-171) 734 3585 Channel Four Films VENTE A L’ETRANGER : Film Four International 124 Horseferry Road, London SWIP 2TX Tél. : (44-171) 396 4444 Fax : (44-171) 306 8361