You are here: Home » 2004 » Babae sa Breakwater

52nd edition from May 13 to 23, 2020

Babae sa Breakwater

Fortnight 2004, Feature film, 2h04

Synopsis

Basilio and his brother hope to make a better life in Manila. He meets Paquita a girl who started whoring so early in her life that at her relatively young age she’s already played out, her body full of diseases and open sores. The two are threatened by « Bosing » David, a former cop and cripple, a shootout gave him the limp and ended his career as police officer, who holds the breakwater area in his cruel grip.

Director

Mario O’Hara

Born in Zamboanga City, in 1946, he took Chemical Engineering in Adamson University, but subsequently left school for a radio career at DZRH.O’Hara joined the Philippine Educational Theater Association (PETA)in 1969, and met his longtime collaborator Lino Brocka. O’Hara wrote two of Brocka’s best-known works, « Insiang » (1976), and « Tinimbang Ka Ngunit Kulang » (You Were Weighed and Found Wanting, 1974)-while playing a major performance in « Tinimbang. »

Al Cris
Gardo Verzosa
Katherine Luna
Kristoffer King

Screenplay
Mario O’Hara

Image
Rey de Leon

Sound
Ledoy Maralit

Editing
Bert Vasadre

Music
Jesse Lucas

Set decoration
Kokoh Teodoro

Production : Entertainment Warehouse, Inc 1214 M.H. del Pilar St. Ermita, Metro Manila Philippines 1000 tél : +632 404 1442 fax : +632 484 2701 ala143@philonline.com ventes à l’étranger : Ferdinand Lapuz 1055A, Forestwood Drive Unit 109 Mississauga, ON L5C 2T8 Canada tél / fax : +1 905 272 8123 flapuz@ica.net

Title in Original Version : Woman of Breakwater

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 2004 » Babae sa Breakwater

50e édition du 9 au 19 mai 2018

Babae sa Breakwater

Quinzaine 2004, Long métrage, 2h04

Synopsis

Basilio et son frère viennent chercher une vie meilleure à Manille. Balisio rencontre Paquita, une jeune fille qui a commencé si tôt à se prostituer qu’elle est pratiquement usée. Son corps est marqué par la maladie et les plaies. Ils sont tous deux menacés par « Bosing » David, un ancien flic devenu infirme à la suite d’une fusillade. Connu pour sa cruauté, « Bosing » David tient ce quartier de la ville d’une poigne de fer.

Réalisateur

Mario O'Hara

Né à Zamboanga en 1946, il entreprend des études d’ingénieur chimiste, mais quitte rapidement l’université pour faire carrière à la radio. En 1969, il intègre une association de théâtre éducatif, où il rencontre le cinéaste Lino Brocka. Il écrira les scénarios de Tinimbang Ka Ngunit Kulang (You Were Weighed and Found Wanting,1974) et de Insiang (1976), deux films majeurs de Lino Brocka et interprétera le rôle principal de « Tinimbang ».

Al Cris
Gardo Verzosa
Katherine Luna
Kristoffer King

Scénario
Mario O’Hara

Image
Rey de Leon

Son
Ledoy Maralit

Montage
Bert Vasadre

Musique
Jesse Lucas

Décors
Kokoh Teodoro

Production : Entertainment Warehouse, Inc 1214 M.H. del Pilar St. Ermita, Metro Manila Philippines 1000 tél : +632 404 1442 fax : +632 484 2701 ala143@philonline.com ventes à l’étranger : Ferdinand Lapuz 1055A, Forestwood Drive Unit 109 Mississauga, ON L5C 2T8 Canada tél / fax : +1 905 272 8123 flapuz@ica.net

Titre VO : Woman of Breakwater