You are here: Home » 2002 » Apartment #5C

51st Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

Apartment #5C

Fortnight 2002, Feature film, 1h34

Synopsis

Nicky arrives in New York from Israel with her boyfriend, Ouri. They stay in cheap hotels, get into scrapes, and end up in a seedy apartment in Brooklyn. The manager of the building is Max, an authoritarian, cynical man in a wheelchair. Harold Fisher- his brother-in-law, in his early forties – sees to the maintenance of the building and does odd jobs around the place. One evening, during an argument with Ouri, Nicky accidentally shoots herself in the leg. The young man panics and runs away. Harold comes rushing to Nicky’s rescue. He looks after her, has her treated, then helps her to look for a job. Gradually he starts to see her in a different light. Although Max is against it, these two people – whom life has weakened and made fragile – start a relationship. Their lives won’t ever be the same again…

Director

Raphaël Nadjari

Born in 1971, Raphaël Nadjari began to work in television in 1993, then moved on to screenwriting and directing. In 1997, he wrote the script for François Vautier’s P’tit bleu, part of the ARTE series, « Petits Gangsters » That same year he moved to New York where he wrote and directed his first short, Snow Bird, then a feature, The Shades, a free adaptation of Dostoyevsky’s « A Gentle Creature », transposed to modern Manhattan. In 1999, he shot his second feature in New York in Super 8 mm, I’m Josh Polonski’s Brother.

Jeff Ware
Olga Merediz
Ori Pfeffer
Richard Edson
Tinkerbell

Screenplay
Raphaël Nadjari

Image
Laurent Brunet

Sound
Nicolas Mazet

Editing
Tom Donahue

Music
John Surman

Set decoration
Sean Foley

production : Marin Karmitz MK2, 55 rue Traversière, 75012 Paris, France tél. : 33 (0)1 44 67 30 00, fax : 33 (0)1 43 41 32 30 Les Films Alain Sarde (France) BVNG Production (France) Cinema Factory (Israël) 2.1 Films (Etats-Unis) ventes à l’étranger : MK2 distribution : MK2 presse : MK2 / Monica Donati tél. : 33 (0)1 43 07 55 22, fax : 33 (0)1 43 07 17 97 portable : 33 (0)6 85 52 72 97, mdonati@mk2.com

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 2002 » Apartment #5C

50e édition du 9 au 19 mai 2018

Apartment #5C

Quinzaine 2002, Long métrage, 1h34

Synopsis

A peine débarqués à New York, Nicky et Ouri, deux jeunes Israéliens, survivent de petits larcins. De galères en galères, ils quittent Manhattan pour s’installer à Brooklyn dans un appartement très modeste. L’immeuble est administré par Max, un homme autoritaire et cynique, immobilisé sur un fauteuil roulant. Son beau-frère, Harold Fisher, solitaire et timide, s’occupe de l’entretien et des travaux dans l’immeuble. Un soir, lors d’une dispute avec Ouri, Nicky se tire accidentellement une balle dans la jambe. Pris de panique, le jeune homme s’enfuit. C’est Harold qui accourt et prête secours à Nicky ; il la prend en charge, la fait soigner, puis l’aide à chercher un travail. Petit à petit il commence à la regarder autrement. Malgré l’opposition de Max, une liaison de tendresse s’établit entre ces deux êtres affaiblis et fragilisés par la vie…

Réalisateur

Raphaël Nadjari

Né en 1971, Raphaël Nadjari commence, en 1993, à travailler pour la télévision, puis passe à l’écriture et à la réalisation. Il écrit, en 1997, le scénario du P’tit bleu, réalisé par François Vautier, dans la collection “Petits Gangsters” d’ARTE. La même année, il part vivre à New York, écrit et réalise un premier court Snow Bird, puis un long métrage The Shades, une adaptation libre d’ “Une femme douce” de Dostoïevski en anglais et transposé dans le Manhattan d’aujourd’hui. Fin 1999, il tourne à New York en Super 8mm son second long métrage, I’m Josh Polonski’s Brother.

Jeff Ware
Olga Merediz
Ori Pfeffer
Richard Edson
Tinkerbell

Scénario
Raphaël Nadjari

Image
Laurent Brunet

Son
Nicolas Mazet

Montage
Tom Donahue

Musique
John Surman

Décors
Sean Foley

production : Marin Karmitz MK2, 55 rue Traversière, 75012 Paris, France tél. : 33 (0)1 44 67 30 00, fax : 33 (0)1 43 41 32 30 Les Films Alain Sarde (France) BVNG Production (France) Cinema Factory (Israël) 2.1 Films (Etats-Unis) ventes à l’étranger : MK2 distribution : MK2 presse : MK2 / Monica Donati tél. : 33 (0)1 43 07 55 22, fax : 33 (0)1 43 07 17 97 portable : 33 (0)6 85 52 72 97, mdonati@mk2.com