You are here: Home » 2002 » Angela

51st Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

Angela

Fortnight 2002, Feature film, 1h35

Synopsis

Angela is born in Ballarò, the market neighborhood of Palermo. She gets married when she’s twenty to Saro, and for years she shares his life of drug dealing and easy money. She is wife, mistress, and trusted accomplice to her husband. The life he leads fascinates her, she likes the luxury and the money, and above all the risk. She gave up her family for him, turned her back on an honest future and good work. When she sees Masino for the first time, she takes him for a cop, but he becomes her husband’s right-man and she and Masino begin a passionate and tormented love affair. “Angela” is the story of a woman and her life in the solitude of a world made of laws written by men. It also paints the fresco of a world of men, both cruel and disarmed at the same time, who are constantly forced to deny their own true feelings. “I already knew the story : I liked the world of delinquents. For me they were like heroes… Maybe because I come from a world of respectable people… who had steady jobs…I wanted to see violence… I wanted to see what was behind it all…” Roberta Torre

Director

Roberta Torre

Roberta Torre, born in Milan, was a student of philosophy before studying cinema. In 1990 she moves to Palermo. Fascinated by the city, she decides to remain and work there. Her first work was thus born, films and videos that tell the story of her love for Palermo, portraits of men and women, usually from fringes of society (a unique mixture of anthropology and fiction). In 1997, she directs her first feature, To Die for Tano, a highly successful musical presented at the Venice Film Festival. In 1998 she begins working on her second feature, again a musical South Side Story, a corrected version of the love story of Romeo and Juliet, a true fable on immigration in today’s Italy, on the difficulty of integration and the fear of difference.

Andrea Di Stefano
Donatella Finocchiaro
Mario Pupella

Screenplay
Roberta Torre

Image
Daniele Ciprí

Sound
Cinzia Acchimede

Editing
Roberto Missiroli

Music
Andrea Guerra

Set decoration
Enrico Serafini

production : Rita Rusic Rita Rusic Company, via del Babbuino 79, 00187 Rome, Italie tél. : (39 06) 36 00 40 76, fax : (39 06) 36 00 40 44 rusic.comp@tin.it ventes à l’étranger : Adriana Chiesa Enterprises via Barnaba Oriani 24/a, 00197 Rome, Italie tél. : (39 06) 80 70 400, fax : (39 06) 80 68 78 55

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 2002 » Angela

50e édition du 9 au 19 mai 2018

Angela

Quinzaine 2002, Long métrage, 1h35

Synopsis

Angela est née à Ballarò, le quartier du marché de Palerme. Elle se marie avec Saro à l’âge de vingt ans. Depuis elle partage sa vie de dealer. Femme, maîtresse, mais aussi complice de confiance de son mari, elle est fascinée par son mode de vie, par l’argent facile, la mafia. Tournant le dos à sa famille, elle abandonne définitivement la perspective d’une vie honnête avec une bonne situation pour lui préférer le luxe, et par-dessus tout, le risque. Lorsqu’elle rencontre pour la première fois Masino, l’homme de main de son mari, elle le prend pour un policier. Une histoire d’amour passionnelle et tourmentée naît entre eux… Angela raconte la solitude d’une femme dans un monde où les lois sont écrites par les hommes, mais raconte aussi l’histoire d’hommes cruels autant que désarmés, constamment forcés de nier leurs véritables sentiments. « Je connaissais déjà l’histoire : j’aimais le monde des délinquants. Pour moi, ce sont des héros… Peut-être parce que je viens d’un monde de gens respectables… qui ont des boulots stables… Je voulais voir la violence… Je voulais voir ce qu’il y a derrière tout ça…» Roberta Torre

Réalisateur

Roberta Torre

Née à Milan, Roberta Torre étudie la philosophie puis le cinéma. En 1990, elle se rend à Palerme. Fascinée par la ville, elle s’y installe et commence à filmer l’amour qu’elle lui porte à travers des portraits d’homme, de femmes, à mi-chemin entre la fiction et l’anthropologie. En 1997, elle réalise son premier long métrage, “Tano da morire”, film musical présenté au Festival de Venise qui rencontre en Italie un grand succès critique et public. “Sud Side Stori” son second long métrage, autre comédie musicale, version revue et corrigée de “Roméo et Juliette”, est une véritable fable sur l’immigration en Italie aujourd’hui, sur les difficultés d’intégration et la peur de la différence.

Andrea Di Stefano
Donatella Finocchiaro
Mario Pupella

Scénario
Roberta Torre

Image
Daniele Ciprí

Son
Cinzia Acchimede

Montage
Roberto Missiroli

Musique
Andrea Guerra

Décors
Enrico Serafini

production : Rita Rusic Rita Rusic Company, via del Babbuino 79, 00187 Rome, Italie tél. : (39 06) 36 00 40 76, fax : (39 06) 36 00 40 44 rusic.comp@tin.it ventes à l’étranger : Adriana Chiesa Enterprises via Barnaba Oriani 24/a, 00197 Rome, Italie tél. : (39 06) 80 70 400, fax : (39 06) 80 68 78 55