You are here: Home » 1999 » A mort la mort !

52nd edition from May 13 to 23, 2020

A mort la mort !

Fortnight 1999, Feature film, 1h35

Synopsis

Thomas is 47 years old. He runs from the hospital to the cemetery, comforting some friends and burying others. Death is powerful adversary with a wicked imagination, wreaking havoc on his generation. Thomas’friends are dying of aids, drug overdoses and suicide. Though Thomas thinks life has dealt some cruel blows, he believes it remains a source of delightful pleasure. Thomas happily lies and deceives not only himself, but everybody else around him, earning the complicity of his wife, women in general, children, his children, friends and “comrades”, his mistresses and his ex-mistresses. Nostalgia is not his thing. Commemorations are a ridiculous farce. Friendship is the only thing that is durable. And so he fights back, using his radical though absurd warrior’s cry : “Down with death !” Can he still change the world ? Now more than ever !

Director

Romain Goupil

Romain Goupil worked as an assistant cameraman from 1970 to 1973, then as assistant director from 1974 to 1990, notably with Robert Menegoz (L’Orchestre électrique, 1974 / Paris Abadan, 1977), Nelly Kaplan (Néa, 1976), Jacques Deray (Le Gang, 1976), Coluche (Vous n’aurez pas l’Alsace et la Lorraine, 1977), Chantal Akerman (Les Rendez-vous d’Anna, 1978), Roman Polanski (Tess, 1979) and Jean-Luc Godard (Allemagne année neuf zéro, 1990). He directed his first short in 1968, then worked in cinema and television. His first feature, Mourir à trente ans won the Caméra d’Or at Cannes in 1982 and the French César as best first film.

Anne Alvaro
Brigitte Catillon
Brigitte Roüan
Christine Murillo
Dani
Dominique Frot
Marianne Denicourt
Nozha Khouadra
Romain Goupil

Screenplay
Romain Goupil

Image
William Lubtchansky

Sound
Sophie Chiabaut

Editing
Isabelle Devinck

Music
Areski Belkacem

production : Margaret Menegoz, Les Films du Losange, 22 av. Pierre 1er de Serbie, 75116 Paris, France, Tél. : 33 (0)1 44 43 87 15, Fax : 33 (0)1 49 52 06 40 France 3 Cinéma – Le Studio Canal + – CNC (Paris, France) vente à l’étranger : Le Studio Canal +, 17 rue Dumont d’Urville, 75116 Paris, France, Tél. : 33 (0)1 44 43 98 00, Fax : 33 (0)1 47 20 29 58 distribution : Les Films du Losange

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 1999 » A mort la mort !

50e édition du 9 au 19 mai 2018

A mort la mort !

Quinzaine 1999, Long métrage, 1h35

Synopsis

Thomas a 47 ans. Il court d’hôpitaux en cimetières pour réconforter les uns et ensevelir les autres. La mort a encore et toujours de l’imagination et du tonus : sida, overdose, suicide. Elle s’abat gaillardement sur cette génération. Mais Thomas pense que la vie a beau être une garce impitoyable, elle reste d’abord la source de plaisirs magnifiques et délicieux. Thomas ment, trompe, se ment, se trompe, joyeusement, avec la complicité des femmes, de sa femme, des enfants, de ses enfants, des copains, de ses “camarades”, de ses maîtresses, de ses ex-maîtresses. La nostalgie n’est pas son genre, les commémorations sont une farce ridicule, mais il reste toujours l’amitié et un mot d’ordre radical et absurde : “A mort la mort !” Changer le monde ? Plus que jamais !

Réalisateur

Romain Goupil

Romain Goupil est assistant-opérateur de 1970 à 1973, puis assistant-réalisateur de 1974 à 1990, notamment de Robert Ménégoz (L’Orchestre électrique, 1974 / Paris Abadan, 1977), Nelly Kaplan (Néa, 1976), Jacques Deray (Le Gang, 1976), Coluche (Vous n’aurez pas l’Alsace et la Lorraine, 1977), Chantal Akerman (Les Rendez-vous d’Anna, 1978), Roman Polanski (Tess, 1979), Jean-Luc Godard (Allemagne année neuf zéro, 1990). Il réalise son premier court-métrage en 1968 puis tourne pour le cinéma et la télévision. Son premier long métrage, Mourir à trente ans, obtient la Caméra d’Or en 1982 et le César de la meilleure première ?uvre.

Anne Alvaro
Brigitte Catillon
Brigitte Roüan
Christine Murillo
Dani
Dominique Frot
Marianne Denicourt
Nozha Khouadra
Romain Goupil

Scénario
Romain Goupil

Image
William Lubtchansky

Son
Sophie Chiabaut

Montage
Isabelle Devinck

Musique
Areski Belkacem

production : Margaret Menegoz, Les Films du Losange, 22 av. Pierre 1er de Serbie, 75116 Paris, France, Tél. : 33 (0)1 44 43 87 15, Fax : 33 (0)1 49 52 06 40 France 3 Cinéma – Le Studio Canal + – CNC (Paris, France) vente à l’étranger : Le Studio Canal +, 17 rue Dumont d’Urville, 75116 Paris, France, Tél. : 33 (0)1 44 43 98 00, Fax : 33 (0)1 47 20 29 58 distribution : Les Films du Losange