You are here: Home » 1977 » 25

51th Directors’ Fortnight May 15-25, 2019

25

Fortnight 1977, Feature film, 2h

Synopsis

On the 25th of June 1975 in Maputo, on the night of Independence at midnight, we filmed a population celebrating its liberation and expressing its joy to be part of the world’s revolution. This party, another Christmas on Earth, could exist thanks to 400 years od resistance and other recent « 25th » : – in June 1962, creation of the FRELIMO, – in September 1964, first moment of the rebellion, – in April 1974, the fall of the Portuguese fascism. We wanted to make a film on the warlike joy of colonized people who are liberated, who realizes what a revolution is, through which they can find their own identity, and be re-educated. A party of music radiating the great energy of this day. This is a film where colonized people speak of a new alphabet – a revolutionary alphabet – to other colonized people. Celso LUCCAS & José Celso CORRÉA

Directors

Celso Luccas

Born in Sao Polo, Celso Luccas co-directed his first long-feature « 25 » with José Celso Corréa at 25. They co-directed « O Parto » in 1975, a 36mn documentary based on archive material and focusing on the dictatorial regime in Portugal and its fall with the « Revolução dos Cravos » (Carnation Revolution), in 1974, after 48 years of Salazarism.

Jose Celso Correa

Born in Araquara in 1937, José Celso Correa co directed with Celso Luccas « O Parto » et « 25 » in 1975. Close to the group Oficina, they were involved in 1971 in the making of « Oficina » then in 1972 in « Candel King ».

Image
Celso Luccas, Guilherme Costa

Editing
Celso Luccas, Manuela Moira

Music
Chansons populaires

Production : INSTITUT NATIONAL DU CINÉMA DU MOZAMBIQUE

Vous êtes ici : Accueil » 1977 » 25

51e édition du 15 au 25 mai 2019

25

Quinzaine 1977, Long métrage, 2h

Synopsis

A Maputo, Mozambique, au milieu de l’année 1975, le 25 juin, la nuit de l’indépendance à minuit, nous avons filmé un peuple exprimant par la fête sa libération et sa joie de marcher avec la révolution dans le monde. Cette fête, cet autre Noël sur la terre, a été préparée par 400 ans de résistance et, plus récemment, par d’autres « 25 » : – celui de juin 1962, fondation du FRELIMO, – celui de septembre 1964, premier coup de feu de l’insurrection, – celui d’avril 1974, chute du fascisme portugais. Nous avons voulu faire un film de la joie guerrière du colonisé qui se décolonise, qui apprend la ré-vo-lu-tion, plein d’intertitres pour se réapprendre et apprendre à lire, plein d’une musique forte pour que s’irradie le plus physiquement possible l’énergie de ce jour. C’est un film du point de vue du colonisé, parlant dans un nouvel alphabet – révolutionnaire – à d’autres colonisés. Celso LUCCAS & José Celso CORRÉA

Réalisateurs

Celso Luccas

Né à Sao Polo, Celso Luccas coréalisa son premier long métrage “25” avec José Celso Corréa à 25 ans. Ils ont en 1975 coréalisé “O Parto”, un documentaire d’archives de 36mn sur le régime dictatorial au Portugal et à sa chute avec la “Revolução dos Cravos”, Révolution des oeillets en 1974 après 48 ans de Salazarisme.

Jose Celso Correa

Né à Araquara en 1937, José Celso Correa a coréalisé avec Celso Luccas “O Parto” et “25” en 1975. Proches du groupe Oficina, ils participent en 1971 à la réalisation de “Oficina” puis en 1972 du “Roi de la Chandelle”.

Image
Celso Luccas, Guilherme Costa

Montage
Celso Luccas, Manuela Moira

Musique
Chansons populaires

Production : INSTITUT NATIONAL DU CINÉMA DU MOZAMBIQUE