La Caméra d'Or
Closing night



Caméra d’Or prize

Created in 1978 to encourage greater recognition of young filmmakers, the Caméra d’Or is awarded to the best first film shown either in the Official Selection (Competition or Un Certain Regard), the Directors’ Fortnight or International Critics’ Week. The Caméra d’Or is presented at the Festival’s closing ceremony by the president of this jury, Agnès Varda.

In 2013, the Caméra d'Or is awarded to Anthony Chen for his film "Ilo ilo"

The Caméra d'Or prize 

Other prizes

The Directors’ Fortnight does not usually offer awards to films in the selection, but some of our sponsors present awards that are announced at the closing ceremony.



The CICAE is the International Confederation of Art Cinemas has been linked to the Directors’ Fortnight since it was created in 1969.
The CICAE is the first international association of its kind: founded in 1955, it today represents 3,000 screens in 32 countries in Europe, Latin America and Africa.
Its mission is to promote quality motion pictures on wide screens, to defend the ‘’right for cultural diversity’’.
The ART CINEMA AWARDS are given in the major European festivals by an international jury of independent cinema programmers.
These awards help to bring to the international Arthouse network films of high quality, for it to find its audience. Juries are also seeking to encourage young directors, as well as productions coming out of less-recognized countries.
The Prize helps towards distribution systematically informing the 2,000 CICAE member cinemas, as an incentive for distribution companies to market the films discovered and in order to promote their circulation. Working on a country-by-country basis, local CICAE networks help distributors successfully market award-winning films, through recommendations for all cinemas, trade-only screenings to the members, networking of film copies, and the delivery of information to audiences.
The CICAE is recognized by the Council of Europe, the UNESCO, the European Community's MEDIA Programme, the CNC (FR), the FFA (DE) and the DGC (IT)

Jury 2013 : Ula Sniegowska, Anne-Juliette jolivet, Thorsten Kleinschmidt

ART CINEMA AWARD 2013 : Les Garçons et Guillaume, à table ! (Me Myself and Mum) by Guillaume Gallienne


SACD's membership includes 51,000 authors of audiovisual works for exhibition (film, television, animation, radio, interactive creation…) and live performance. SACD acts as a collective management society of authors' rights, and supports and advises its members in professional and legal matters.
Through its cultural activities in favour of cinema, it supports creation, promotion of works and artists' training projects.
La SACD (Société des auteurs et compositeurs dramatiques) honors a French-language feature film in the Directors Fortnight selection. This film is chosen by a film commission chaired by Laurent Heynemann.
SACD cinema commission: Laurent Heynemann, Arthur Joffré, Jean Marboeuf, Christine Laurent.

PRIX SACD / SACD PRIZE 2013 :  Les Garçons et Guillaume, à table ! (Me Myself and Mum) by Guillaume Gallienne

Mention spéciale à Tip Top by Serge Bozon

The Europa Cinemas Label
Created in 2003, the Europa Cinemas Label aims to enhance the promotion, circulation and box-office runs of European award-winning films on the screens of a cinema network stretching across Europe.
Awarded by a jury comprised of Europa Cinemas member exhibitors to one of the European films selected in the Directors’ Fortnight, the film is given the conditions of reaching a large audience.
Needless to say, that means the Label is awarded at a crucial moment in a film's career: its presentation at a major festival, a strategic stage in its release on the international market. The Label mobilises the media, the sales agents, the distributors and the exhibitors by providing them a financial incentive for programming the film on its release date and screening it for an extended period.
In this way Europa Cinemas encourages exhibitors to programme the film in all corners of its network, which comprises 2891 screens in 1 057 cinemas established in 599 cities in 64 countries.

JURY 2013 : Alice Black, Rafael Maestro, Petar Mitric, Koyo Yamashita

Label Europa Cinemas 2013 :  The Selfish Giant by Clio Barnard



illy Prize

For years now, illy has been encouraging and sponsoring young artists, notably contributing to the circulation of contemporary art through the support of artists, institutions and international exhibitions. In this same dynamic, illy is developing its partnership with the Directors’ Fortnight and has chosen this year to honor one of the shorts in the selection. The spirit of this initiative is part of  illy's : seek out the beautiful and the new, bring it out and promote it. This prize, attributed by a jury of professionals, comes with a  2 500 euros cash prize designed to encourage the winning director and will be presented during the Fortnight’s closing ceremony.

JURY 2013 : Louis Garrel, Leïla Kilani, Isabelle Régnier, Carlo Bach, Lucia Dore-Ivanovitch

 illY PRIZE 2013 :  Gambozinos (A Wild Goose Chase) by João Nicolau

Mention : Pouco mais de um mês ( About A Month) de André Novais Oliveira

Inscrivez-vous à la newsletter par e-mail :  OK